We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Dalabua Hotel
Ranked #5 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

At the first glance it looks like a paradise: the garden is beautiful. However, the service personal is not trained at all. During breakfast they took the same cake as guest did, we had to tell them several times to take the butter out of sun and to put more ice on it. We did not take the dirty dish away and did not understand English and were sometimes very rude. We saw also how the stuff slept on the tables in the guest area. The breakfast was normal and nothing special. The coffee was very poor. We tried also the lunch, which was absolute average and not very tasty. If you take an expensive room-> they are beautiful with view to the sea rose lakes. However, all other rooms have a view to the inner court and I can imagine that they are little darker. The air condition in the room was one of the noisiest we had during our Asian trip. Although the room is quiet new refurbished, the sink was stinky all the time.
Be careful with the washing service, we got back a brand new skirt with a hole in it (obviously they ironed it to hot). After long discussion, we got compensation for it but as it was brand new and very expensive and we did not get the whole amount, it was really annoying. All other clothes we gave to the washing service suffered as well and came back as they were 10 years older.
Altogether, we would not stay there again and we have to say that this maison does not offer a good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_Ba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    153
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
74
294
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of a tour of Indochina - our first visit to the region and as someone who values my creature comforts, I wasn't quite sure what to expect! But it was really lovely. The staff were all smiley and friendly, the room was comfortable and spotless, the bathroom had a very good shower, the food we had at breakfast (and one lunch) was tasty and well cooked, it was very peaceful and quiet... I was worried about the potential for mosquitos around the pond but didn't get bitten the whole time we were there (albeit with a dash of insect repellent just in case!). It's difficult to find anything remotely negative to say about the place, but if pushed I would say the location is further out of town than some other places you could choose, a good 15-20 minute stroll to the night market. But that's one of the reasons why it's so peaceful, and a tuk-tuk would probably cost no more than a couple of dollars so not the end of the world if you're feeling lazy!
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eml81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and is in the most perfect location you can imagine. The gardens and lily ponds are so beautiful and peaceful that you won't want to leave! The room is large, clean and well- appointed. The staff is very welcoming, helpful and always available to answer questions or provide information. On our last day, they gave us a late check out so that we could shower after our morning visit to the waterfall. This was very considerate of them and much appreciated by us. We also ate several meals at the restaurant and the food was superb. I recommend this hotel without reservation. Look no further for a wonderful stay in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Yes, there are roosters but we stayed in room 110 at the back and it wasn't a problem. The down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACB218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Its classification dates from years ago when it was a B&B. The new owners have done a superb job (any negative reviews are from the old days) and this place deserves a promotion to the grown-ups' section (hotels).

The French manageress here is extremely charming and helpful – the management is very lucky indeed to have her. Her staff are very good as well.

Located around a vast and pretty lotus pond, the hotel is peaceful and idyllic. Believe the photos. Rooms are roomy and the bathrooms bigger than most B&B rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EndWiFiRipoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with its tranquil lotus pond, complete with caretaker in a blue boat! Nice size room and bathroom. Cleaning and Breakfast staff need some training. For instance, had to ask daily for soap, coffee/tea/sugar to be replaced. Breakfast staff should know not to serve hot breakfast while people are still eating their fruit/yogurt and so on. The French manageress was very helpful. Also the bedside lamps are so far from the bed, that you could not read. But these are minor - a lovely place, close to Night Market in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Maison Dalabua is a bit outside the historic center zone of Luang Prabang, which we actually liked. The hotel is centered around an amazing lily pond of sizable portions- the 10 or so rooms are actually hidden away with the focus clearly on the pond. The rooms are quite nice - painted white, with interesting Laotian textiles on the walls and with bathrooms with both a bathtub and a large shower. Our room faced on the pond and had a balcony and lots of light. There are rooms that don't face the pond, which are less expensive, but appear to be rather dark. Rooms have the ubiquitous flat screen tv, mini fridge, and safe. Bed was great and a/c worked well, which was needed in late March. Breakfast is included and taken at the restaurant set next to the pond - fresh baguettes, various jams, eggs, fruit, yogurt and coffee/tea - all good. A nice plus is the hotel has about 15 bikes for use - we used them all day, every day. Folks at the desk were really helpful with restaurant recommendations, although the level of English varied amongst the staff. There are lots of great hotels in LP, but we found the Maison Dalabua more than met our needs and comfort and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: get a room facing pond for greater light and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a great way for my husband and I to start our 3 week trip of Laos and Thailand.....as sonn as you enter the gates you are in a tranquil lush setting.
The staff and Marion the manager are happy and helpful. On our last day we had to leave at 5.30, there had been a nasty storm raging all night and when we opened our door, we saw 2 lovely staff members standing waiting for us to carry our bags to reception and give us umbrellas. They had also packed us a breakfast to take away.
At night the whole place is lit by oil lamps which gives it a magical ambience.
I would most certainly return. Wel;l done Maison Dalabua

Room Tip: i would certianly recomend a room with balcony overlooking the lotus pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Dalabua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Dalabua Hotel

Property: Maison Dalabua Hotel
Address: Oupalath Khamboua Road. | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison Dalabua Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name Dalabua means "Lotus Princess" which perfectly describes the refreshing character of our charming boutique hotel surrounded by UNESCO classified ponds. Maison Dalabua stands on one of the most serene location in Luang Prabang away from the hustle and bustle of the Peninsula, we are just 3 minutes walk from the historical center with easy access to the night market, royal palace and historical temples & buildings. The hotel features 40 rooms set in a tropical environment with different maisons scattered around the property. All rooms are furnished in an elegant blend of traditional Lao contemporary design, with all modern amenities. The spa and swimming pool are the best places to chill out after a long day in town. As the sun goes down while sipping a drink on the deck of Manda de Laos, our Laotian restaurant, watch the sunset and the secret view of Mount Phousi before a romantic dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Dalabua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing