We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$192
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$150
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveler rating
540
121
23
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
121
23
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel de la paixprivate gardenpool villagovernor's residencechef johncooking classoutdoor bathtubheritage suitein townmain pooltuk tukcooking coursesister propertycooking schoollarge poolnagas restaurantbeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 699 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Set in a French colonial fort, this place is a pleasant surprise when you first walk in. Rooms are large. Confortable bed, well serviced. Staff helpfull and very friendly. Breakfast ok , some times a bit cold, but coffee good. Evening meal in restaurant Great. Location 15 minute walk to market and main shopping area. Love to return here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank morrisnignig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Morrisnignig,

Sabaidee and warm greetings from lovely Luang Prabang! Thank you for you kind words about our beautiful hotel. I will take all under advisement and review where necessary and be sure to pass to our teams your good comments.

We would love to have you back so do let us know if you are headed our way again.

Merry Christmas!

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have stayed five nights in this hotel. It is a very stylish and modern hotel which was in the past the old prison from town. We liked the architecture and the pool area very much.
As we have made a letter of inquiry for a room, only the pool villa has been offered to us which we booked at least. But during the time we have stayed there we recognised that not many rooms were booked. So we had the impression that they wanted us to book the expensive pool villas instead of the standard rooms. The pool villa was very beautiful, clean, specious and the room service was perfect.
The selection of breakfast was very good. The staff in the service was very friendly but could hardly speak English. For a hotel with this standard we expected more professional staff.
The trip to the Pak Ou caves offered by the hotel was in our opinion much overprised compared to organise by yourself.
Generally we liked the stay and it's a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spiderZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear SpiderZH

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for writing a review for Trip Advisor. Rest assured our Pool Suite would have been offered to you due to being fully booked in the other room categories and or some of our rooms were still under going our spring-cleaning and freshening for high season. I must say whilst we have a more expensive categories of accommodation, the Pool Suite for a couple is my absolute favourite.

I also take on board your comments with regard to the level of English capabilities for some of our staff and please do know that we have in house English conversational language training for all of our teams across the various departments.

Our tours organized in house are via a very reputable and reliable company and the partner is chosen specifically to ensure we provide the safest and most well favor operator in Luang Prabang for our valued guests. Nonetheless, this is an interesting point and we can always advise the guests of their option to book their own programs rather than utilize the services of our Leisure Concierge, thank you for your suggestion.

Wishing all the very best for the fast approaching Festive Season and for your future travels.

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel de la Paix for 3 nights during our first visit, it was a blissful experience. The hotel is just outside of the "downtown" area of Luang Prabang, but still within walking distance. It was a former prison, so it still has a high wall surrounding the compound, which really created a sense of peace and serenity. When you walk through the check in area, you'll see the open courtyard, perfectly manicured, with guest rooms dotted around. Everything is orderly, perfect, and serene. You will instantly feel peace here. And the staff is the reason that you will truly enjoy this hotel. They are so attentive without being intrusive, and ever so perfectly polite. You will all love it.
Only thing that can be improved, a fitness center.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Hins,

Sabaidee and a very big thank you for your review! Luang Prabang is only tiny but as you said we are just that bit out of the hustle and bustle and hidden within our own sanctuary to make Hotel de la Paix a very special place indeed.

We do pride ourselves on our wonderfully manicured grounds. Our Gardeners lovingly attend to the roses, stagehorns, hedges, hibiscus, champa trees, and lush green grassed areas as if caring for their own homes…for them it is a labour of love, and I have no doubt this somehow translates in to the soul of the hotel.

My apologies that we could not offer you fitness facilities but do be sure it is something we are giving serious consideration.

Thank you again and very best wishes for your travels ahead.

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Sure, it's expensive for this area but it was absolutely wonderful for our honeymoon. Beautiful rooms & incredibly sweet staff. Occasionally erratic order outcomes just add to the charm. We took the cooking school experience with Somchit, Yee & chef John which was brilliant, lots of great food. Khai the leisure concierge will look any touring needs & manager Kirsty is savvy & friendly. We loved it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank starfishjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Sabaidee and warm greetings from Luang Prabang. Thank you for your comments on our hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you whilst here and next time we do yoga together for sure! ☺
Please do come back, we are working on ‘erratic’ order but as you suggest this is indeed part of the charm of Laos and every offering is done with genuine positive intentions by amazingly beautiful people. I am blessed to live in such a special part of the world.

Safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back any time.

Warmest regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our usual preference is for small boutique style hotels rather than high end
hotels like the H de La Paix but after two days staying there we were
converted. The quiet luxury is very seductive. There are many cheaper hotels
in Luang Prabang but as they say, you get what you pay for.
The hotel is one of understated elegance apparent from the moment you catch
sight of it. There is no signage to announce it, just a doorway cut into a
long white wall at the end of a street. Through it can be glimpsed the
beautiful large central courtyard garden with its pools and white low slung
buildings lining four sides. Once inside it as if you have slipped through a
portal into another world. The feeling of beauty and tranquility is
immediate and the environment is one where needs are anticipated and met by
unobtrusive staff almost before they are thought.
An example of the responsive and attentive service: We asked reception to
book a table at a modest restaurant but one that served excellent fresh Laos
cuisine. After a while had still not had confirmation of the booking which
seemed strange in a place that was usually so attentive to one's needs so we
assumed that reception had forgotten.
Then the phone rang, the man on the front desk apologised for the delay in
getting back to us but that he had now managed to book the table we wanted
at the restaurant. He explained that the phone at the restaurant hadn't been
working. The only way he could reach them to make the booking was by going
to the restaurant himelf, a short tuk tuk ride into town, hence the delay..
!!!! Impressive!!!
The hotel's rooms are private, generous, and the decor modern with all the
usual requirements. The mosquito netted beds are comfortable and the
pillows are blissful. We stayed in a suite with private courtyard and
swimming pool. One of these would be a perfect place for a honeymoon.
One of the drawbacks of any Asian holiday is the mosquitoes and it was
surprising that many restaurants in town for example, did not supply
mosquito repellents or coils etc.
Recommend that you take your own supplies of Deet etc. for this reason.
Most hotels have mosquito nets over the beds but H de la Paix also provided
coils and repellent in the rooms should you need them.
If you like a good massage, recommend that you try one here. The spa is
luxurious and Pookie and her staff provide excellent massages in an
aesthetically pleasing environment where every element has been carefully
put together so there is no jarring note. So relaxing and soothing that
afterwards you are encouraged to sit with a glass of Bael tea to assist a
gentle transition back to reality. We had several massages and particularly
recommend the hotel's signature massage.
The hotel also runs an excellent cooking school and again this is thoroughly
recommended.
The only possible drawback to staying in this hotel is that it is not
centrally located but tuk tuks are cheap, only cost a few dollars and easy
to get.
Being a little out of town also has its advantages.
In the high season with increased traffic noise and bar life, you could find
the hotels along the rivers or on the Main Street very noisy. Also, as none
of the hotels in the old town have swimming pools, this tranquil refuge
with its swimming pool or one of the suites with a private pool would
provide a very relaxing and welcome retreat.

Room Tip: A pool suite with private courtyard and pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Tinamp,

Sabaidee and warm greetings from Luang Prabang.

Thank you for your generous review of our hotel and for breaking away to experience something a little different to your normal preference of accommodation.

Our hotel truly is all that you have written and whilst the physical product is indeed pretty spectacular, we would be nothing without the wonderful team we have that care for our guests every day. Having been in Laos for just short of a year, I can sincerely say this country’s biggest asset is its people. Hotel de la Paix is lucky enough to blessed with an entire hotel full of genuine, honest, committed ladies and gentlemen and this translates into our every day guest interaction. I am delighted to say the action take to secure your reservation would have been done without a second thought and certainly not considered as going beyond or out of our way.

Thank you also for taking the time to experience our Cooking School. Laos food is simple, delicious and unique. Personally I couldn’t think of a better way to cook, then when you have a brigade of Chefs replacing used chopping boards and knives, removing off cuts and generally keeping your cooking station clean and clear. Now if only we could find a way to make that happen at home.

I’m happy to say there are not too many guests that stay with us that don’t succumb to the charms of Ms Pookie and her team in our Spa Indochine. The only problem with our Signature Massage is, it eventually it ends, the shortest 90 minutes of your life. Like yourself, we have many guests who can’t resist to return for more than one treatment during their stay. The Spa manages to channel the calmness and serenity of our beautiful hotel not only in design but also in the team’s delivery of their treatments.

Tinamp, if you have the opportunity to visit us again please do not hesitate to be in touch with me personally.

Until then, I remain with my very best wishes

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews