We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant stay”
Review of Villa Somphong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Somphong
Ranked #20 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really pleasant stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Located on the peninsula, it was perfect if you want a little stroll to the shops, restaurants at the quieter part of town. Breakfast is excellent - a perfect start to the day overlooking the beautiful river and jungle backdrop. We had an economy room which was small but immaculately clean and made up everyday with fresh towels and bottled water. Noy, the owner, is a real gem and nothing is too much trouble for her, she gave us lots of hints and tips during our stay. Great value for money and a comfortable, relaxed place to stay.

Room Tip: Economy room was quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
75
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect stay, all the staff we so friendly and really helpful. The included breakfast was great, there was a big choice of what to have and it filled us up till dinner. It was beautiful having breakfast overlooking the river. It has been our favourite place so far and we have been away for 2 months! The rooms were perfect relatively small but very clean, the shower was great, we had aircon and a fan which was amazing! there isn't really anything negative to say apart from it was a bit pricey but we are travelling on a budget! also we booked to go to the waterfalls with them which worked out more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeAsia_explorer_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Worst AC and wi-fi that I have experienced in my travels. The bed is also a brick. I tried to complain about the AC and the owner just told me that I was operating it wrong and she would come up and have a look at it later. Well, I know how to operate an AC and she never showed.

I went down to cancel the remainder of my reservation and the owner said I would have to go through Agoda. I contact Agoda and they say she's been paid and I need to go through her. She seems nice, but she's very shrewd. I also noted that she had the worst exchange rates in town.
The place is quiet and clean though, and the free breakfast was adequate. It is definitely not worth what they charge though. That brings me back to Agoda. I seem to get a crappy room whenever I book through them.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank halekido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We only stayed at villa Somphong for 2 nights in February but I would highly recommended this lovely B&B, the owner Noy was very helpful and friendly, she helped us with day trips, laundry and even got us a taxi to another hotel where our friends were staying, breakfast was excellent and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shutch108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst travelling a few months in Asia. It's a beautiful town, the location is idyllic you are just down the road from one of the 'must see' wats, lovely cafés bars and a wonderful relaxing amazing place. The staff here were brilliant, there was money exchange, you could book onward travel and breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the Mekong wow. Also good room service every day. Unfortunately I was unwell during my stay with a throat infection, the staff were very concerned and gave advice, and wanted to help as much as they could. This place was excellent service and value for money. Stay here is my advice!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_MiniMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benalla
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were fortunate to stay at Villa Somphong for a week in December, 2013. The staff were all particularly friendly and caring. The rooms were very clean and tasteful. We enjoyed the view of the street and river from the verandah. Breakfasts were most enjoyable, being served on the banks of the river. The hotel is in a very quiet location, but close to all attractions. The room rates are very good for a hotel of this high quality. We felt so sad to leave and are eagerly looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveBenalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice room with verandah. Bed ok compared with others in asia. Staff/owner very helpful when any enquiries made. Breakfast very basic. Only western. Quite part of town, but not far to walk to get to busy area.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Somphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Somphong

Property: Villa Somphong
Address: Soukkaseum Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Somphong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Somphong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing