We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australian mum traveling with her 8 yr old son”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My 8 year old son and I travelled to Laos for our Christmas holidays with Luang Prabang as our focus. Hotel de la Paix was our first stop and was simply beautiful and impressive when we arrived. It's a converted old prison and so the rooms are all centered around a garden, courtyard and pool area.

Our room was beautiful with simple decor and an outside sofa area and bathtub/shower - v special. The food was also excellent.

The pool was essential for my son, who used it endlessly but other than that facility, there was little for him to do - not a hotel geared to young ones although the staff loved interacting with my son and were completely delightful.

Of concern was the hotel's Manager - I am sad to admit, an Australian who made herself known to us while she was having lunch in the restaurant when we arrived. Her uncontrolled Rottweiler puppy continued to disturb us through our lunch which left me wondering what sort of management would let a huge dog take its freedom at the patron’s expense. The staff, whilst utterly charming, looked and behaved like a rudderless ship - trying their best but with not consistent direction, vision or support.

The Manager’s baseless hospitality attempts meant that when we extended our stay in Luang Prabang, we chose another hotel.

The 3Nagas hotel was beautiful, modest and every bit of the Luang Prabang holiday experience I wanted led by a terrific Manager – just goes to show how much the ‘top dog’ means to the overall impression and experience of an establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear EmmaSquid,

Thank you for your review.

I sincerely appreciate your positive comments about the "completely delightful staff", "excellent food" and "beautiful rooms".

My apologies that you found my management to be less than expected. It would appear my team is excellent at their jobs given the wonderful comments you have made above and this is in spite of my "inconsistent direction, vision or support"

I also must apologise, that whilst we did speak on a number of occasion you felt you were unable to voice any concerns about the puppy. It has been my experience that many of our guests travel for extended periods when visiting Indochina and are away from their homes and pets and in fact love to pet and play with him. I would have been only too happy to ensure he remained at home for the duration of your stay, I would never want any of our guests to be uncomfortable. I suggest not visiting a Fairmont hotel in Canada as it is their custom to have a hotel dog at each of their properties.

I must also apologise that my having lunch in our restaurant seems to have caused offence, this was certainly not intended in any way. If I remember correctly I was entertaining a hotel business partner in the garden part of the restaurant.

I would like to sincerely thank you for the time you spent at the hotel, your son was a delight to speak with, a polite, bubbly and fun young man. The tours and arrangements you made for him were very special, I am sure he enjoyed his time in Luang Prabang, especially the elephant trek.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our other property whilst in town, 3 Nagas, it is also a very special part of our UNESCO heritage listed town.

Wishing you both safe and fun travels always - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 624 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have been there with all family (3 kids and the nanny) last summer. We had a full building with garden suite and pool suite. It was like a dream, the hotel just for us...our children loved it and also their parents...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asian_Traveler_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Asian_Traveler_1,

We are a Beautiful Place, indeed…thank you! Great choice of suite selection to take the Garden and Pool combination, given that they are all allocated into their own building it certainly does make it seem like you have your own hotel within a hotel. That and we only have 23 suites means we are always private, calm and exclusive.

We're so glad the children, nanny and you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to reserve the same room configuration should you get a chance to visit us again.

Wishing you all the very best always.

Warmest regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The setting (not the location) in an former prison is wonderful. The rooms are spacious, modern and decorated with a lot of taste. All very stylish with sense for detail. The way we like it !

Breakfast is a la carte and a bit more variation would be good. We stayed there 5 days and every time, the menu is the same. Though, it is all of very good quality and we enjoyed it. Note that having breakfast and mainly dinner outside (and the hotel has only a very limited number of places inside) can be very cold.

All this comes at a (too) high price. Nearly 600 USD per night is very pricey for the country. For this price, you stay at a great place, though this is not Aman. Also the location is outside town. You need a tuktuk or walk for 25 minutes in order to get to the place of the action.

We loved the hotel and can definitely recommend it. Though next time, we might opt for a hotel in the city center.

Room Tip: all rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Tk100964,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and very lovely words.

We are a little way out of the “city center” but this does afford us a few pleasures that the inner properties are not able to offer ie: our fabulous 25mtr pool, tranquility and privacy.

The period in which you stayed is absolute peak season hence the demand for accommodation and prices throughout all hotels in the village tends to be somewhat more than other seasons.

Should you return to our little piece of paradise we also have our sister property which is located on the main street, 3 Nagas. We would be only too happy to welcome you there and do promise to take as good care.

For future reference, please do feel free to enquire with the restaurant staff for alternatives to the daily menu. It would always be our pleasure to see what further varieties to the menu we can offer and / or if there are any specific dietary requirements.

Wishing you the very best for all your future travels and safe journey always.

Warmest regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Amazingly a former fort and prison, now a beautiful compound a nice 15 minute walk from the main areas of Luang Prabang. Great rooms, lovely pool, excellent breakfast outside and very good "library restaurant" with a great variety of dishes. The spa is wonderful and the staff very helpful. Great to be out of the crowds, yet close, in a beautiful setting. A wonderful, relaxing stay at a fraction of some similar hotels elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DTAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear DTAsia,

Sabaidee and thank you for your review of our hotel. It is sometimes hard to imagine the hotel as anything else but a sanctuary. We are lucky to be just that little way out of town so that it is an easy stroll yet you can always escape back to the peace and tranquility of the beautiful high walls and perfectly manicured grounds.

It was our sincere pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to take a quick break from Bangkok.

Wishing you all the very best for 2014 - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Set in a French colonial fort, this place is a pleasant surprise when you first walk in. Rooms are large. Confortable bed, well serviced. Staff helpfull and very friendly. Breakfast ok , some times a bit cold, but coffee good. Evening meal in restaurant Great. Location 15 minute walk to market and main shopping area. Love to return here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank morrisnignig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Morrisnignig,

Sabaidee and warm greetings from lovely Luang Prabang! Thank you for you kind words about our beautiful hotel. I will take all under advisement and review where necessary and be sure to pass to our teams your good comments.

We would love to have you back so do let us know if you are headed our way again.

Merry Christmas!

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have stayed five nights in this hotel. It is a very stylish and modern hotel which was in the past the old prison from town. We liked the architecture and the pool area very much.
As we have made a letter of inquiry for a room, only the pool villa has been offered to us which we booked at least. But during the time we have stayed there we recognised that not many rooms were booked. So we had the impression that they wanted us to book the expensive pool villas instead of the standard rooms. The pool villa was very beautiful, clean, specious and the room service was perfect.
The selection of breakfast was very good. The staff in the service was very friendly but could hardly speak English. For a hotel with this standard we expected more professional staff.
The trip to the Pak Ou caves offered by the hotel was in our opinion much overprised compared to organise by yourself.
Generally we liked the stay and it's a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spiderZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear SpiderZH

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for writing a review for Trip Advisor. Rest assured our Pool Suite would have been offered to you due to being fully booked in the other room categories and or some of our rooms were still under going our spring-cleaning and freshening for high season. I must say whilst we have a more expensive categories of accommodation, the Pool Suite for a couple is my absolute favourite.

I also take on board your comments with regard to the level of English capabilities for some of our staff and please do know that we have in house English conversational language training for all of our teams across the various departments.

Our tours organized in house are via a very reputable and reliable company and the partner is chosen specifically to ensure we provide the safest and most well favor operator in Luang Prabang for our valued guests. Nonetheless, this is an interesting point and we can always advise the guests of their option to book their own programs rather than utilize the services of our Leisure Concierge, thank you for your suggestion.

Wishing all the very best for the fast approaching Festive Season and for your future travels.

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel de la Paix for 3 nights during our first visit, it was a blissful experience. The hotel is just outside of the "downtown" area of Luang Prabang, but still within walking distance. It was a former prison, so it still has a high wall surrounding the compound, which really created a sense of peace and serenity. When you walk through the check in area, you'll see the open courtyard, perfectly manicured, with guest rooms dotted around. Everything is orderly, perfect, and serene. You will instantly feel peace here. And the staff is the reason that you will truly enjoy this hotel. They are so attentive without being intrusive, and ever so perfectly polite. You will all love it.
Only thing that can be improved, a fitness center.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Hins,

Sabaidee and a very big thank you for your review! Luang Prabang is only tiny but as you said we are just that bit out of the hustle and bustle and hidden within our own sanctuary to make Hotel de la Paix a very special place indeed.

We do pride ourselves on our wonderfully manicured grounds. Our Gardeners lovingly attend to the roses, stagehorns, hedges, hibiscus, champa trees, and lush green grassed areas as if caring for their own homes…for them it is a labour of love, and I have no doubt this somehow translates in to the soul of the hotel.

My apologies that we could not offer you fitness facilities but do be sure it is something we are giving serious consideration.

Thank you again and very best wishes for your travels ahead.

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel

Address: Ban Mano, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $238 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the French Governor's Fort, the "all-suite" Sofitel Luang Prabang now oozes colonial style and splendour fused with contemporary elegance in one of the finest resorts in the region. Situated on a heritage site in the former royal capital of Laos, the hotel is close to the major tourist attractions. Large courtyards, landscaped gardens, a reflecting pool and fireplaces provide a welcome retreat in all seasons. Individually designed suites create sanctuaries of private space and sumptuous comfort, revitalising the soul. Natural LeSpa therapies and gourmet dining at the Governor's Grill capture the essence of Laos, drawing on its culinary and wellness traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing