We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place during our stay in SEAsia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Dalabua Hotel
Ranked #5 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place during our stay in SEAsia”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Maison Dalabua is a gem of a place in Luang Prabang. Just a quick walk from the historic district, the hotel is just gorgeous with beautiful wood, clean lines and Lao textiles to adorn the rooms. The staff could not be more helpful. Oh, and the coffee is the best is SEAsia :). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaCrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    152
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
290
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

A small and nice place to stay in Luang Prabang a few minutes away from the center by bike (or 10mn walking). Staff is quite friendly and service is fine. If you are looking for a quiet place at a reasonnable price with a nice garden, this is a good location.

Room Tip: Room with view on the ponds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisLTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of a month-long trip with Overseas Adventure Travel through Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia and I have to say that it was the best and most unique place where we stayed.
Entering through the small gate from a side street is like going into another world, a virtual oasis of lotus ponds and flowering trees. Our deluxe room had a balcony and a view of one of the two ponds. Breakfast was delightful and consisted of a small array of serial, yoghurt and fruit, and a la carte choices of eggs, pancakes, or and of course pho. The service was outstanding and the staff extremely friendly. I would have liked to stay twice as long as the three nights we were given!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claes_and_Puck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Maison Dalabua Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your stay with us. We also thank you very much for your kind review for our hotel. Our staff was informed about your comment and it made us delighted.

Our philosophy is to bring our guest the best service. Lao culture always treats the visitors with our heart.

We hope to serve you again in the future and of course, we promise that we will not stop developing our service for our guest.

Lao is always welcome you!

Thank you very much.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Learning from the manager of this hotel that the ownership of this hotel was changed to the current one about eight months ago. I also talked to the new owner who told me that she had done some improvements on the ponds, the lights and curtains, etc., after taking over this hotel.

The location of this hotel is quite good, just about 10 minutes walk to Night Market and 15 minutes walk to the town centre. The room is nicely decorated. However, the rain shower in my room didn't work well and the water sometimes hot and sometimes cold. Same as most of the other places in Luang Prabang, there're a lot of mosquitoes and flies flying around the hotel area, including in the room. The manager that's mentioned earlier had left on the 3rd day during my stay and it's a question mark on the future development of this hotel since he's quite a smart guy with good customer sense.

The breakfast is limited choice and the quality is just average. Particularly, the bacon come with the fried eggs is really bad. They charge US$3 for a bike per day which is quite high comparatively. The staff service is just average and the English standard of most of the staff is quite poor. They have two beautiful lotus ponds and it's good to laid back there if you don't mind the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Maison Dalabua Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for having taken time to send me comments: most of the time they are helpful and give Hoteliers the opportunity to improve the quality of their property.
My hotel is located in the middle of ponds and this makes part of his particular charm: most of guests and visitors enjoy it. We proceed regularly to pest controls to avoid mosquitoes as much as it is possible in a tropical country. Each room has got a plug with special chemical and our housekeeping staff sprays the room at night and more on request if necessary. If you strolled around Luang Prabang, you should have seen bikes to rent everywhere: I provide good bicycles new and comfortable and the price is reasonable if you compare to the others. You were informed about the rate and it was up to you to get ours or at another place.
I try to make a simple but healthy breakfast and the jam is home made and most of the guests enjoy even the fried eggs with bacon: Even in five stars hotel in Luang Prabang, bacon is served with fried eggs and we never get any complain about this matter.
Regarding the comments of the Manager who left, it would have been better to talk to me directly as I was on site and then we should have a constructive talk.
Hope you will have a great souvenir of Luang Prabang and Laos trying to be a country where guests are happy to come and stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We are currently staying at this hotel in a Deluxe Room with a Balcony. In our opinion you could not get any better. The Hotel is set in beautiful grounds surrounded by ponds and tropical gardens. The room is clean and tastefully furnished. It is in a quiet location about a 10 minute walk back into the main area of Luang Prabang. The staff are fantastic and they will help you with any of your needs with a smile. Truely a GEM IN THE JEWEL OF LAOS - LUANG PRABANG. if you want a quiet place to stay then this would be the place for you. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T0J057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The city itself is a "world heritage site." More impressively, however, the hotel management here supports this philosophy, in spades.

I spoke with the owner. The property maintains two onsite ponds for UNESCO that the hotel does not even own. They are paid, of course, but only minimally. Yet, the visitor benefits from the very pleasant natural surroundings that result.

The staff is extremely accommodating. They aim to please whatever the request and actually welcome Americans because they are "so picky." This gives them the opportunity to excel!

There is no golf course, swimming pool, or tennis court to be found. My rating is based on the ambience of the premise, the friendliness of the staff, and the philosophy of the owner.

And by the way, do not pass up the opportunity to eat at the Tamarind Restaurant while in town. The food was excellent, the price a pleasant surprise and the view of the river not to be missed!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djoncich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We initially only booked into Maison Dalabua for 2 nights but extended our stay to 7 nights because it was so great. Halfway through our stay we moved from a standard room (which was still much larger than most!) to a deluxe room which was beautiful and even bigger. Both rooms were stylishly furnished, had comfortable beds, were serviced every day and, like the rest of the hotel, spotless.
The breakfast was plentiful, with eggs of your choosing nicely cooked, a buffet and excellent coffee. It also had the best marmalade we’ve ever had outside of the UK! It was lovely to sit and eat breakfast on the terrace besides the beautiful water lily ponds. The staff couldn’t have been more friendly or welcoming and couldn’t do enough for us. As a gay couple it was great to also receive a rose on Valentine’s Day that the hotel was giving out to all couples staying there!
The hotel is only a short walk from the centre of town in a residential street. The hotel has bikes you can hire for $2 for the whole day which makes getting around the town very easy. We will definitely be staying there again when we have the pleasure of returning to Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was great but then moved to a deluxe room which was enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Dalabua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Dalabua Hotel

Property: Maison Dalabua Hotel
Address: Oupalath Khamboua Road. | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison Dalabua Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name Dalabua means "Lotus Princess" which perfectly describes the refreshing character of our charming boutique hotel surrounded by UNESCO classified ponds. Maison Dalabua stands on one of the most serene location in Luang Prabang away from the hustle and bustle of the Peninsula, we are just 3 minutes walk from the historical center with easy access to the night market, royal palace and historical temples & buildings. The hotel features 40 rooms set in a tropical environment with different maisons scattered around the property. All rooms are furnished in an elegant blend of traditional Lao contemporary design, with all modern amenities. The spa and swimming pool are the best places to chill out after a long day in town. As the sun goes down while sipping a drink on the deck of Manda de Laos, our Laotian restaurant, watch the sunset and the secret view of Mount Phousi before a romantic dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Dalabua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing