We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian hospitality”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #16 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Asian hospitality”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed there for a week. Greeted warmly upon arrival by mother and son who own the hotel. After checked in, I wanted to go downtown, but unfortunately the next transportation from the hotel to downtown was 2 hours away. When the mom owner found out I had to wait 2 hours for the next scheduled transport, she immediately ordered the driver to take me downtown. Nice! The next day on breakfast, I kept getting food on my plate because the mom owner kept offering me food. Nice! Tea, coffee, water, bananas were available for free 24/7. Nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS2010Jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    96
    23
    16
    14
See reviews for
58
162
51
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Vangsavath Hotel in mid-December 2013.

One thing that we really appreciated was the hospitality shown by Paul and his mother, who were the owners. The staff were all extremely friendly,always smiling and treated us with much warmth.

We really liked how the staff would go out of the way to help us with our requests and always going the extra mile.

The hotel is also very clean and well-maintained, and Paul told us that a swimming pool would be completed on the premise in a year's time.

Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Vangsavath, and ended up extending our stay because we liked the city, and the hotel so much.

It is run by a mother and son team. The son speaks fantastic English, and has been our most friendly, helpful and engaged host in 6 months of travelling. The service level was fantastic, with all staff being attentive and helpful.

The room itself was nice and clean, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was basic, and more of a wet room, which seems to be standard in this part of Asia for this price. Not a hugely attractive bathroom, but a good power shower. (We saw a premium room, which had a more modern bathroom, but a perhaps impractical shower within the bath).

The communal areas were all good. The WiFi was strong, and their computers were free to use. The breakfast area is very pleasant. The breakfast eggs, french toast and pancakes are cooked fresh to order, and fresh bananas from the garden were always on offer.

Don't be put off by location! The hotel is slightly out of town, but they have free bicycles, which are perfect to explore the town, and a very convenient free shuttle tuktuk. It is also close to the local market, which is well worth a look around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The place was absolutely perfect for what I was looking for.... clean nice rooms, nice grounds and excellent dining (at least the breakfasts that I ate there). Paul and his mom provided the perfect flavor and couldn't be more friendly and hospitable.... price was very reasonable and you won't be disappointed... they wouldn't let you be!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatevnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Vangsavath Hotel in mid November 2013. What a welcome sight, after arriving from Bangkok! Paul and his staff were so welcoming and frendly, and really went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

The hotel is located about a mile from the main townsite / village, which ended up being a 5 minute shuttle or 15 minute bike ride. The location actually turned out to be a bit of a bonus, as we appreciated being away from the noise and activity. The rooms were clean and spacious; the delicious breakfast was served each morning in the outdoor courtyard setting, with something to meet every taste; and any information we needed to explore and enjoy our time in Luang Prabang was provided by Paul and his fantastic staff at a moments notice.

This hotel is a little gem, with a location, service, quality, and atmosphere that will let you truly relax and enjoy all that Luang Prabang and the wonderful people of Laos have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Nic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Paul at front desk works incredibly hard to ensure you have a pleasant stay. All staff were polite, kind, considerate and seemed very cheerful which made it a really enjoyable place to stay. Room was clean and comfortable with a good tv and decent bathroom. Free hotel bus into town is great as it runs everyday from early morning to mid afternoon and early evening till late at night. Free good quality bikes is also a bonus.
It was very useful being able to get advise from front desk on places to go and the like - Paul's english is very good. The tours I arranged via the hotel saved me the hassle of sorting it myself and were cheaper than those advertised in town.
Overall it was the friendliest hotel I stayed in during my 3 months of travels. The service level was above that which I have received in UK hotels (I often stay in Hilton, Novotel and Radisson hotels with work). I would definitely stay at Vangsavath again.
Many thanks Deang and Paul for making my stay in Luang Prabang enjoyable and easy :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have family to visited in Luang Prabang. We have many choice to accommodation then we choose the owner and staff doesn't give disappointment for our trip. We have enjoyed facilitate such bicycle, computer, banana, tea and coffee. The breakfast is the best hotel we can ate everything the hotel have food. and the hotel just 2 km away of the town but the hotel free shuttle bus to transfer to night. my family don't want to leave but we don't have so much time to live in Luang Prabang. definitely come back and stay at Vangsavath.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 264 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Property: Vangsavath Hotel
Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing