We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best out-of-town choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luang Prabang View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best out-of-town choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you choose to stay downtown in picturesque Luang Prabang then there are many good small hotels and guest houses to choose from- but mostly without swimming pools and perhaps a little cramped.

Out-of-town (10 mins by shuttle bus) THE place to stay is at the Shinta Mani! Set on a hill-top with 360degree views of the valley and surrounding mountains, the hotel offers very comfortable and spacious rooms (choose the mid-price ones for a better position and views). The huge infinity pool is an absolutely wonderful place in which to relax and recover after a day out on the Mekong river or after wandering around the town.

Excellent service and helpful staff; good breakfast available on the open air balcony overlooking the town below.

We did not use the hotel restaurant as there is such a great choice of places to eat in town (the '3 Naggas' is strongly recommended).

The small criticism is that the last return hotel shuttle bus returns at 9.15pm, which makes for a rush. A 10.15pm bus would be more convenient but then you can always catch a 'tuk tuk' ($5) which can be fun, especially it it fails to get up the hill to the hotel!

One of the best places we have stayed on our SE Asia travels. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Our 'entry-level' room looked down on to the hotel boundary wall with glass on top and a rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    64
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
114
23
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Culdaff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

While on our honeymoon last May we had reached our second to last destination so decided to splash out on what had been an unbelievable experience. We booked into the Shinta Mani hotel and were overwhelmed by the quality of the place, The staff were fabulous and the hotel was amazing. The views over the surrounding countryside are breathtaking and you are a short journey into the town of Luang Prabang. The hotel operates a shuttel service to and from the town up to 2300hrs which is perfect in this sleepy haven. If you have a few pounds to spend this hotel is a must on your travels!!! Colin and Christine, Donegal, Ireland

Room Tip: Look for a room close to the poolside and bargain bargain bargain!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We loved the room, the view, the pool, and had a terrific valentines dinner. Everybody is as friendly as can be. But. . . I'd still prefer to be in town, perhaps along the river, just to make it easier to enjoy the ambience of this charming, laid-back place that shows off all the pluses and minuses of how 21st century tourism brings both prosperity and cultural dissonance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stunning setting - Check
Friendly staff - Check
Beautiful swimming pool - Check
Soft music playing in our room when we arrived - check
Aromatic oil lit up when we got back to our room after dinner - check
Good restaurant food - Check
Laundry delivered within a few hours - check
Helping us to contact tour operator when our tour bus did not arrive on time - Check
Late check-out - Check

Overall a great hotel, while bar service around the pool area could be improved and the shuttle bus could be a bit more punctual in the morning it was still a fantastic experience. Only regret is not booking the King terrace, which only costs a little bit more, but has its own big balcony and at higher elevation. Our room was just in front of the hotel water pump system, so sometimes there is a bit of noise coming from back of the room. But you won't get this issue if you stay at the King terrace.

Stayed for 5 nights and travelled as couple

Room Tip: Don't go for the deluxe rooms, the next price bracket up will get you a big balcony with sun lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Wonderful staff, large rooms, nice spa, great breakfast, amazing pool area. When we come back to
Luang Prabang this is where we will be staying.I loved the office area with great Laos coffee and nice view while surfing the net. We massaged a lot and we loved the ginger tea and the massages we're great! A little out of the way, but Luang Prabang is very quaint so its not that far out, and the bonus..... how quiet it is at night...great sleeps!
"I also had left my a cook book behind that I bought while we were in Laos and I emailed the hotel a week later and of course they had it...... the manager was more than happy to mail it to me."

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFoodie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel.

The staff was very helpful, attentive and darling. I just can't say enough good things about them. While this was a little way out of the action of the town area, it was quiet for sleeping (no Motos buzzing by your room at all hours) and as it is up on the hill, cooler for sleeping. I thought the room was very lovely and the view was nice. When we were there they would serve breakfast in the room if you requested it, which was lovely to eat out on the lanai. I had no problem with the breakfast. When we were there there was no buffet but you could select what you liked and where you wanted to eat it. and

I was not fond of the restaurant and I felt it was a little exspensive for the area.

My husband enjoyed the massages at the spa.

Because it is a little out of the old town area, you need to plan your day. The hotel provides a free shuttle to town, but at set times. You can get Tuk- Tuk back if you want to go back at a non-set time. That said, I'm glad we stayed here and we would stay here again.

This is a good place if you are looking for service, not a discount hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This 4-star hotel is a great place to stay in Luang Prabang especially if you enjoy staying by the pool after a day or two spent visiting the surrounding area. The pool is truly amazing and staff is very accomodating.
The rooms are pretty big and modern and the view is one of the best you could get at Luang Prabang. I would encourage people to go to this hotel in the next few months because I can see two problems arising in the mid-term. First, there is big construction site that might obstruct the view soon. Second, the quality of the material used to build the rooms does not look fantastic therefore I fear that the comfort might decline over time if maintenance is not good enough.
Another comment similar to other reviews is that the breakfast is not good enough given the price of the room.
Last but not least, do not book their airport pick up service because it is way over-priced (22 USD). Some will say that if you pay 250 USD for a room, why would you bother but in my opinion, the distance to the airport is pretty short and I felt abused a little bit. Therefore, I would recommend to either take a tuk-tuk or a local taxi for 5 to 10 USD.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ly-Antho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang View Hotel

Property: Luang Prabang View Hotel
Address: Phou Meo, Thai Lao Friendship Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Shinta Mani)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#17 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luang Prabang View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming hideaway of Luang Prabang is one of Indochina’s gems and the showpiece of Laos. Designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1995, the well preserved city is more of a sleepy backwater than a modern metropolis. Wedged into the confluence of the mighty Mekong and lesser Khan river, Luang Prabang's peaceful location sets the pace for the unhurried way of life in the second largest city in Laos. Its grid-like road network makes it virtually impossible to get lost, and the entire town can be covered on foot in a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Luang Prabang View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing