We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Khammany Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khammany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khammany Inn
Vientiane, Laos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Khammany Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great hostel, owner is awesome and is always looking to help you out and up for a laugh. Got us good deals on tours with tuk tuk drivers. Good free breakfast too! Seemed to be the place where all the backpackers were staying (if you want a dorm).

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    78
    49
    25
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
52
70
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are looking for an extremely nice place, this place isn't it. However, it has a great hostel vibe with a common area and decent breakfast. I booked a private room for three nights and loved it. The location is a little out of the main area of town, but it is a quick walk or an even quicker bike ride. They rent bikes for a very cheap price per day. I rented one the whole time I was there and loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheJoshManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a private room with great a/c. Our bed also had a mosquito net. The bathroom was big and spacious and clean. It was a little 10-15 min walk to the main area and night market but it wasn't anything to complain about. The breakfast was great and the only thing I could let them know to improve is to have better English speaking staff? They don't offer tours so they aren't always trying to sell you something!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in total with the room being relatively spacious and clean. but in the communal areas it was weirdly quiet and lacked atmosphere so if you want to meet people this wouldn't be the place. This issue could have been down to the quietness and shyness of the staff or the general sleepy nature of Luang Probang.

The breakfast was ok and choice is available but wifi didn't reach the room and often didn't work even in the communal area with good reception.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I just left this guesthouse and i loved it. The breakfast was free. And very filling. Made to order eggs and salad. Various teas and coffee. We stayed in a dorm room in the basement and it was amazing. Ask to stay in the basement if u can. It was cold all day even though the air con is on from 8pm to 10.30am. The bathrooms and showers were really clean. And i saw them being cleaned in the early morning. The lockers could be better. They are under the bunks and bit rickety. But do the job. I think i had some bed bugs in my bunk as i have a small bit of a rash and endless bites despite having 90% deet bug spray

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Slightly out of town but a ten minute walk. We had a private and the room was really big and clean. We had free breakfast which was a bonus but being Laos New Year and fully booked meant one day I got up nowhere to sit and eat so I missed out. The staff are friendly but have limited English.

The wifi is horrendous which is a downfall but still a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srdbso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was ok, nice place to stay, although quite without atmosphere. And quite to far from center of Luang Prabang. But walk able. Staff is nice and helpful. Breakfast really basic. It was ok, I cannot say anything bad about this place but also noting special. But I have to admit, it was really clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#35 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hello Guesthouse
Hello Guesthouse
#20 of 136 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moon's House Hotel
Moon's House Hotel
#2 of 136 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LPQ Backpackers Hostel
LPQ Backpackers Hostel
#82 of 136 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#69 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#12 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khammany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khammany Inn

Property: Khammany Inn
Address: Phothisarath Road | BanThatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an Internationally staffed hostel located on the main street in Luang Prabang, only a 5 minute walk from the night market and 15 minutes from Utopia, the airport and bus stations. We have completely refurbished Dorm rooms as of September 2014. These dorms range from 6 bed female en-suite, 10 bed, 14 bed and 16 bed(has a balcony). All beds come with a locker, a power point and reading light and come standard with air condition and WiFi. All guests get a delicious free breakfast. We have a range of private rooms, twin, double, triple. All come with mini-fridge, A/C, Mosquito net, TV with Cable channels, toilet and shower with hot water. We have just opened up a brand new movie room(with A/C) featuring up to date movies and TV shows, the perfect way to relax after the party atmosphere of Vang Vieng and Thailand. We do daily, affordable tours to Kuang Si Waterfall and our knowledgeable staff can help you plan the rest of your trip around Laos and Asia. We also supply bus tickets and tours, laundry service, towel rental, guest computer and printer(free to use) etc. We have a puppy named 'Lana', who can get a little hyper, but if you're a dog person, you will love her friendly, playful nature. Please keep this in mind when booking if you have a fear of dogs, as Lana is always around the reception area and 'playful' is just a code word that she will jump up on you. She is very friendly and has never bit anybody, she will however enjoy chewing on your bracelets. We have 24 hour reception so you don't need to worry about security, or been locked out at night. If your feeling artistic, we would love you to leave your mark on the hostel and we can supply paints and other benefits for anybody willing to put in a little bit of time and effort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Khammany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing