We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vangsavath Hotel”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #17 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November 2012. During a stay of 4 nights we had to change rooms 4 times. Each room had a problem ranging from noisy air conditioner to a non-working air conditioner, to spotted and ragged sheets. The worst part was that when we complained we were given another room with another problem.
The hotel had a nice breakfast area anda good breakfast. The owners acted as if they wanted to be helpful but it was annoying to be given a room with a non-working unit when you complained about the noise of the unit in the previous room. We did not think it was worth the price we paid.

Room Tip: We changed rooms for times and non of them were decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 422 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel was really nice. The owners work at the hotel and they are very kind and helpful. They provide free tuk tuk to the main street/night market, which is always available and take only 5min. Services are great, and they have cheap laundry and free internet (which sometimes doesn't work, but its totally fine). Deluxe room are awesome and cost only extra $10 per night, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arrosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family of four was greeted enthusiastically. This warm welcome persisted throughout our stay. Very helpful owner and staff. Arranged transportation and driver to explore outside of town at a moments notice. Free bicycles for pleasant 5-10 minute ride into town or free tuk tuk which was very convenient. Nice to be few minutes away from center of town. Rooms clean and well serviced each day during our four day stay. The hottest water to fill a full tub in all our travels in SE Asia. Breakfast very good. Individually cooked omelettes and pancakes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The owner is so accommodating. Really friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size in a lovely old house. The location of the hotel was only 10mins from the main centre and the free bicycles and tuk tuk made it very easy to get in and out.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Charming hotel in Luang Prabang Laos. Very clean, and the food is delicious. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, regardless of the time of day or night. Very pleasant stay of 3-4 days!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaosland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The vangsavath hotel is a charming hotel located a short tuk tuk ride from the city centre. We stayed in a triple room, which was clean and fit our needs. The only issue we had was the floor of the shower wasn't really separated from the floor of the rest of the bathroom but this was not a major concern.
We were impressed by the set up of the hotel with it's multiple nooks and crannies outside the rooms where there were tables to sit and read or just relax when choosing a slow morning and by the service we were given. The staff were very attentive and always pleasant. Breakfast was delicious and certainly the best of the six hotels we stayed in during our time in Asia.
The location of the hotel was also a positive in that it was far enough from the city centre to be spacious and quiet but had bicycles and free tuk tuks to be able to access the city as needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

OK If you could give a mark out of 10 for service you would give it 15. They are incrediable. The hotel is very clean. It is a long way out of the town centre but they run a tuk tuk service to and from so that helps.

Our bathroom had plumbing problems which meant a quick shower or the water poured out into your room. You wade your way out of the shower.

It is spotless. The mother and son who run it are just deligthful and can't do enough for you.

So how do I rate it? It is a bit expensive for what you get but certainly fun to stay here. They have big groups come and stay so that says something.

If they could fix the plumbing it would be so much better

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 68 in Luang Prabang
371 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
889 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 268 in Luang Prabang
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $40 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing