We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel in a beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My family and I have just spent five days at the Shinta Mani and had a wonderful time. We are convinced that it is an unknown jewel that will eventually be full of guests. During our stay it was quiet and a few areas of the hotel are still to be completed. However, the location is breathtaking, the food excellent, the pool lovely, the rooms large, clean with excellent views and the wonderful staff could not have done more to make our stay special. I cannot praise it enough and would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the dedicated staff for all that they did for us. If you want somewhere special to stay you will not regret your decision to stay at the Shinta Mani!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misterbob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    67
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
124
26
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Shinta Mani is a extremely good hotel for its price. As architect I can say there is nothing to find like this in Laos / Luang Prabang. By its situation on the top of a small mountain top it has an amazing view over the village. By putting the big swimming pool on top of the mountain you have a 360 view while swimming. Just stunning!

The Rooms are perfect size. Not too big, defenitly not small. The rooms (half a house) has a big terras again with panoramic view. Our room had the Flatscreen with ipod dock (surround with bass box) and super nice kingsize bed. The bathroom is openable to the rooms, so you can watch tv of outside from the bathtub.

The personnel is super friendly (also because of Laos) and even booked our flighttickets. The hotel has free bikes to use, which is great in this small village.

Everything together it was an amazing stay in this 'europian' styled hotel. I can definitely recommend it to everybody! I would come back for sure!

Room Tip: Take a room with ipod dock and flatscreen tv! or one of the rooms with private swimmingpool ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RemiVersteeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This place is (as of summer 2011) still somewhat under construction. This means very good things for the prices - literally the rooms are a steal for what you get. Incredibly comfortable, clean and luxurious spaces.

The food at the restaurant (which can be served in room or by the pool) is wonderful. Menu is somewhat small, but everything is done delightfully well. LOVED the pumpkin soup and eggplant cream cheese sandwhich for lunch and the steak and salmon salad for dinner.

The best part about this place is the view - the best I have seen anywhere, ever. There is a full 360 degree view from INSIDE the infinity pool that looks out over the lovely Luang Prabang as well as the luscious surrounding countryside. Life doesn't get much better than watching the sun set over the mountains while sipping a refreshing cocktail in this gorgeous pool.

Definitely go here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theadventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airtrainandplane
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I am sorry to say that this hotel just did not cut the mustard for us. It is still under construction, our "pool suite" was not worth $273 per night and the hotel was a ghost town, the only thing missing was the tumbleweed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxthewax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Shinta Mani is the most disappointing hotel I have ever stayed at. I had read the reviews about Shinta Mani and understood that it was well out of town, the courtesy bus they advertise will not run as scheduled and that some building would be going on. What I did not expect was the swimming pool to be toxic green (see photo), their manager did not exist, the adorable staff had no idea of what they were doing most of the time, the cocktail voucher I had printed off the internet when I booked would not be accepted, the fruit bowl in my room would not be emptied or refilled during my stay, the knife not washed or replaced and the list goes on.
It has so much potential and yet lets you down at every stop.
It is a stunning boutique hotel set on a hill with a fantastic view. The rooms are lovely, the pillows gorgeous, staff are friendly and all looks fantastic at the start. Then it goes to seed.
The courtesy bus offered to collect us from town whenever we needed transport. One night we waited for over 90 minutes as the bus could not find us. We had to ask the restaurant manager who spoke Khmer to call them 5 times. We were in the main street so I do not believe they were lost. We would have been happy to walk around the night market or get a drink but the driver kept saying he was only 2 or 3 minutes away.
Another time the hotel dropped us at the museum at 11am. They did not think to tell us that the museum was shut from 11am till 2pm for lunch when they left us there. It was the staff at the hotel that recommended the museum to begin with.
The Tuk Tuk drivers are a big problem also however this is no fault of the hotel. They do not want to take you to the top of the drive so on a couple of occasions we were dropped at the bottom of the drive and had to walk the 200m or so up to the hotel. Another time the Tuk Tuk stopped half way back from town at night an insisted upon more money to take us to the hotel. The trick to this is to imply yes, to always have the initial agreed upon fare on hand and once I reach the given destination, I hand the originally agreed upon amount over and briskly walk to the foyer of the hotel – it was 200m up the road this time so it was more like a run.
I wish I could review this hotel differently. If the pool had been usable I may have been able to overlook the many other problems however this is not a cheap place to stay and I expected a lot more. The worst part was that the staff all knew that there were problems however they had no manager to go to and were not able to make decisions on their own. As compensation for a mistake the hotel staff tried their best and brought me a cup of herbal tea to my room. Lovely. Firstly, if they had of looked at my bills they may have noticed that I drink coffee, wine or a G&T – never herbal tea. Secondly, a cup of tea is not going to compensate for much. With no manager available, this was all they were able to offer. I felt very sorry for the staff. Did I mention – they were lovely – if trained they would be brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thelovelyasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Although this hotel is still being built, the view alone was to die for! My partner and I stayed in one of the private pool suites and were not disapointed. It was lovely to come back to the hotel at night to see the curtains had been drawn, slippers set out and candles lit. The staff were professional and hekpful. A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed at Shint Mani over the week end. Booked a room with private pool.
The set up is nice and you do feel like you nver want to leave the room. we ending up asking for room service on Breakfast and Lunch...did made the effort to go to the restaurant at evening!
The public pool is just amazing - I really felt on holidays as all we could see were mountains surranding us while swimming.
Defanatly a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soapopera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
648 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
702 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang View Hotel

Property: Luang Prabang View Hotel
Address: Phou Meo, Thai Lao Friendship Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Shinta Mani)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#17 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luang Prabang View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming hideaway of Luang Prabang is one of Indochina’s gems and the showpiece of Laos. Designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1995, the well preserved city is more of a sleepy backwater than a modern metropolis. Wedged into the confluence of the mighty Mekong and lesser Khan river, Luang Prabang's peaceful location sets the pace for the unhurried way of life in the second largest city in Laos. Its grid-like road network makes it virtually impossible to get lost, and the entire town can be covered on foot in a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luang Prabang View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing