We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sabai dee Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luang Prabang River Lodge
Ranked #141 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2012

It's a first time when i travel at Luang Prabang with my favorite. We stay at Luang Prabang River Lodge for 3 nights. The hotel is beside the Mekong river and opposite at Prachaniyom coffee shop. It's easy to travel around, near morning market and night market just walk about 5 to 10 minutes. If you prefer to enter monk's alms bowl in the morning you can buy sticky rice at the hotel and then walk away for 5 minutes to the temple, easy isn't it ? And breakfast is good you can order the american breakfast, noodle, soft-boiled rice they serve with French loaf jam, butter and coffee. Everything is perfect price are reasonable, we have fun and would like to suggest to all traveler to visit the Luang Prabang River Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinny_nop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 33 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Pretty basic rooms, no safety boxes, but with everything else you might need during your days in this lovely and hiper lovable lao town.
Staff is hyper friendly and helpful, with special mention to Kam Houng who has been extra hospitable.
I have stayed 6 days during Pbee Mai (New Year) and they helped me have an unforgettable experience.
Breakfast is good, laundry perfect, clean, and the location is almost perfect: 100 mt from lovely Night Market and main street, and my room overlooked the Mekong river.
The only drawback: Internet speed in room & lobby is frustratingly low.
Highly recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alejandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this mini-hotel. Found it when tuk-tuk driver dropped us at central intersection on the way from airport. We were looking for a scooter to rent and the hotel was just across the road. So we came in and took twin room for 40 USD per night. As a side comment Laos is slightly more expensive than Thailand so such a rate should be considered as a good one for a room with all facilities in.

One thing which may be important to know about this place: it can be quite noisy outside as it faces 2 roads. Our room was located on the 1st floor in the most distant corner and there was absolutely No noise from the outside street.

As for the rest: cleanness of the room, quality of wifi, breakfast etc all was perfect. Guys from reception actually managed scooter rent for us (20 USD a day), we just picked it up at given time at the hotel and left the keys to receptionist when finished.

Really liked the attitude - all positive! Keep up furher on!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We didn't have a room booked in Luang Prabang when we arrived, so we ended up walking around the town and stopping in guesthouses to find a room. From everything we've seen, Riverlodge is a good choice in its price range. The location is great (right at the river and just a few steps from the Royal Palace), the room was fine, nothing spectacular but good enough and clean. The breakfast is good, although the coffee is not ;) Nice, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carsten_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

It's in a great position by the banks of the Mekong, though Luang Prabang is so small anywhere would be fine.
The hotel has fairly small, basic rooms, though the bathroom is a reasonable size but open shower type which I'm not keen on. A big miss for me is no fridge but there is often a hot water machine in reception with tea/coffee/creamer etc.
The wifi works pretty well and is free.
The staff are ferry friendly.
You really do need to look at the rules and regulations small print stuck on the back of the room door(how often does anyone bother???). This will tell you that, amazingly, the hotel locks it's doors at 11pm.
After about 9pm it is very difficult to find any of the food and drink stalls along the river open and the hotel does not have a restaurant/bar though they do an ok breakfast.
It is only about 2-3 miles from the airport and $6-7.
There is now a River Lodge 2 which would be worth checking out.

Room Tip: Get a river view. I didn't and didn't bother open my curtains the whole trip but at least it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had booked a room at the Luang Prabang River Lodge (First). When we arrived, we were immediately asked if we would be willing to stay at a nearby property instead. I was skeptical but after realizing that we wouldn't get to enjoy the patio off our first floor twin because it was closed for the rainy season (no roof), and being told that they had a tour group booked in the lodge that night and expected it to be noisey, we agreed to look at the other room. (I suspect they just double booked our room.) The twin we booked was cramped and dark without the balcony, and not a value at 60$/night in the low season.

So we walked 1/2 block down the river road to the Luang Prabang River Lodge 2 (Formerly the Mekong river lodge?). The room they offered us had 2 double beds, a covered balcony with river view. We stayed for 60$/night but I think they are asking 80$/night. The room was more spacious (though with 2 double beds still not a lot of extra room) and the building is clean and new. The river view is definitely worth some extra $/night, and the location just down from a bigger intersection meant there was plenty of interesting traffic of local business, kids, etc to watch. The shutters, windows, and curtains kept AM street noise managable, though, and it is not next to the (noisy) morning produce market. Unfortunately, the Monk's don't go past this location on their morning Alms collection, so you will have to walk 1/2 block to see this. The shower was nice - warm water available and good water pressure, but didn't drench the entire bathroom. The service was excellent - front desk friendly but not pushy, cleaners (daily) quick and efficient. AC worked fine. There was no attempt to charge the list price when we paid on our last day, and no request for up-front payment. Breakfast was excellent - eggs, hot dog-like sausages, a croissant, baguette, butter and jam, coffee or tea, juice, and fruit. So what started out somewhat stressfully ended up being a good move for us. There was not a lockable drawer or cabinet in the room and no mini-safe, but my traveling companion left his computer in the room all weekend and it was not stolen.

Bottom line: this place was fine for us, but quite pricey for Luang prabang, and at 80$/night probably not a good value. However, (Like us) you may be willing to pay for the convenience of having a reservation, and a river view is worth a bit more.

Pros: River view from covered balcony, new, clean, good service
Cons: Pricey for Luang Prabang, no morning Alms from the balcony, no securable storage or mini-safe in room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We booked into this Lodge after spending a night at an older Guesthouse which did not have amenities like air con, internet access, and credit card facilities. This modern Lodge overlooks the Mekong River though we chose to stay in rooms at the back which were quieter. The rooms were compact but spotlessly neat. It may not have had the same olde-worlde feel as some other guesthouses but it was better for us traveling with our young children and their grandmother.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerberas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#32 of 70 in Luang Prabang
259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
831 reviews
6.5 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang River Lodge

Address: Ban Paxom Khomkong Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $34 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luang Prabang River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The houses are only 10 minutes drive from the city; very quiet atmosphere. Also providing free airport shuttle and city center shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luang Prabang River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing