We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muang Thong Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Muang Thong Hotel
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our group of eight OAT stayed here 4 nights. My room was lovely-clean, roomy, great bathroom, etc. One guest was unhappy hearing the roosters crowing and was able to move to a different room. Another couldn't get the safe to work and that was remedied. The staff appeared to be VERY VERY young, but that's probably the way it is in Laos. The lobby Internet worked most of the time. Loved having coffee/tea making in my room. Breakfast across the street was great. Close enough to walk to most everything.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you don't enjoy the early morning rooster wake-up calls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
10
40
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel exceeded expectations. I had read the earlier reviews on this hotel and was a bit leery but everything was fine. Sure , the tub had a lip on it that caused water to tflow onto the floor but directing the spray into the tub solved that problem . Its a typical problem in these parts. The aircon was fine. The controls arr easy to access. The food in the restaurant across the street was very good and the staff very attentive, The rooms are spacious with wide plank floors. We had a balcony that was enjoyable. There were places to put your suitcase, a small safe in the room and very plush robes. Two night tables were in place and a small fridge was provided. There is free wi-fi and two stations in the lobby for use. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raymondocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed here with my fiancee in a room next door to my sister and her husband and really enjoyed the experience and relaxed atmosphere here- so amazing to come home to after a day of cycling around the village in the humidity.
There are some bad reviews on here which I dont believe are fair- Muang Thong was a really restful, nice hotel. True, you probably dont get some of the mod cons you might expect in a western location- but I didnt want for anything! Cant say I noticed lack of remote controls- probably distracted by the beautiful pool view. The elegant, simple but very comfortable room was more than I expected- admittedly when i travel I like to experience the local culture, and I enjoy a bit of "rustic luxury" far more than I enjoy a 5 star Hilton experience!

Our greeting was in broken english but so welcoming- with a small welcome ceremony on arrival and big smiles from the staff. we were shown to our rooms which were mostly timber with warm texile furnishings and a small balcony with a great view of the blue pool and courtyard. We had adjoining rooms and balconies which was great- an evening drink on our balconies was a nightly event!
Breakfast quite nice in their restaurant across the road. Staff though not fluent in English are genuinely so helpful.
Location was so perfect- very short walk (or cycle) to the night market and also en route for the monk's morning journey to collect alms- we walked around to the main street then raced back to the front of the hotel to get both the busy version and small scale version!
Also walking distance to Phosy.
Would recommend Muang Thong to anyone who enjoys travel with the local experience without roughing it.

Side Bar: If you find the Luang Prabang equivalent of a "food court buffet" in the lane next to the bakery, just off the night market street- please do yourselves a favour and ask for Pong, he runs one of the food stalls- he was responsible for one of the most hilarious nights playing petanque with the locals- and his food buffet is a basic set up (even for my love of the local experience) but tasty nonetheless- and he is such a character! after closing time he helped my brother in law put the chain back on his bike- which lead to an experience of some real Laos a few kilometres out of town!! Picture a 50kg Lao man dinking an 85kg Aussie on a bike.... gold.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KLFMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Beautifully restored hotel with lovely rooms overlooking nice pool. Staff were really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Very close to night market, and everything that lovely Luang Prabang has to offer. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NZMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed 4 nights for a good price and enjoyed the stay but for a theft. Friendly staff, nice pool, pleasant rooms, not 4 star though. Relatively new hotel so staff need some more training. Had some problems with the A/C as the outside temperature was 35c and it struggled to cool the room enough for a decent sleep. Unfortunately we had money stolen from the safety deposit box behind reception as there appears to be no control on its access. As we didn't check the money until arriving at the airport to leave we never got it back. We made the manager aware of this by phone from Hanoi so maybe a change will occur. Beware if you stay here, keep your valuables on you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank popsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

This place advertises itself as a four-star hotel but it's a long way from being one. At first glance it looks nice, but then you take a look at the room. No remote for the AC - so you either get freezing cold or no AC at all. No phones. No night tables by the bed, so they give you a little plastic flashlight to find your way around the room at night. Decorations are haphazardly hung and some are coming down. Rooms are very dark, and you had better shower in 5 or so minutes because that's all the hot water you get (and the design of the shower ensures the bathroom floor floods). Breakfast was on par with sub-standard airline food, and hardly anyone on the staff speaks or understands Engilsh at much beyond a basic level. This means there's no help for booking tours, finding out about sights - you're on your own. The owner likes to act superior until you bring up a problem and then he starts whining about how hard it is to hire staff. Given the amount of money this place charges, I would steer clear of it.

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CRoberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Although this hotel looks attractive (pool area and overall external appearance) and is located reasonably close to the main area of the city, it has several serious problems. To begin, eight rooms occupied by our group all suffered from an outrageous sewage smell. As well, I was shown to three different rooms before the staff found one that was not already occupied. The rooms are sparsely furnished; don't look for anything to put your luggage on. The lighting in the rooms is not adequate to do any reading. Breakfast was barely tolerable. They don't have any means of keeping the cooked food hot and the choices were minimal and not attractive: toast, fried eggs, fake orange juice. Granted it's under new management, but they should wait until they solve some of their problems before they register anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLKWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique
Sanakeo Boutique
#42 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#17 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chang Inn
Chang Inn
#44 of 70 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
#50 of 70 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Thong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Thong Hotel

Property: Muang Thong Hotel
Address: Oupalathkhamboua Rd | Thatluang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muang Thong Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Muang Thong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang `Thong Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing