We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff~~~!!!”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #17 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The place was fabulous as not only the usual amenities were available such as free wifi, AC, fan, bed & bath but as well as a shuttle bus to the somewhat far night market on the Tourist street every couple hours and even more frequent when it got darker.

Walking into the hotel after a day of driving in the mountains we were greeted with a sweet lady who poured some orange juice for us... WHAT?! Yes. Not only that but one of their employees with the most skill in English was more than happy to ask for our names, places of origin, how our trip was and so on.

The kindness did not end for the next two nights as we were all greeted with "good mornings, good afternoons, and good evenings" throughout the day. When six out of our 15 group of people wanted to use their FREE BIKES to explore Luang Prabang, they made sure to go out of their way to make sure there were enough bikes, locks, and pumped tires.

The hotel is small enough to the point where you may enjoy a general sense of peace and quiet. The breakfast was amazing with freshly cooked eggs at your command in addition to an unlimited stash of bananas, cereal, milk, juice, french toast, and pancakes.

This is a place you will want to stay at, that much I promise ;)

Room Tip: The second floor may be more quiet as it is farther from the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tshia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 422 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

In a six month journey throughout Asia this hotel was the worst we stayed in, just dreadful. It is owned by a Mother and Son Team who speak very limited English. We were to be met at the airport, nobody showed up. The son at least was honest enough to admit he forgot, the mother lied and said they were there. Not a good first impression and things got worse from there. The room was small, and the a/c was simply a loud fan that spewed out hot air. We were then "upgraded", but the room wasn't any better. Not particularly clean, no chairs in the room, very dark and dingy room.
The location is not ideal, it is a good 30 minute walk to town and in 40 degree C heat that is a long trek. The route isn't exactly pleasant, of course no sidewalk and nowhere interesting to stop. There isn't a restaurant at the hotel, only bananas for supper. The breakfast is basic, shamefully basic.
Upon arrival you are subjected to a power point presentation on the IPad telling you what to see, for some folks that might be okay but we knew what we wanted to see. The staff were not able to help us plan anything that wasn't included in their presentation. They sent us to a very expensive travel agency, at least the staff there were honest and able to redirect us so we could complete our travel plans.
Luang Prabang is well worth a visit, thankfully there are other charming hotels. We were happy with our decision to forgo the money we had paid for this disgusting hotel and go somewhere else. Same yourself the time go elsewhere, stay near the town and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Vangsavath for 4 nights in mid June this year. The hotel is family owned and run and all the staff are very welcoming!
The hotel is a bit out of town but they offer free bike hire and a shuttle bus service which make it very accessible and it was never an issue for us.
The owner sat us down on arrival to let us know what the main attractions were and how best to get there which we found super helpful in getting to know the town!
Rooms are well kept (ours was a little dusty initially likely due to low season) and the bathroom was fine. Breakfast is cooked fresh with a good selection. Good value for money.
We had such a great time at the hotel - the staff all made us feel like part of the family and we were very sad to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed for a whole 8 days at this hotel on the outskirts of the city of Luang Prabang. Paul and his mother run a tight ship which means that the hotel and gardens (Paul's mother's domain) are extremely well ordered and well maintained. Everyone, including all the members of Paul's staff, are extremely attentive and nothing is too much trouble and everything is attended to immediately. Staying for that many days meant that I was able to get to know everyone well and I certainly felt more than just someone staying in the hotel.

There are cycles available at the hotel free of charge and I used one almost everyday that I was there - it is about 15 minutes to ride slowly into the city centre. The cycle is also invaluble for getting around the city itself - so do take advantage of this free facility. There are motorbikes available but there might be charge so check. The shuttle bus is also very useful for getting to and back from the night market or just from the city after an evening out.

Breakfast (eggs is a variety of ways and pancakes, fruit and french sticks, juicem, tea, coffee) is served in an open space that looks out onto the garden - a very nice way to start the day.

The hotel has an excellent theme running through it with some really beautiful wooden furniture in the reception area.

As with other guests, I found the mosquito's liking of the taste of my blood a bit of problem, but the hotel provided a can of spray and lighted a mosquito repellent incense coil outside my room every night.

I was pleased that I spent that long in Luang Prabang because after spending some time in a hectic city, I needed to wind down in order to appreciate it and its people. The hotel provided an excellent base and the staff (especially Paul and his mother) gave firm support for that exploration.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 934AJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while in Luang Prabang, and we are extremely pleased with the very hospitable family and staff running the hotel.

On the first day, the bubbly owner of the hotel sat us down and ran us through the things we can do and places to explore. After staying in a number of hotels in Vientiane where we face much problems communicating with the hotel staff, we are glad that he is very conversant in English - which is definitely very helpful to us.

The free shuttle service provided by the hotel to the heart of Luang Prabang compensates for the location of the hotel which is tucked away from the city, at a nice quiet town just 5mins (drive) from the night market. the shuttle service is available daily till 10pm.

The room is spacious and clean, but do expect the occasional mosquito outside your room at night. The windows come with mosquito nets so you don't have to worry about the mozzies coming into your room unless you leave your door open at night.

Everyone in the hotel is very friendly, and it makes our stay a very pleasant one. Great hotel, if you want a quiet place to retire to at night.

With love, Ong and Lee from Singapore.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CY_Ong_radicpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Vansavath boutique hotel which is a family-run hotel a couple of kilometres from the Town Centre of Luang Prabang.

It is away from the hustle and bustle of the standard tourist area but the town is easily accessible by the free shuttle bus service offered by the hotel and they also offer free bicycles to guests. The shuttles are run twice in the morning and at least 4 times to take guests to the night market and pick up from 9-10 from the town. On occasions when we wanted to come back to the hotel, we used tuk tuks which cost about 20000 kip for two persons.

The hotel looks like an old stately house and has pleasant olde world charm, a carefully put together interior and wooden floors. The décor is very beautiful and the place and the gardens are beautifully maintained. Lovely touches such as fresh Champa flowers scattered around the reception area, fresh flowers and lots of greenery in the well maintained back garden and around a small pond in the dining area were very welcoming.

The mother and son duo that own and manage the hotel were extraordinarily lovely people and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. After three days, we felt like we knew them very well and we were honoured guests in their lovely home instead of paid guests.

The rooms were nice and cool and beautifully maintained with amenities such as free slippers, robes, some toiletries, bottled water and a fridge. The downside was that there was no telephone in room and no mini bar but beer and water were available from downstairs and there was free tea and coffee and filtered water as well as bananas from the garden anytime.

The hotel only provides breakfast and guests can get lunch and dinner from the tourist area. The breakfasts were simple but adequate and I was thankful that we didn’t have too many choices to overeat. A change of the menu would be nice as the same menu is available daily and long term visitors could get tired of it.

There were a few minus points in the maintenance area and the owners need to pay more attention to improve these if they want the hotel to be in the boutique class. They need to check that lights, safes, hot and cold water are running etc. before guests arrive. We overlooked these as the stay was made really pleasant by not only the owners but all staff including the lovely Laotian girls who worked in the kitchen and cleaning areas.

I would definitely be back here if I am ever in Luang Prabang and can recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet nice place to stay in one of the loveliest destinations we have been to.

Thank you for a lovely stay Dan and Paul. It was really lovely to stay at your hotel.

Room Tip: We were upstairs which had a lovely view of the well kept garden and pond which was private and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am so glad we booked this hotel! It is set in nice gardens, on a road that leads directly to the Night Market. It is not in the centre of Luang Prabang but hotel has a shuttle and free bicycles for guest use, making it super easy to get to in 5-10mns from the centre.
The rooms are spacious, decked out in Lao furniture. We had a superiour room which has an open bath/basin. Plenty of storage for those wishing to unpack. All rooms have a terrace with table and chairs. Good wifi connection everywhere.
Breakfast was yummy, with freshly cooked pancakes and eggs, plus bread, yoghurt, fruit, etc.
The mother and son team who run the hotel are friendly and helpful and smiley and charming and whatever other adjective you can come up with. If ever back in LB, I won't bother looking for another hotel, Recommended, hands down.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room if the budget allows it; they are just that little bit more spacious and spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glitzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
897 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 265 in Luang Prabang
654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#18 of 265 in Luang Prabang
212 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#21 of 265 in Luang Prabang
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $39 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing