We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming service”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #14 of 272 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a very pleasant two nights recently. This hotel appeals to budget travelers sandwiched between backpacker hostels and the more formal hotels. Strengths include fantastic personalized service from the owners and the manager. Weaknesses include a robber's room design and bathing facilities. As it is slightly outside of the main town the shuttle service was greatly appreciated. Great value and I would not criticize more than this because the price was very reasonable and the value for money was excellent.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Innessant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 428 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

The welcome we received was wonderful. The staff and management went out of their way to satisfy any needs we had, provide a comfortable stay for us and satisfy any queries we had. The décor and style of building helped you realize you were staying in a new building yet reflecting their old culture. With free bicycles and regular drop off/pick up from centre of town made the 2km distance not a problem. We would happily recommend this place to stay

Room Tip: The fact of being set back from the road enables any room to suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynneJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We found the staff exceptional so friendly, pleasant and helpful. They went above and beyond to make our stay with them as happy and comfortable as possible.
We has a deluxe room which was nicely decorated like the rest of the hotel with all wooden features. The breakfast in the mornings had everything you could need and the free bikes available we're extremely convenient. At all times the hotel has free tea, coffee and water available.
For our day trips the hotel staff organised all the transport at a reasonable price and even when you arrive the owner sits you down and explains exactly what Luang Prabang can offer.
The hotel also offered a free shuttle bus into the town at multiple times throughout the day and night so please don't worry about location as you wouldn't even notice that you were a couple of kms out from the centre.
On our final day the owners even gave us free transport to the airport and a free laundry service for choosing to stay with them. They really are lovely people and if you choose to stay with them you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is about 2 km away from the center but with the free shuttle no problem at all. Very nice and helpful staff. Free Bicycles available. Clean and nice furnished rooms (recommendation for Deluxe room!!)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank froehlich_harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Peter and his mum made our stay exceptional,this hotel is great value for money.
It was just like staying in a family home.The free bicycles and use of the free shuttle to town were also an added bonus.
Peter runs the hotel with a flair for customer service and has obviously trained his staff in all aspects.
Mike&Lindsay New Zealand

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had great time at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and cozy, and the breakfast was good. The staffs were friendly too. What I liked most about the hotel was the free bike rental and bus ride to the Hmong night markets. The manager was very kind and he provided us a free ride to the airport too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived in Luang Prubang very early in the morning by bus from Vientiene. We were welcomed into our room and immediately offered breakfast (beautiful omelet and sausages), which technically was not meant to be included until the upcoming days of our stay. The owner and her son were extremely helpful with whatever we needed. They gave us advise on all the attractions and the best local restaurants to visit. The shuttle bus service into town was the best we've ever experienced! The driver accommodated for our travels into town outside of the set schedule. We were always offered a drink (water/beer) on our return from our daily activities. We were even offered some local soup/noodles when we asked for some local-tasting food which was delivered to our room. Due to our hectic schedule, my girlfriend and I fell sick and were bed-ridden for a little over a day. We were served more soup/noodles and some cough/flu medicine to help us get better. All our questions and any issues we had, although minor, were treated with utmost attention. All staff members were attentive, helpful, friendly and would absolutely do anything to meet any requests we had. The only improvements I could suggests would be that the shower head be installed or mounted at eye-level or higher so that you can stand up and shower without having to hold the shower head. Also, maybe the the toilet door could be re-located for a little bit more room and the TV to be a little bigger. Other than that, everything else was perfect! We were actually quite sad leaving.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
298 reviews
7.1 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 272 in Luang Prabang
699 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 272 in Luang Prabang
526 reviews
2 mi away
Villa Oudomlith
Villa Oudomlith
#13 of 272 in Luang Prabang
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $36 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing