We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location but still close to the action”
Review of Villa Somphong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Somphong
Ranked #19 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet location but still close to the action”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a very pleasant stay. Our downstairs room was on the small side but I think there are bigger rooms available as well. Wifi was good in the room and there was hot water. Breakfast was decent and staff were able to prepare baskets of sticky rice to give as alms to the Monks (the sticky rice from street vendors makes the Monks sick). The bikes for hire next door were old and a bit rusty. We booked onward travel tickets here which we noticed were slightly more expensive than from other agents (both offering transfer).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
75
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2012. It's a nice quiet location with a very kind staff. The setting for breakfast was peaceful - overlooking the river and hand watered gardens.
They arranged both an elephant tour and a trip to the waterfalls (a must) for us. Fair prices and good tours. We left a camera in the tour van when they dropped us back at the hotel one afternoon. No worries, they retrieved the van and the camera for us.
Good people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garlo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I wasn’t sure whether to rate Villa Somphong “average” or “very good.” I decided on very good, because the hotel itself was nice, and its location is great. The reasons I also considered “average” is because we weren’t at all satisfied with the service we received from the manager; and also because we stayed at many hotels where we paid less than half of what we paid at Villa Somphong, for a better room and much better service.

We weren’t pleased with our first room. It was really small, our shower had no hot water, and there were hundreds of ants everywhere. We mentioned this to the staff, who said they would sort out the shower and the ants while we went out for the day. By the time we got back, they had killed the ants, but they hadn’t cleaned our room afterwards, so now our floor (and our bed) was filled with dead ants. We mentioned this at reception but the staff didn’t seem to see the problem, and since the hotel was fully booked we couldn’t get another room. We told the hotel we were going to check out and we spent the next morning looking for another hotel, because we felt we were paying way too much for a small, ant-filled, hot-shower-less room.

Because everything within our price range was fully booked, we decided to stay. After two nights, some other guests checked out and we were offered their (bigger) room. This room was more expensive, but the manager told us we could stay at the bigger room for the same price we’d paid for the first room, because of the problems we had in our first room. We really appreciated this and gladly accepted the offer. We stayed at Villa Somphong for the rest of our stay and were happy with this hotel. The second room was a lot better than the first one (bigger, cleaner, working shower, much more natural light, and a balcony), and the location of the hotel was great. Some people on tripavisor have mentioned that the hotel is too far from the center, but we didn’t mind the walk. It really isn’t that far and Luang Prabang is a lovely place for a leisurely walk.
Breakfast itself was average but the beautiful setting - outside, next to the river - made it special. Plus, the staff at breakfast were really lovely.
Despite the fact that we didn’t get off to a great start, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Until we got the check. They had charged us the full amount for the second room, even though the manager had told us we could stay there at a lower rate. We mentioned this to her, thinking that maybe she had forgotten about our arrangement. She claimed that the special offer applied to the first night only, and we should’ve returned to a smaller room if we didn’t want to pay full price. We got into a bit of an argument and settled on a price somewhere between what she had originally offered us, and the full price. But we ended up leaving Villa Somphong feeling cheated. If you make any arrangements with this hotel, make sure to get them on paper.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voornaam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I agree with 'excellent location' for anyone who can walk 300 metres to reach the thick of it! For that, you get tranquility despite roadside location. Breakfast (one local and several western options) is nice to take on the riverside terrace. Excellent choice of restaus nearby, no need for that 300m walk! Directly behind hotel, via an alley, is a temple and a pleasant street with bakeries (tarte au citron to die for!) and restaus galore, leading straight to the huge night market. Turn left out of the guesthouse and you quickly reach the confluence of the Nam Khan and Mekong, viewed from a tree-shaded vantage point, complete with stylish café.

Staff are lovely, managed by the very competent Mrs Noy - who is a local/international travel agent (can beat Internet prices), cash converter (good range of currencies accepted) and supplier (by credit card, 3% commission). A small useful shop is incorporated into the premises. Advice: take more than one card - my Halifax card didn't work, but another did.

Room was small and limited in storage space, very clean and well-kept. Non-smoking (hurrah!), but terrace space directly outside with table and chairs for smoking, overlooking the street and river. Bed was large and comfortable, with crisp cotton sheets. Noisy fridge crammed under the small table. Good modern bathroom and towels. Air-con efficient, wi-fi less so (in the annexe). Quite expensive by local values.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex, upper floor: to avoid people walking directly in front of your window you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The guesthouse is located on the banks of the Nam Khan River in what we found to be the best location in Luang Prabang. The guesthouse is in the historic district away from the busy and noisy main street but easily within walking distance. There are many great restaurants and cafes nearby as are a number of temples. The highlight of Villa Somphong for us was the staff. Huang, Poli and Yee are all incredibly friendly and they taught us so much about Lao while chatting over breakfast or an afternoon snack of freshly picked papaya. Noy is very friendly and helpful and can give you cash advances and arrange all tours/travel needs etc. The guesthouse also has bikes to use, which is a great way to explore the city and it's outskirts. They also arranged some sticky rice for some of us to participate in the morning alms ceremony. We stayed in a triple room in the original part of the guesthouse with a great view over the river. The room was very clean and the beds really comfy. We ended up staying 5 nights and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makabiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great people, excellent location, very clean, good breakfast. Relaxing atmosphere very near the centre of ahppaning in Luang Prabang. Highly recommended. The owners can arranga all of your travel need such as onward tickets local trips etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kostam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.
The room is lovely, with everything you need - AC, comfy bed, cable tv, western bathroom. Breakfast is served outside on the bank of the river and you can choose from a range of yummy things, we had pancakes and fresh fruit each morning.
Hotel is right in the historic district, right behind a lovely old wat, perfect for viewing the dawn monk alms receiving service. It's best to speak to reception about how to behave during this traditional ceremony - as many tourists treat it like going to the zoo.
The staff really are fantastic, Noi in particular (I think she's the owner / manager) is not only a very nice lady, but is also extremely helpful and competent, she changed currencies at a good rate, arranged our Vietnamese visas, and best of all booked flights for us at $50 less that we could find on any other site.
Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peazios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Somphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Somphong

Property: Villa Somphong
Address: Soukkaseum Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Somphong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Somphong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing