We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Experience in Laos!”

Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Explore Luang Prabang Backroads Biking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Elephant Village in Luang Prabang was set up in 2003 and is now owned by a group of passioante Lao nationals. Our sales office is located on the main street in town close to the National Museum and our beautiful elephant camp is located next to the village Ban Xieng Lom. Elephant Village focuses on three objectives:1. Saving Elephants 2. Community Support 3. Nature Preservation. We take elephants out of the very dangerous logging industry and provide them with an alternative way of earning their income. We try to help the elephants which desperately need help the most such as older elephants and elephants which have injuries due to accidents. We currently have 14 elephants in our care including 2 baby elephants which will never have to work in the logging industry. We are also home to a female elephant called Mae Uak, who was injured when she stepped on a 'UXO' (Un-Exploded Ordinance) some time ago, before we rescued her. She is now happily living in our herd.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Media, PA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Experience in Laos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've just returned from a trip to Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and Hong Kong. While the entire trip was fantastic, our day at Elephant Village was magic! The details were well managed, everything was organized and there were no logistics to manage so you are able to simply soak up the day and your time with these amazing creatures and their incredible handlers and caregivers. We'd go back in a heartbeat and will be keeping tabs on "our elephant" Mae Cot from afar until we can see her again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinRoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    165
    49
    28
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was the absolute highlight of our trip. We did the one day mahout training and were picked up by our guide at the hotel. There were only 6 of us in our group and only 3 groups at the Elephant Village each day so it was a wonderfully peaceful environment without the tourist crowds. We started the morning with learning the commands then took the elephant for a ride around the camp mahout style - very scary! Then we went for a 1 hour ride on the elephant seat. When we got into the river the mahout let me swap places and I rode on the elephants head all the way back to the village - amazing experience. In the afternoon we rode the elphants down to the river and bathed them - if you get the younger 11year old elephant prepare to get soaked, she loves to play and squirt you! An unforgettable day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayKat_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elephant Village one day mahout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Best day ever - had a brilliant time at the Elephant Village. The sanctuary is beautiful, the guides are helpful and charming, and the elephants were just wonderful. Bathing them in the river was an unforgettable joy. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank prue_gorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elephant Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great day out - we did the one day mahout training - some up and close experiences with the elephants - really gentle creatures - Elephant Village rescue programme is a great way to save working elephants and give them a happy retirement.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gentle giants, superb environment, well managed tourist experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were picked up from our hotel on time, driven the bumpy 40 minutes to the village and on an elephant 30 minutes after arriving, for a magnificent ride through village river and island. The mahout was expert, cheeky and charming; the elephant a 38 year old matron. After, we long boated to the falls.....pleasant rather than spectacular, and lunched looking over the river to spectacular views. Is this a conservation or commercial activity? Well it felt like a business, perhaps with a message. In the end, there's nothing quite like riding an elephant through the river - do it and you'll have a smile on your face!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips also viewed

Ban Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing