We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and very friendly hotel - a bit outside the city center”
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vangsavath Hotel
Ranked #18 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice family owned hotel with great service level.
The location is a bit outside the center of LP but due to their free of charge tuk tuk service to the center this does not cause any inconvenience.
The rooms were ok, the bathroom could have been cleaner.
Breakfast is good and incuded in the rate.
The hotel service is outstanding, very nice and helpful. We arrived at 4.30h in the morning by bus and the staff got up for us and gave us a room to get some more sleep. Very nice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTK700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Vangsavath Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 421 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a great time at Vangsavath Hotel. All of the staff were so welcoming, polite, and helpful. And the accommodations were great as well. Very nice rooms, with great room service. The staff cleaned our room and gave us fresh towels every day. And the breakfast was probably my favorite thing! So many delicious dishes. I always went back for seconds. Overall, this is a great hotel with great services and staff. I would definitely go back if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raemaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December and we had a very nice stay. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and the free tuk tuk service and bikes make the short commute into town very pleasant. The staff were very courteous and went out of their way to help us and gave us a warm welcome. We always woke up to a lovely breakfast. The quality of food was fantastic. It was rare to find an omelette station in our stays in Asia but this hotel offered this option. The hotel is quite large as it is a bit away from the center and has beautiful landscaping with lots of greenery and a pond. As the hotel has such a relaxed atmosphere, you have the opportunity to stay at the hotel if you want a lazy day. We would definitely stay there again on another visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WimK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at the Vangsavath in November and we had a very pleasant stay there. The owner and his mother are both very friendly and our room was nice and clean.
The hotel is located a little distance from the city center, but there are free bikes you can use and it is actually very nice to cycle in Luang Prabang. If you prefer not to use the bicycles then the hotel owner will arrange a free tuk tuk for you. We always used the tuk tuk service in the evenings.
I can fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soowfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This family run hoteel has a free tuk tuk service which is invaluable as they can rip you off badly.here worse than thailand. It is just within walking distance to town centre but roads are dusty.
The rooms are well made up and clean. The breakfast is white bread, fruit and beverage for a vegan, with egg n meat for those that eat it. If you are going to luang prabang do not book in advance as there are thousands of accomadations and you can choose better when you are there. In town there are dust free locations that charge less. The staff here are helpful and provide bikes.
No other food is served other than breakfast and free bananas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and we were greeted with a warm and enthusiastic welcome. The hotel unlike some in the centre of L P has a large amount of space, the forecourt meant that the hotel is set nicely back from the main road. Its large columns which gave a grand feel to the place. The reception and entrance is a large room with teak floors, timber ceilings, white walls and grand carved furniture and white walls. There are books, board games and a TV in the reception ( although we only noticed the tv on the second stay there as it is not on loud and it doesn't dominate or spoil the ambience. They also have a large outside tabled area to the rear, which is where breakfast is served, it has a tiled floor and is covered by the rooms above, it is clean and light. in this area there are 2 pcs for the Internet. There are lots of chairs and tables around the verandahs where we relaxed with a drink and the iPad (as there is wifi connection throughout the hotel...we were able to Skype home from our room and also from our table on the front verandah.

The bed was the most comfortable bed we have found on our trip so far, like a memory foam mattress it was firm but soft and I had the best nights sleep there...we stayed for 2 nights then went to the elephant conservation centre in sayaboury to return to the Vangsavath and it felt like we were coming home. They had done our laundary whilst we were away and we had the same room which was nice.

We went into the night market each night and had supper in town and we went into town in the day, the hotel operates a free tuktuk into the night market. We made out own was back from town one afternoon and the tuktuk once and the tuktuk fair was only 20,000 kip which was about £1.50 and a transfer from the bus station was 50,000 about £4. Which is a small price to be away from the busy crowds in a comfortable bed.

The hotel does have bicycles you can use for free which seemed popular although we favoured the tuk tuk.

An enjoyable stay with a friendly family who make you feel at home instantly, clean quiet and comfortable. We have now left Laos but we will be back in the future and we will go back to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Comfortable beds quiet location and a great sunset and mountain view in the distance from our room...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in a standard room for an outrageous USD162. We had a taxing 2-day Mekong tour behind us and had to make quick arrangements, that's why we put up with the room rate in the first place, but looking back at the nicer and much cheaper places we stayed at later on our journey I can only regret our decision.

Things started off nice enough with a welcome drink and a fairly entertaining introduction by the, let's say, quirky chief receptionist or whatever his job title was. Unfortunately things went downhill from there. We got the worst room in the house, just next to the reception (=noisy) and we were given single instead of the booked double beds. The room was very basic and not really clean. When we complained we were told the earliest they could move us to a better room was the next day and that we would not receive a discount for the first night. We decided to stay because we were tired and to be fair the beds were pretty okay, so we had a decent night anyway.

Next day they moved us to a the other room as promised and it was better, but far from good considering the price. While the building had some charme it was also pretty noisy. Tuk Tuk transfer to the city (about 5mins or 20 mins walk) was for free, as were the bikes, which was a plus. Breakfast was borderline okay, but again far not good enough for the price of the place. We had some laundry done and it came back damp and had only been thrown into the bag so it was completely wrinkeled. Obviously we complained and were given some lame excuse.

By then the quirky receptionist's initial friendliness had toned down two notches, which kinda poisened the atmosphere some more. At least to us the "friendly mama" mentioned by some other reviewers never showed her charming side, so no plus points there.

If you're looking for a decent deal on a hotel stay in Luang Prabang I strongly recommend you go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcmorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariopizza7374, General Manager at Vangsavath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Marcmorian
Thank you for your commend and I would like to sincerely apologize to inconvenience to stay at Vangsavath Hotel
We will improve the hotel and invite you stay in the Vangsavath hotel next time you return travelling in Luang Prabang
I think you complain to much for your laundry girlfriend I didn't hear her said everything she is very kind but you mention her complain I consider my self a little picky. after you told me We would like to responsible to iron but You didn't need to do and We are No charge for your laundry
For" friendly mama " We are Family business hotel I'm the manager & My mom her have director at Vangsavath hotel she discuss you and your girlfriend but we don't have time to told you we are the owner
If another person look this review please considers this review
Best regards,
Anouphone
Manager & Owner at Vangsavath Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 68 in Luang Prabang
366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 68 in Luang Prabang
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 266 in Luang Prabang
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $34 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 6 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 10 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing