We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel de la Paix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3-nights in May 2013. Hotel is very comfortable and the bed is exceptionally soft.
The hotel restaurant (can't recall the name) is one of the best restaurant in Luang Prabang with Chef HongLy at the helm serving Lao fusion cuisine. We arranged our last meal with Chef HongLy and he surprised us with an outstanding and memorable meal. Being from New York City, we wish he is nearby so we can eat there more often. WE 'LL BE BACK!!!
We think Chef HongLy is an exceptional chef and the hotel management should make its client aware of Hotel De La Paix 's outstanding restaurant (the library???).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Lee b,

Thank you for your wonderful review of both our incredible beds and even more incredible Chef. Rest assured we are very aware of just how good Hongly is, and I have been sure to pass your generous comments to his brigade and all our team.

It really is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all and that there is a chance that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future. Please do feel free to contact me personally should you wish to do so.

In the mean time where ever you may journey, safe travels!

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 625 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel team is professional, caring and attentive to details. They serve with a heart.
Ou Seng at Hotel De La Paix is amazing he can absorb all the requests in one go for coming 3 days on tours, transportation, spa, dinner, supplies and changes, and all are done and delivered!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charityau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Charityau,

It was truly a delight to read your wonderful comments about Ouseng and your stay here at Hotel de la Paix, thank you.

Laos people are renowned for their genuine and gentle nature, it is just one of the many things that makes our destination so very special. It is a privilege to be able to live and work here in Luang Prabang and all the more to be able to share this special place with people from all over the world.

We wish you safe travels where ever you may journey and a warm welcome should you return.

Very best regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very comfortable stay at this exceptional old jail based hotel, lots of charm, high standard services with very large and spacious rooms, some equipped with private pool, staff very discreet but attentive. complimentary WiFi is available everywhere with good connection.
The spa massage is really something special, I did lot of massages in Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia, Bali but have never experienced unforgettable massages like that.
Breakfasts are good but the choice a la carte is limited and after two or three mornings we don't know what to take.
The hotel is not downtown of Luang Prabang and taxi or Tuk tuk are needed. The hotel standing requires to offer transport to customers, with dedicated hotel own tuk tuk for example.
We did a cruise on Mekong river with standard travel agency boat when other 5 stars hotels have their own boat with high level on board services ( massage, champagne, fresh towels..) hotel de la Paix should as well offer this type of high standard services.
In conclusion, unforgettable stay in the hotel de la Paix paradise.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nidip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Dear nidip,

Thank you for this review.

The hotel was built in 1900 as the French Governor Mansion. It is a unique place now a UNESCO World Heritage site.

It is situated at 5 minutes by car from the city center and we are proud to announce that since your stay we improved transfers to the city. We can call tuktuk drivers or our personal drivers any time to bring guests in town or at the airport.

We hope to see you again

Pablo barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I agree with all the other reviews about this hotel. It is quietly beautiful, great attention to detail in the way it has been converted into a hotel. The grounds are lovely, paths are flanked by jasmine bushes. My room was enormous and had its own large shaded terrace and private garden. The best part about the hotel is that the buildings and grounds are just the background: the characterful staff are wonderful, showing not professional but genuine courtesy and going out of their way to be helpful.
The sister property, 3 Nagas, where I was recommended to have dinner, serves amazing Lao food and the hotel will drive you there and back.
I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know in advance what you want. I am sure they would try to meet your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gweilosimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Gweilosimon,

Sabaidee Pi Mai!

Thank you for your generous review and for noting that it is indeed not just our amazing grounds and superb transformation to a hotel, but our team that make Hotel de la Paix so special. We are privileged to have a group of people who quite simply know nothing more than to respect and care for their guests. It warms the soul.

Your room tip advice was a great tip and we certainly welcome any future guest to give us a call and tell us exactly what they are looking for in their experience, we will be sure to make every effort meet all and any request.

It is a shame you couldn’t stay longer, but not worry, we will be here waiting should you pass through our little village again.

With very best regards

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Formerly the city's prison, the Hotel de la Paix has been converted into a beautiful hotel. Built round an open square of gardens and large swimming pool the hotel has almost a monastic feel to it (albeit a very luxurious monastery). The rooms themselves are extremely spacious, stylish and the bed is so comfortable. The rooms and grounds are well maintained, clean and any technical problems in the room are sorted asap (we had a problem with the aircon). The staff are very friendly and helpful and even though a few of the staff struggle a little with English they are incredibly willing and seem to learn very quickly. The food in the restaurant is good (a little pricey) but with so many wonderful restaurants in town you are spoiled for choice. The hotel itself is about a 15-minute walk from the main areas of town but the hotel has bicycles for borrowing and there's always a tuk-tuk outside the gate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank returnjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear ReturnJourney,

Sabaidee from the sanctity of our stunning prison...outside is chaos today and so much fun as we celebrate Laos New Year! Whilst the village is in full colour and drenched by water play we are dry and shielded and only wish you were here to share the celebrations with us.

Thank you for your kind comments, they are always appreciated. Our team genuinely endeavor to make every experience one to remember and I will be sure to pass your comments to all.

Please do feel free to come back and visit us again soon.

Sok Dee Pi Mai

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Hotel de la Paix in a pool suite. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the room well equipped with the latest comforts and technology. The pool was fabulous. Just the right temperature and a welcome oasis after a day of sightseeing. The food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was great. But what truly makes this hotel shine is the lovely staff. Always kind and welcoming, they became like family in just a few short days. Their new GM is a lovely woman, and we spent a nice couple of hours sipping ice tea and talking about our world travels at their sister hotel, the 3 Nagas..(which also seems very nice).
The hotel is close to town, but far enough a way to relax - just what we were looking for. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Kamiak,

Thank you very much for your generous comments about our beautiful little treasure, Hotel de la Paix. The beds really are amazing, I agree...we have the same in 3 Nagas and get wonderful comments all the time. Nothing better than waking up refreshed and relaxed, especially when on holidays.

As you rightly pointed out, it is indeed our wonderful team that make our hotel. I will be sure to pass your comments to them, again thank you, your kind words means so very much to all of us.

We do hope to see you again should you return to Luang Prabang and wish you all the very best for the future.

Warmest regards - Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and 2 kids stayed at the Hotel de la Paix over the Tet holiday in February. Our room was very spacious and included a private plunge pool in the garden. The bed and bedding was marvelous and the room was tastefully decorated. Other thoughtful amenities included the hotel providing a free mini bar (restocked daily), a DVD player, and free breakfast every morning. The staff (cleaning, concierge, kitchen, wait staff) were very very polite, kind, and always looked to please. The manager Kevin checked in on us every day during breakfast to helped out with local dining/sight-seeing recommendations, and helped us extend our stay at the hotel.

The hotel/staff were kid-friendly but the hotel doesn't have a kids club, etc (nor should it, as it's a wonderful, boutique, and modern hotel). We were looking for a great hotel with very nice staff and a nice pool where we could just hang out and relax...we found it....thanks to all at the Hotel de la Paix for a great stay...hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelfso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Michaelfso,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad to see that you spent a good stay with us.

The hotel offers the possibility to parents to baby-sit so they can enjoy nice tours or other excursions.

We hope to see you again in Laos,

Pablo Barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel

Address: Ban Mano, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $238 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the French Governor's Fort, the "all-suite" Sofitel Luang Prabang now oozes colonial style and splendour fused with contemporary elegance in one of the finest resorts in the region. Situated on a heritage site in the former royal capital of Laos, the hotel is close to the major tourist attractions. Large courtyards, landscaped gardens, a reflecting pool and fireplaces provide a welcome retreat in all seasons. Individually designed suites create sanctuaries of private space and sumptuous comfort, revitalising the soul. Natural LeSpa therapies and gourmet dining at the Governor's Grill capture the essence of Laos, drawing on its culinary and wellness traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing