We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but service so so.”
Review of Muang Thong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muang Thong Hotel
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We (family of 5 with 3 boys 10-8-8) booked the hotel for the pool but it was really cold during Christmas and couldn't try it. If you don't need the pool, I recommend booking somewhere else because for the same rate you can probably find nicer places.
Location was not bad, but is is not in the center of LP. Just a 5-min tuk tuk ride away.
Rooms were very big, beds a bit hard. Bathroom ok. Breakfast very simple.
Service was the weakest point, the staff seemed uninterested in the guests. They were never rude but definitely didn't try to be nice either, which was a first for us in SE Asia. Only the young lady attending breakfast was very nice.
We asked to change our rooms after the first night because they smelled of sewer and the one close to the road was noisy at night. They complied but I had to insist a bit before they did. Rooms for the following 4 nights were much better: same layout but no smell and more quiet.
All in all, stay here only if you need the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMC_and_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Muang Thong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

The rooms are nice and I would like to take the nice hardwood floor home with me. But that pretty where the pros end. The service is just ok, I always had the impression I interrupt their meditation. They forgot to put in towels one day - no word of apology but rather rolling their eyes. Towels were still dirty with what appeared skid marks. Beds were nice and clean though. Water is heated in a boiler, so it will run out rather quickly, ok I can deal with that.
Breakfast is underwhelming and for the price we paid rather poor.
So in total, look for another place when you are in beautiful Luang Prabang, not worth dealing with this kind of issues when you could be enjoying the town!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FP94110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Staying at Muang Thong Hotel on a Laos Airline package between 01-10-14 to 01-11-14 Overall was excellent. Breakfasts and service were good. Only one problem is that the walls are thin when we put the TV on, two ladies banged on the wall so loud it made me jump, only 9pm in the evening when we retune back from the night market tried and try to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were a bit disappointed with this hotel. The setting looks great but the service is nothing special - perhaps we were spoiled by far better much cheaper hotels in Cambodia. The staff were fairly disengaged, the breakfast either sludgy or dull. Maybe it was just the New Year period but there was a very loud Karaoke bar out the back of the hotel that went late into the night. Also, next door to room 606 there is a water pump that goes all night and the walls are very thin. The rooms look nice but are actually quite dark inside - hard to even read with all the lights on.
Location is not bad - 7 min walk to start of night market or 20 mins to the river front restaurants. Overall I am sure there are better deals in town so check the weather forecast to see if the "pool premium" is really worth it. In January even our kids didn't want to go in the pool.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank WeDoStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Muang Thong Hotel between 12-22-13 and 12-30-13. Overall, it was a good experience. The hotel staff was excellent and courteous, the room was clean, and the morning breakfasts were excellent. We has a room which faced a side where a noisy rooster would cock-a-doodle-doo early in the am waking us up. It was no fault of the hotel, but I would recommend getting a room on the other side (left side as you walk through the main doors) as to not hear the rooster. The hotel was very, very conveniently located to shopping, the night market, restaurants, tour buses, temples, and bike rental stores.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnny0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in November 2013. I would like to point out that we had travelled extensively in Thailand & Laos and have never written a negative review.
Our room overlooking the pool was very good, although the wall to the adjoining room was thin, enabling us to overhear conversations, but not an issue for us. We were quite happy with the breakfast with a fair selection to choose from. The pool was filthy, when you looked into the water it was cloudy and milky white with insects (water boatmen) all over the surface. Clearly the filtration system not working. I see from other reviews that this has been an ongoing issue. The staff had been friendly and helpful though with very limited English.
Our problems began when we came to check-out. When we handed our key in we were asked to pay for our four nights stay. We explained that we had paid when we booked on-line with 'Wotif'. We were told that we had not paid, we explained that you cannot make a reservation using 'Wotif' unless you pay. Again we were told we had not paid. By this time several of the staff began to gather to listen and comment in the front reception area, where there were other guests checking out. We had purchased bus tickets to travel to Phonsavan and were expecting a tuk tuk to collect us. We explained this and so a staff member went to speak to the driver, presumably to tell him we were refusing to pay our bill. How ever many times we tried to explain that our credit card had been debited with the full amount and we were not going to pay again they insisted we owed them for our stay. We offered to show them our credit card statement using our laptop, but their wi fi was down. We refused to use the public computer to access our personal finances. We asked to speak to the Manager, and spoke to him on the phone. He also said we had to pay and agreed to come to reception in 5 mins. He never did turn up. This wrangling went on for half an hour, so embarrassing and humiliating. Eventually, we decided we had no alternative but to leave the Hotel to go to the bus station for our onward journey and not risk missing the bus. We were followed onto the pavement outside and again asked to pay for our stay. Fortunately the tuk tuk driver took us to the bus station. We had no idea whether the Hotel would inform the police and whether we would be stopped at some point.
We informed 'Wotif' by email who responded immediately, very concerned at the treatment we had received and informing the Hotel that we were in the right and if a similar circumstances occurred they would be removed from their website. However, the 'Muang Thong' took some while to respond to my email complaint. When they did they thanked us very much for helping them to understand the booking procedure with 'Wotif' enabling them to not make the same mistake in the future!!!
I also informed Laos Airlines, as the Hotel is recommended by them, I still await a response of any kind, let alone an apology.

Room Tip: First floor with balcony, not poolside or roadside.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nice hotel, good rooms but not when you have rowdy Koreans in the house! We had a few problems here, noise, drainage smells and terrible breakfasts. Mr Tong the manager was excellent he did everything in his power to resolve the issues, we moved rooms and he really went the extra mile - thank you.
Sadly the breakfast is school dinner style and prepared a long way from the tables, in a hotel of this size it should be done to order not left sweating in buffets! They have a lot to learn and like so many places they want to attract Europeans but don't meet their breakfast needs - poor variety if you don't take the hot choices. The second day we ate elsewhere so that tells you something! Lovely rooms overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones over the restaurant and request 1st floor overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 68 in Luang Prabang
366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
#48 of 68 in Luang Prabang
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#37 of 68 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 68 in Luang Prabang
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#23 of 68 in Luang Prabang
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#12 of 68 in Luang Prabang
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Thong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Thong Hotel

Address: Oupalathkhamboua Rd | Thatluang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $50 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muang Thong Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Muang Thong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang `Thong Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing