We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vangsavath Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$130
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$222
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
279
98
24
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
98
24
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis motherfree shuttletuk tuknight marketfamily hoteloffer freetown centrean excellent hoteldeluxe roomgreat place to staythe rooms were niceshuttle servicetea and coffeestay in luang prabangwould highly recommend this hoteleggs to orderoverlooking the garden
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 432 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I really only have positive things to say about this hotel. We booked the night before and ended up staying for four nights. The owner was incredibly helpful-- he helped us book day trips, he let us leave our bags there for a couple days, he was extraordinarily flexible and generous when it came to renting out bikes (free) and motorcycles (cheap). The rooms were always clean, the food was great. It's actually really nice to be a little ways out of the bustle of Luang Prabang-- it's only about a 10-15 minute bike and a very quick tuk tuk ride.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Bangsavath for 3 nights and had a great experience. Paul and the staff we're so friendly and attentive - ready to go out of their way to get you anything you need. Although it is not walking distance to the centre of town they had a shuttle ready to take you back & forth throught out the day, they also have bikes that guests can use to get around. The morning breakfast was great & the French toast is amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this great, family owned hotel. It's quaint, family oriented, and close to everything in the town of Luang Prabang. Paul is the receptionist, the owner's son. Great guy, and always willing to help. He basically rearrange anything that was needed and full information. I would definitely stay here again, when I go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FollowMeXia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We read a recent rather negative review of this hotel, and don't understand the complaints at all. We can't say enough about the kind and gentle family and staff who went out of their way to make our stay an excellent experience. The rooms were impeccably clean, tables & chairs in the outer walkway provided an opportunity to meet other travelers, nightly shuttle bus took us into town every night. We stayed for a week, and the hotel looked after our extra bags while we took a side trip up the Mekong. Free bicycles to ride the short distance into town, and we appreciated being just outside of the main tourist areas - a more Lao experience. We will happily go back to the Vangsavath! Again, one of the most gracious and welcoming families we have met on our many travels.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lucca47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having booked a room at the Vangsavath Hotel on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews,we can't help wondering who wrote the reviews for this hotel.

This hotel description reads wonderfully. Unfortunately, this does not translate well into reality.

Our "deluxe" room was tiny, cramped, dark and dismal. The advertised "private balcony" consisted of two straight - backed chairs and a small table on the common walkway to the rooms.
The room description indicated a seating area; this turned out to be the space on the walkway.

The garden has definitely seen better days. It included a pond covered with green algae that did not seem to serve any function other than to breed mosquitoes.

The bedding was dingy and well past it's best- before date.

Between the karaoke bar nearby and the motorcycles, we found it difficult to sleep.

A sign on the toilet door requested that toilet paper not be flushed down the toilet. A container was placed near the toilet for discarded toilet paper.

All of this might be overlooked if the hotel was priced in the $30.00 range. There are so many hotels in Luang Prabang that offer much better accommodation at a MUCH lower price.

We have traveled extensively for many years throughout South East Asia, and this hotel ranks as one of the worst places we have stayed at. Avoid it. You can do so much better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews