We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Lao smile”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #16 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Service with a Lao smile”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I spent 22 days at this lovely, quiet family-run hotel and was treated as part of the family. There was nothing Deang, her son Paul and their staff wouldn't do to make my stay even more comfortable. This family really understands service. I stayed in the deluxe room with a huge, deep bathtub (plenty of hot water all the time) and I had a big verandah overlooking the tropical garden. A bonus of the garden: free sweet baby bananas for the guests. Although the hotel is on the outskirts of town, there are free bikes and a free shuttle to and from the nite market. But upside is that unlike the hotels in town, Vangsavath is very quiet and peaceful.

My only negative was the internet, not very reliable, but Paul is working on a solution.

I will definitely be back here! Thanks again Deang and Paul for my farewell Lao BBQ dinner, your help with my Lao lessons and for everyone's kindness and generosity during my stay. This is a great place! My Lao home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessMisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    96
    24
    16
    14
See reviews for
58
162
51
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A warm and friendly INN very close to the center of the town. The Inn is run by Deang and his mom. Both are very friendly and most helpful. Upon arriving your hosts make you feel most welcome. You are offered a delicious welcome juice with information on all the nice things to do, which are close by.

The rooms are very, very clean and offer AC + Wifi. It's hard for me to sleep while away fom home but I had no trouble at the INN. The mattress was perfect. Nice and firm!

The staff works very hard to keep the property clean and orderly. They do a great job. My favorite meal of the day is breakfast. Trust me you will not be disappointed. Deang's mom supervises breakfast and she does a great job. Included in the price are a yummy omlet, home made pancakes and french toast, fresh fruit, yougart, an assortment of breads. I also admit to being a coffee snob. The breakfast coffee was delicious!!

Your hosts work hard to make your stay comfortable. I think each person who was checking out made a point to thank the owner. I have traveled allot around the world and I look for value in my accomodations. The INN and hosts exceded my expectations. Thank you.........

p.s. I took a half day trip and went elephant riding. What a blast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDL617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently stayed at this charming hotel and it was a perfect compliment to our Laos experience. Firstly, the staff is incredibly friendly. The hotel is run by mother and son, both who are exceptionally gracious, kind and welcoming. Each morning we had a terrific freshly made breakfast and our hosts were continuously checking in to make sure we were satisfied. They were very helpful in advising what site seeing we might be interested in and had a convenient shuttle as well as bikes available that made going in and out of the main market a breeze. The hotel and property provided a perfect blend of an authentic Laos environment while providing a strong sense of security and desired amenities such as AC and Wifi. Anybody looking to be hosted by incredibly hospitable natives in a charming atmosphere would be beyond satisfied with the Vangsavath Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is a little away from the heart of the heritage town centre and is better for it = quieter and less hectic. The owner/son duo are a terrific combination that attend to details, are eager to please and run a very efficient operation. Rooms are clean, the dining area abuts a pleasant open garden, Internet is free and one can get a free tuktuk drive to and from the heart of the old town, or use a bike to ride in whichever direction you favour. We enjoyed a free laundry service, the expert knowledge of Paul (the owner-manager's son), excellent daily breakfasts and the bowl of fruit available throughout the day. Such value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhisiart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Deciding to spend two nights at the Vangsavath, Luang Prabang, We were delighted on arrival with the really warm reception that we received from the owners and other staff. We quickly felt at ease and at home in this lovely old style manor house hotel. We checked in quickly and were shown to our room which was at the back overlooking the garden and pond. We liked the way the shared balcony overlooked the quite garden and they way it caught the sun in the morning. The rooms were a good size and furnished in traditional wood and the beds were comfortable with enough blankets on them to keep you warm if it got chilly in the morning. Wifi reception was super fast and the Flatscreen TV has a number of English speaking channels (we liked watching the HBO films at night when we came home from town). It was great to be able to have a relaxing soak in the bath (1st one we've had for 3 weeks) and the bathroom toiletries were good too. Hubby was appreciative of the good sized room safe (as all the other hotels we've stayed in so far won't take an IPad or small laptop).

The breakfast in the hotel was lovely with fresh fruit, tea / coffee, pancakes, and eggs (any style) with nice bacon and sausage. The omelettes were simply the best. Service was always presented with a smile and the owners really went out of their way to make sure that you had eaten enough and were being looked after. We also enjoyed the complimentary banana's / tea and coffee during the day.

We booked a trip to the waterfalls via the hotel and this was sorted quickly in an air con mini van for only 50,000 kip per person. Minivans are better than tuk tuk's as they are air conditioned and it only took 30 mins to the waterfall and we enjoyed 2 hours there.

It's true that the hotel is a little distance out of the main tourist area of Luang Prabang but this wasn't really an issue for us as the hotel put on multiple drop offs and collections into town (takes 5 minutes to get there). We did walk into and out of town a couple of times and at a steady pace it took us 25 minutes and there was lots of local activity to observe along the way which we liked. The hotel also provides free bike hire which we took advantage of and the bikes were in good condition and it took about 10 minutes to cycle into the tourist area.

The mother and son owners both speak good English and the son is simply made for hospitality, full of life, fun and wanting to help you out at every opportunity. We really appreciate the kindness that the hotel showed us - thank you once again!

One thing that was nice was sitting in the communal area on the 1st floor balcony with a couple of cold large Beerlao's watching the sun set over the hills in the distance. The hotel also put out mosquito coils on the room balconies and as such, we didn't get bitten at night.

We booked through booking.com without an issue and the price was very good value. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I really only have positive things to say about this hotel. We booked the night before and ended up staying for four nights. The owner was incredibly helpful-- he helped us book day trips, he let us leave our bags there for a couple days, he was extraordinarily flexible and generous when it came to renting out bikes (free) and motorcycles (cheap). The rooms were always clean, the food was great. It's actually really nice to be a little ways out of the bustle of Luang Prabang-- it's only about a 10-15 minute bike and a very quick tuk tuk ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Bangsavath for 3 nights and had a great experience. Paul and the staff we're so friendly and attentive - ready to go out of their way to get you anything you need. Although it is not walking distance to the centre of town they had a shuttle ready to take you back & forth throught out the day, they also have bikes that guests can use to get around. The morning breakfast was great & the French toast is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
305 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 264 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 264 in Luang Prabang
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Property: Vangsavath Hotel
Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing