We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.... couldn't be happier”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #15 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent.... couldn't be happier”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The place was absolutely perfect for what I was looking for.... clean nice rooms, nice grounds and excellent dining (at least the breakfasts that I ate there). Paul and his mom provided the perfect flavor and couldn't be more friendly and hospitable.... price was very reasonable and you won't be disappointed... they wouldn't let you be!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatevnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    95
    23
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
161
51
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Vangsavath Hotel in mid November 2013. What a welcome sight, after arriving from Bangkok! Paul and his staff were so welcoming and frendly, and really went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

The hotel is located about a mile from the main townsite / village, which ended up being a 5 minute shuttle or 15 minute bike ride. The location actually turned out to be a bit of a bonus, as we appreciated being away from the noise and activity. The rooms were clean and spacious; the delicious breakfast was served each morning in the outdoor courtyard setting, with something to meet every taste; and any information we needed to explore and enjoy our time in Luang Prabang was provided by Paul and his fantastic staff at a moments notice.

This hotel is a little gem, with a location, service, quality, and atmosphere that will let you truly relax and enjoy all that Luang Prabang and the wonderful people of Laos have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Nic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Paul at front desk works incredibly hard to ensure you have a pleasant stay. All staff were polite, kind, considerate and seemed very cheerful which made it a really enjoyable place to stay. Room was clean and comfortable with a good tv and decent bathroom. Free hotel bus into town is great as it runs everyday from early morning to mid afternoon and early evening till late at night. Free good quality bikes is also a bonus.
It was very useful being able to get advise from front desk on places to go and the like - Paul's english is very good. The tours I arranged via the hotel saved me the hassle of sorting it myself and were cheaper than those advertised in town.
Overall it was the friendliest hotel I stayed in during my 3 months of travels. The service level was above that which I have received in UK hotels (I often stay in Hilton, Novotel and Radisson hotels with work). I would definitely stay at Vangsavath again.
Many thanks Deang and Paul for making my stay in Luang Prabang enjoyable and easy :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have family to visited in Luang Prabang. We have many choice to accommodation then we choose the owner and staff doesn't give disappointment for our trip. We have enjoyed facilitate such bicycle, computer, banana, tea and coffee. The breakfast is the best hotel we can ate everything the hotel have food. and the hotel just 2 km away of the town but the hotel free shuttle bus to transfer to night. my family don't want to leave but we don't have so much time to live in Luang Prabang. definitely come back and stay at Vangsavath.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here this December (2013). It was four of us with a child. It was our first trip to Luang Prabang. After the usual research we came across this place. The primary reason we chose this place was the availability of a family room.

When we walked in, our expectations were normal. However Paul(owner) & his staff - Onh, Dao & Pham made it a truly wonderful experience. They take exceptional care of you starting from the time you check in - explaining all about Lau Prabag, taking the pains to create itieneraries for your day trips to even ensuring our 2 yr old felt special with the staff Onh & Dao taking turns to even baby sit him!

The hotel interiors are tastefully done. Rooms are large, clean & very comfortable.

This is one of the best stays we ve had. Comforts of the hotel with a team of staff who make you feel truly at home- rolled into one.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Vangsavath is a family run business. The owner and staffs are very kind and helpful, they made our moment in Luang Prabang more memorable, they've been trying their best to comfort your stay. We stayed there 8 nights, and not a single night we were left uncomfortable. The location is not that great but it's quite and easy to get to other areas. They also provided all the guests free transportation to and come back from the market place every day and night, just have to check the time schedule. Luv it here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanchanapohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stay at the hotel for a week during a trip in Luang Prabang. It's such a nice place and the hotel owner was very nice. They take care us with a wonderful service and great hospitality.
Although The hotel is quite far from the walking street, but you can riding hotel bicycle or take their shuttle bus to the town anytime, it takes time about 5-10 minutes from their and It was free of charge. If you looking for a nice place with a lower and reasonable rates, It's highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirapit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
299 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
744 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 260 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Property: Vangsavath Hotel
Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing