We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced, really bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sayo Naga Guesthouse

Sayo Naga Guesthouse
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
Ranked #82 of 258 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“overpriced, really bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

we've stayed twice because of the good location. before we left the first time we put in a reservation at the front desk to be sure to have a room when we get back over the lao new year. Nonetheless when we arrived at the agreed date there was no room available. we had to sleep at another hotel for one night and then checked in the sayo naga after booking an upstairs room with agoda. the room we got was located downstairs, really bad and damp smell. the aircon didn't work and the TV was broken. nothing what you expect if you're paying 35 USD. so we asked them to change the room into an upstairs room (as we had paid for). the staff as far as they spoke and understood English at all were quite unfriendly and not at all helpful when we approached them with either of this issues.

The breakfast is NEVER ready at 07:30 as advertised. this can be a problem if you're catching a bus or a tour st 08:00.

Internet wasn't working 90% of the time. And if it was working the speed was slightly faster then in the stone age.

Overall: overpriced place for what you get with lack of service attitude. The rooms are clean though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamboochahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
15
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Upstairs rooms are large, beautiful teak affairs (at least ours was) with balconies, $40 rack rate (we got a bit of a deal booking through Agoda). The $25 downstairs rooms are fine, but not as spacious (we stayed one night in one). Location is central (few minutes walk to the main night market), but on a quiet side street. There are plenty of restaurants a short walk away.

Breakfast was OK but repetitive; staff weren't very communicative but we didn't have any problems.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are much nicer and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately my partner and i had approximately £80 in foreign currency stolen including cigarettes and medication. Firstly it was a couple of cigarettes and my brand new pot of expensive face cream. These are the items we did not leave in the wooden box (safe) as we did not think it was necessary. This was over a couple of days and stupidly I left my document wallet containing Malaysian Ringet, Thai Baht and Singapore Dollars out as I believed the room to be safe. It has come to our attention that these items were stolen by the cleaners. As you have to leave your key at reception whenever you leave the property. The owner did not care and has taken no responsibility for this.
The breakfast includes stale bread on most days and uncooked eggs. The owner told us we were causing them problems by saying this. But would you be happy eating solid bread when the person next to you has soft bread??!! The water was not replaced on most days and the ignorance and lack of professional behaviour was not good. The cook would be in the breakfast room sleeping and sometimes no one on reception.
Having said all this, location is good and quiet!
Therefore if you don't mind being cleverly stolen from and having your breakfast cooked poorly stay here!
This is the first time in 6 months of traveling where this has happened.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamgilbert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a 13 hour bus ride from Vientiane we were disappointed to arrive at the hotel to find the room we had already paid for wasn't available. Nor did the AC work. However, they did give us a larger room, fixed the AC, and seemed genuinely concerned with making us happy. In the end, we were quite content to be there. Its a beautiful little guest house in a great location, and it was quiet. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyZeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We originally booked to stay in the Sayo Naga Guesthouse for 2 nights, although a few days in we decided we wanted to stay longer. We booked the standard double room downstairs online and managed to stay another night in the same room, although on our last night they said they had no rooms available unless we wanted to upgrade and pay extra, which being a on a budget we didn't want to do so they agreed to move us to one of their sister hotels a short distance away (they have 2 in Luang Prabang.) On checking out they told us they would upgrade us for free to a deluxe room which was great, although the standard room was fine - nice comfy bed and good shower - the deluxe room was lovely, the room was huge with a nice bath tub and a big open balcony! We would definitely recommend this hotel, the staff were very friendly, it was close to lots of restaurants and the market and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at say, double room, 50$ a night is a lot so you might do better, service
Was decent, beside the early wake up we enjoined the stay, spent one night at the room on ground floor small and packed

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aces99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My room #1 was upstairs, in the back along the alley with a pleasant balcony. The room was very large with high ceilings, fan and air conditioning. The only drawback was that the bathroom had to remain closed with the air con on since the window in it could not be closed. Plenty of closet/storage space for a longer stay (I stayed 5 nights and didn't want to leave!) This location is on a quiet street within easy walking distance to all restaurants, the street markets and Wats. Kho, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. Luang Prabang is so beautiful and my relaxing stay at Sayo Naga GH made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#32 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#31 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sayo River Guest House
Sayo River Guest House
#150 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#35 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayo Naga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo Naga Guesthouse

Property: Sayo Naga Guesthouse
Address: Vat That area, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sayo Naga Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelsClick so you can book your Sayo Naga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing