We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in Laos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Dalabua Hotel
Ranked #5 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel was lovely set in its own grounds. The breakfast was continental style and I could have done with a little more choice but other that that the staff were friendly and helpful and they even had free cycles for you to use.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Manager at Maison Dalabua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you very much.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
For the breakfast, I think that when you were there, we had only,
-Part buffet with baguette and homemade jam, coffee, tea, fresh fruits plate, yogurt, and fresh juice, and
- Part "a la carte" (choice of eggs or pancakes or Asian breakfast (rice or noodle soup), or crème caramel.
But since 2 weeks, we have a new addition to our continental breakfast: homemade cake or crepe, several days per week, so we really hope that if you come to visit us again, you will appreciate this additional diversity to our breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 597 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

The first thing you see is the lotus pond - serene and calm. The second is William the Manager - what William didn't know about Laos - and especially Luang Prabang - was not worth knowing. We mainly dealt with William but want to emphasise that all staff was most helpful - as well as the charming owner - nothing was too difficult. Vegetarian meals were provided, bicycles offered for free, cooking school arranged, advice on tours and activities given - we felt very well looked after. This was much appreciated as it was our first visit to Laos. We stayed in the second floor pond-view room - very lovely!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms overlooking the pond have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were given a very warm welcome by the beautiful Marion (sorry if I mis-spelled. your name) who continued to take an interest in us during our stay and who gave us excellent information about the area that we made use of. Everything about Maison Dalabua was perfect: the pretty lotus ponds that I couldn't stop photographing; the relaxing free massage that was part of our room rate; the beautiful room overlooking the lotus pond; the friendly staff; the free bikes for exploring the town; the proximity to the centre of town

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We came to Maison Dalabua in Luang Prabang for three nights and stayed for eight. William, the manager goes out of his way to make you feel welcome, they accommodate families, the food is good and overall (considering the quality accommodation, free bikes, great linen, cleanliness and big breakfast) it was good value.

I'd highly recommend Maison Dalabua as your 'home away from home' in Laos.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeaceLoveBratwurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm Not one to write reviews normally unless I am really chuffed with a place. Beautiful boutique place to stay close to everything but feels like it is in the middle of no-where. Surrounded with beautiful Lotus ponds, beautiful decorative details everywhere and friendly helpful staff. Not fancy facny but still prob my favorite palce I stayed in all of thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wheresgravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel grounds are stunning with lily pod-filled waters. William, the front desk guy, is great. So helpful and kind! The location is a little out of town but not an inconvenience as there are free bikes and cheap tuk tusk everywhere. I actually preferred the escape! My only set back is the fairly basic rooms...but for the great price and breakfast, it is worth it. I want to mention the lovely concrete showers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Picturesque little boutique hotel, with all the necessary amenities, that made us feel like we were in the countryside, even though we really weren't! The staff made this hotel very special - they were so friendly, hospitable and ready to accommodate our every need. We're vegetarian, and they went out of their way to make sure that we were catered for. Their vegetable fried rice was the best we've ever had!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
404 reviews
6.5 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Dalabua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Dalabua Hotel

Address: Oupalath Khamboua Road. | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $87 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Dalabua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name Dalabua means "Lotus Princess" which perfectly describes the refreshing character of our charming boutique hotel surrounded by UNESCO classified ponds. Maison Dalabua stands on one of the most serene location in Luang Prabang away from the hustle and bustle of the Peninsula, we are just 3 minutes walk from the historical center with easy access to the night market, royal palace and historical temples & buildings. The hotel features 40 rooms set in a tropical environment with different maisons scattered around the property. All rooms are furnished in an elegant blend of traditional Lao contemporary design, with all modern amenities. The spa and swimming pool are the best places to chill out after a long day in town. As the sun goes down while sipping a drink on the deck of Manda de Laos, our Laotian restaurant, watch the sunset and the secret view of Mount Phousi before a romantic dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maison Dalabua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing