We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Villa Somphong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Somphong
Ranked #19 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

As others have mentioned the staff is great - good source of information and willing to help with anything, whether or not it's directly related to the guesthouse.

We stayed on the groundfloor for one night and the upper floor for 5 (even extended our stay by a day). I would recommend paying the extra $5 for the deluxe upper floor since the rooms get much more light and it's a bit off the (not very busy) street. From the balcony (not private) outside the rooms on the upper floor you can sit at your table and watch the river - you can even buy a cold Beerlao from the store downstairs.

Breakfast was included, but pretty mediocre. We ended up going to local cafes after a couple days for something different.

Airccon worked great and the location is awesome - close enough to walk to everything, but still quiet. It's great to be able to escape to your room in the afternoon when it's very hot out. The rooms were very clean - if you give your key to the staff when you head out in the morning the room will be cleaned when you return.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
75
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights....
Great little hotel on the banks of the river. Breakfast is actually served outside next to the river which was great :)
Staff very helpful and can book any travel/trips direct with them at competitive rates.
Would stay here again.......easy to get to any central place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had been staying at the other end of town where it was very dusty, noisy and quite a distance from centre of Luang Prabang. While out cycling one day searching for better accommodation, we found just what we were looking for at Villa Somphong. The location was perfect, nice and quiet, close to the river and an easy walk into town. We stayed for two nights at the end of December. Our first night was in a smaller downstairs room behind the office, and the second night was in an upstairs room. The owners were most helpful. We wanted to stay longer, but no rooms were available, so the owner recommended a place just around the corner. Breakfast was served across the street from the Villa, overlooking the Nam Khan River. A piece of my laundry was left behind and the owner made sure I received it at my next stop in Thailand. She went the extra distance. I would agree, good people. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms upstairs have a lovely view of the Nam Khan River. They are larger than the downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Check this out:
The staff was very happy we were there. We couldn't come or go without a friendly exchange. They also locked up our motorbike each night, and covered it with a tarp. Breakfast is served overlooking the river and quite tasty. Excellent location and an incredible city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a very pleasant stay. Our downstairs room was on the small side but I think there are bigger rooms available as well. Wifi was good in the room and there was hot water. Breakfast was decent and staff were able to prepare baskets of sticky rice to give as alms to the Monks (the sticky rice from street vendors makes the Monks sick). The bikes for hire next door were old and a bit rusty. We booked onward travel tickets here which we noticed were slightly more expensive than from other agents (both offering transfer).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2012. It's a nice quiet location with a very kind staff. The setting for breakfast was peaceful - overlooking the river and hand watered gardens.
They arranged both an elephant tour and a trip to the waterfalls (a must) for us. Fair prices and good tours. We left a camera in the tour van when they dropped us back at the hotel one afternoon. No worries, they retrieved the van and the camera for us.
Good people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garlo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I wasn’t sure whether to rate Villa Somphong “average” or “very good.” I decided on very good, because the hotel itself was nice, and its location is great. The reasons I also considered “average” is because we weren’t at all satisfied with the service we received from the manager; and also because we stayed at many hotels where we paid less than half of what we paid at Villa Somphong, for a better room and much better service.

We weren’t pleased with our first room. It was really small, our shower had no hot water, and there were hundreds of ants everywhere. We mentioned this to the staff, who said they would sort out the shower and the ants while we went out for the day. By the time we got back, they had killed the ants, but they hadn’t cleaned our room afterwards, so now our floor (and our bed) was filled with dead ants. We mentioned this at reception but the staff didn’t seem to see the problem, and since the hotel was fully booked we couldn’t get another room. We told the hotel we were going to check out and we spent the next morning looking for another hotel, because we felt we were paying way too much for a small, ant-filled, hot-shower-less room.

Because everything within our price range was fully booked, we decided to stay. After two nights, some other guests checked out and we were offered their (bigger) room. This room was more expensive, but the manager told us we could stay at the bigger room for the same price we’d paid for the first room, because of the problems we had in our first room. We really appreciated this and gladly accepted the offer. We stayed at Villa Somphong for the rest of our stay and were happy with this hotel. The second room was a lot better than the first one (bigger, cleaner, working shower, much more natural light, and a balcony), and the location of the hotel was great. Some people on tripavisor have mentioned that the hotel is too far from the center, but we didn’t mind the walk. It really isn’t that far and Luang Prabang is a lovely place for a leisurely walk.
Breakfast itself was average but the beautiful setting - outside, next to the river - made it special. Plus, the staff at breakfast were really lovely.
Despite the fact that we didn’t get off to a great start, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Until we got the check. They had charged us the full amount for the second room, even though the manager had told us we could stay there at a lower rate. We mentioned this to her, thinking that maybe she had forgotten about our arrangement. She claimed that the special offer applied to the first night only, and we should’ve returned to a smaller room if we didn’t want to pay full price. We got into a bit of an argument and settled on a price somewhere between what she had originally offered us, and the full price. But we ended up leaving Villa Somphong feeling cheated. If you make any arrangements with this hotel, make sure to get them on paper.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voornaam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Somphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Somphong

Property: Villa Somphong
Address: Soukkaseum Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Somphong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Somphong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing