We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has potential but service is horrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel has potential but service is horrible.”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Something was wrong my my booking so when I arrived two days "late" the front desk manager told me to tell the taxi driver to wait cause they were fully booked and had no rooms available. He then called the marketing manager who came and said that hotel was practically empty so no problem with a room for 2 nights. So why the lie by front desk manager ?

Then the next day the front desk clerk could care less as to helping us and was rather indifferent and not friendly to our requests to see the town and culture. Not helpful at all and just walked away without excusing himself to attend to another guest like we were a statute of some sort.

At the wine bar I ordered wine and wanted cheese but they only had one type of blue cheese.

I had wine on our porch and glasses were still there next day when I left at noon, even though I found a card that they tried to clean the room.

So I found the hotel empty with terrible service. It has potential but I feel it's run very poorly.

Suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear Bobkru,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate to have feedback from our guests because it helps us to improve our service.

Concerning the Front Office issues you had, we apologize and assure you that since your sty we did a lot of modifications on the management and also communication levels.

Concerning the restaurant, it is true that at a time we had small choice. We changed the Menu and enlarged the choice of both wine and cheeses.

We hope to see you again soon so you can measure changes done and give us your opinion.

Best regards,
Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    105
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
97
306
35
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Lovely boutique hotel and the staff is very helpful. Close to the night market and about a 15 min walk to old town. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are spacious. Beautiful bathrooms opening to a private swimming pool and a great shower. Highly commend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear Martina81,

Thank you very much for this good review.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon in Laos,

Best regards,
Pablo barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

There is little sign that the Hotel de la Paix was once a former detention centre..with perhaps the exception of the 2 watch towers. Anyway, this old colonial beauty has been carefully restored into an upmarket boutique hotel with all the comforts of a 5 star property. We splashed out on one of the pool suites which offers absolute privacy for a spot of skinny dipping. Really well worth the extra money for a touch of indulgence! The place was very quiet...must have been low season which we didn't mind too much. We had breakfast and dinner on the terrace outside the library during our stay and the food was good quality and reasonably priced. The service was slowish and a bit overly attentive. Some of our requests were lost in translation but because the staff were so eager to please we tended to let things go. Complimentary afternoon tea served in the library every day was a nice touch. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The pool suites with their own watch tower are the pick of the bunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maystravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear maystravels_10,

Thank you for your comment.

As you said the hotel has a unique history. Once a jail for few years, it has been built in 1900s as the French Governor Mansion. It is now a UNESCO World Heritage site.

We are glad to see that you appreciated your stay and we hope to see you again in Luang Prabang.

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We chose to stay in De La Paix to see whether the owners had converted successfully an old prison into a chic boutique hotel. The rooms are spacious and well laid-out and the grounds lovely - although the garden needs a bit of colour in the central walkway. There are still teething problems and the attention to detail, as one experiences in an Aman Resort property is not there. But then prices are half that of an Aman resort and it is definitely value for money if you want a top-end boutique hotel experience.
We found the staff attentive and always smiling; ever willing to engage with guests and help you out. But the highlight of our stay was dinner at Kaipen restaurant - it was the best Lao food in town. So go no further if you want to try Laotian food and are staying in the hotel. Not only was the food delicious, but we savoured sitting on the terrace, under the trees and gazing down a candle lit path. If we had a spare day, we would definitely have signed up for the cooking course.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLibbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear LondonLibbett,

Thank you very much for this nice comment.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The hotel as you mentioned was a jail before. But before this, it has been built in the 1900s as the French Governor Mansion. Now the buildings are UNESCO protected as World Heritage Site.

We hope to see you again in Luang Prabang soon.

Best regards,

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel was lovely, with really lovely rooms. I had a pool villa and recommend it highly.

The food was excellent, and service was prompt. The only thing I would say is that there were no guests, so it didn't feel like there was any life in the hotel.

The spa was also exceptional and prices were really reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisecocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear louisecocoon,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Luang Prabang is kind of new as holiday destination and guests do not come on a regular basis but mostly in pick seasons in winter. During the low season it is true that the hotel is very calm with only few guests. Be sure that every activities in the hotel like bike rental, cooking class, pool and spa are available anytime and not closed during those periods.

We hope to see you again in Laos,

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a wonderfully restored piece of property. Located about a 25 mins walk outside of the main town, it's a little bit of a track of all the "action" if you can call it action but if you are looking to relax by the pool and be absorb by the tranquility, then this is the place. It is not as quaint as some of the smaller properties that are closer to town but rooms are large and private. What the management or hotel group could have done better was to highlight the uniqueness of this property, have old pictures of what the prison and the communal meeting place looked like back in the day and probably have localised art pieces here and there. Its a wonderful piece of history but they should use it to its advantage.

Service was excellent with attentive and responsive staff. Breakfast was excellent. However, the price of its meals are certainly on the high side when food in town was much cheaper. We never tried it as we wanted to try the local flavour. When it did have local fare on its menu, it was 3-5 times more than what you could get in town. Western fare, probably 30-40% more expensive.

In all, a wonderful piece of property, larger and less quaint than those in town but for those looking for a resort feel, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear detang,

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

As you said the hotel has a unique history. It has been built in the 1900s as the French Governor Mansion and it is now a UNESCO World Heritage protected site. Now we put a sign to let this very special story and our staff is also invited to share this with guests.

We hope to see you again in Laos soon

Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is a beautifully restored French garrison fort, prison, community meeting place (this is quite unique in itself). The atmosphere, service and Food! are unparalleled. The best food we had in Luang Prabang was right there at the hotel.

The 5th star award was unquestionable for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Mark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear 33Mark33,

Thank you so much for this review.

We are happy to see that you appreciated your stay with us and we will transmit your compliments to the Restaurant.

We hope to see you soon again.

Regards,
Pablo Barruti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel

Property: Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Address: Ban Mano, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the French Governor's Fort, the "all-suite" Sofitel Luang Prabang now oozes colonial style and splendour fused with contemporary elegance in one of the finest resorts in the region. Situated on a heritage site in the former royal capital of Laos, the hotel is close to the major tourist attractions. Large courtyards, landscaped gardens, a reflecting pool and fireplaces provide a welcome retreat in all seasons. Individually designed suites create sanctuaries of private space and sumptuous comfort, revitalising the soul. Natural LeSpa therapies and gourmet dining at the Governor's Grill capture the essence of Laos, drawing on its culinary and wellness traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing