We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Elephant Village Sanctuary & Resort tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Luang Prabang
from $36.95
More Info
from $18.00
More Info
from $37.50
More Info
from $56.30
More Info
Reviews (1,823)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveler rating
717
186
63
23
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
717
186
63
23
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby elephants logging industry shangri lao love elephants guide mr these gentle giants across the river mahout experience elephant's neck half day tour riding elephants mahout training tad sae waterfall an amazing experience boat trip highlight of our trip other countries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We negotiated an incredibly reasonable price with a local took took driver from the town center and drove about 20 minutes to the sanctuary.

We were greeted by a lovely Lao lady who led us up to where the elephants were being fed (it was their lunchtime) and we joined in by feeding them bananas, which was crazy as they take it out of your hand with their trunk and then swing it around into their mouth.

These elephants, with the help of the Lao Government, had been rescued from their lives as log carriers for deforestation projects throughout Asia. We decided to donate some money to help the sanctuary rescue more elephants from torturous lives.

After feeding time, we began our elephant ride. It was a very strange experience as you sit on their necks, legs tucked behind their ears with only the top of their head to hold onto. The Mahout (the local riders) sat on the elephants’ backs and directed us down a path and into the Mekong.

Honestly, it’s an experience I can’t describe easily with words, probably one of those once in a lifetime things. The elephants strode through the strong currents of the Mekong with ease and we slowly made our way down the river and to our final destination. It was really promising to see that none of the Mahouts use whips, and unlike in other countries, you ride the elephant bareback, which is much better for their spines. We finished the tour by meeting some baby elephants, damn they were cute, and then headed off back to the town once again.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank charlief874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

It was more a coincidence we heard about this compagny, because we weren't planning on doing such a trip. After the reviews we felt secure enough to have it a go. Joy was our guide and het really o. Honored his name. We had a lovely day with him.
It was a relief to see how the elephants are treated and that tourists only spend a part of the day with and at the back of the elephants. The rest of the day and the night is free time. We were very gratefull to see a different place. That taking care of elephants who can't live their wild life anymore can be done in a good, proper and caring way.
You pay more, but it is for a good cause.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 2018Tessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Went with a large group of friends for swimming and lunch. Briefly visited the elephants and then had an incredible multi-course meal. The pool is well maintained. The views are awesome. Will definitely come back.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank LSeemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

This is an excellent place to have an opportunity to pet or feed an elephant. These gentle giants are well cared for and fed which makes one feel happy for them.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Let me say that we LOVE Elephants. There is no way that we would visit let alone ride an elephant if we thought it was doing harm or the place was not looking after their elephants.

I can not say enough about our 2 day Mahout-Overnight stay that we had here. I know I'm going to babble because it was all so good - even the rain didn't change anything.

From the time we were picked up from our hotel till dropped off the next day was 5 stars all the way including our guide to there for absolutely anything we needed.

We spent a good amount of time with our own elephant and Mahout (one on one carer of each Elephant) We got to ride them 3 times - first one to get to know them, second time was taking them back in to the jungle after lunch and third was the following morning to take them for a bath in the river
We also went to the waterfalls, saw the baby elephants, had an amazing lunch and dinner (all very good and by far enough), had a beer and swim in the pool, stayed at the most amazing accommodation, had boat rides up the river and generally had the time of our lives.

We were on a 3-4 week holiday in Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Hong Kong. These 2 days were the best of all and we had some good days :)

The highlight was definitely bathing the elephants.
I would recommend doing the overnight trip - it was worth every penny

We visited in October 2016 - sorry for the late review - it took me that long to sort all the photo's

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank melissamurray29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews