We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Apsara Rive Droite(Luang Prabang)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$63
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sada Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$63
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara(Luang Prabang)
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sokdee Residence(Luang Prabang)
$14
$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
119
53
5
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
53
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh baguettethe riverexcellent locationa great staythe ground floorshort staycomfortable roomconvenient locationdouble bedceiling fanmekongguesthouselpbanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 182 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place was simply great to stay in, clean, comfortable and great staff service. We stayed there because of the previous tripa advisor reports and they were spot on. We did have a down stairs room and no problems with noise. Mr. Vong was very helpfdul and so interesting, if you get the chance go to alms with him. The guys on the desk were very helpful, and like everyone on Laos happy and firendly. Breakfast was really good, we had it across the road on the riverfront, it was the best way to start the day. Location is close to everything, yet quiet compared to places back and clsoer to the night markets. Would defnitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Chitdara2 for two weeks in February. We picked this guesthouse based on reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The location was perfect, a good starting point to either go to the busy main street or walk along the river and up the side streets. As mentioned, the breakfast is good - the same each morning, but a good start for the day, and excellent coffee and plenty of it. The service from the two young men who share the duties was excellent, they are so polite and so willing to please. We did not see much of Mr. Vong, the owner, but it was a very busy time (Chinese New Year) and I am sure if we would have needed his services he would have been there for us. Two weeks was not too much for us and it was always good to come back and sit either in front street side or across the street on the private patio with a cold beer or a cup of tea.
Because my knees are not great, I was originally sorry not to have a ground floor room, but after reading some of the other recent reviews, it appears the upper rooms are the better choice. We had both a front and a back room during our stay. The upstairs back room did not have good wifi - which meant going back down the stairs to the lobby - the only thing I did not like so much because of the stair climbing. All in al, we liked it very much and will certainly stay again, should we come back to Luang Prabang (and we hope we will).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a really nice stay here for 4 nights in February 2013. Really nice location that's relatively close to the main drag in Luang Prabang but far enough away so it's relatively quiet. Service was always attentive and everyone's so kind. Breakfast was served every morning - fresh cut fruit, homemade yogurt, eggs cooked to order and outstanding baguettes/French butter! You can eat breakfast inside, out on the front patio area or across the small street overlooking the Mekong river; it's definitely a very nice start to the day.

No safe in the rooms but we placed our valuable items in a backpack and left it with the guys at the front (it seemed to be always attended on the ground floor) every morning and had no problems whatsoever.

The only complaint I would have is the fact that we were in the ground floor room next to the stairs & indoor eating area so early morning risers (or people coming in later in the night) would definitely rouse you.

A very nice homebase for a stay in Luang Prabang. I'd stay again but probably request a non ground-floor room next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a non ground-floor room if it's available.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We traveled as a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 small children). As they did not have triple rooms, we had to divide into 2 rooms and ended up with the ground floor room (next to stairs), which was a bit dark and had poor air flow. The other room was upstairs (no Mekong view) but very quiet at night. The rooms are very clean but basic with soap dispensers in the bathroom, the room downstairs didn't have any hot water (faulty hot water system) so we basically used the upstairs bedroom for all our needs and used the ground floor room for sleeping only.

It is a very basic guesthouse but the great hospitality and personalised service made up for any shortfalls in the rooms itself. They were able to organise at very short notice a driver to take us to the Rice Farm, Waterfall and Hmong Village for the day and negotiated a very reasonable price for us. It's their willingness to assist and offer any travel advice which makes this guesthouse stand apart from the rest.

All you have to do is ask for any assistance and they are more than willing - thanks for a great stay. We fitted more into our itinerary than expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

With zillions of lodging options in Luang Prabang what sets this small guesthouse apart is the service-oriented staff, fluent in English and French. As for rooms, upstairs overlooking the river is the way to go. Our last night, we moved to the ground floor next to the stairs which I would not do again as we experienced late night neighborhood noise from the rear of the building. Both rooms were clean/basic with good air conditioners, small refrigerators, and firm beds and thin pillows typical of Asian guesthouses. Bathrooms were adequate and had “wet room” type shower floors. Patio across the road by the river was a nice setting for breakfast of baguette, eggs, yogurt, fruit and coffee/tea. Strongest wifi signal in the lobby. Same-day laundry service was inexpensive although we could have done without the colored-strings sewn into each item (presumably to keep our order together). All in all, good value for the price.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room in the rear was noisy late into the night. Might be a one-time fluke as other reviewers don't seem to have had a similar experience.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erika363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews