We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cappuccino”
Review of Joma Bakery Cafe

Joma Bakery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great cappuccino”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

During our 1 week stay in Luang Prabang we went to Joma on a daily base to enjoy a cup of fresh brewed cappuccino. Service was fast and inside sitting is relaxed with some nice artwork on the walls. If you feel boring of popular Starbucks in South East Asia Joma is your place with real coffee without artificial flavor or strange ingredients.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyrolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    570
    181
    59
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bad indifferent service and dirty.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Overpriced, bad indifferent service. Dirty tables and menues.
Had the vegetarian lasagna and coconut cake with iced coffee.
Lasagna was just okay - a bit like a supermarket ready meal you would get at Tesco back home. The cake was awful. Tasted like shredded cardboard coated in hydrogenated vegetable fat and coconut essence.
Coffee was bitter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bavvyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved this place. I visited it in both Luang Prabang and in Vientiane (ok, several times, not just twice). The food and baked goods are delicious. The coffee drinks are wonderful. Wifi was also reliable and strong. Good coffee shop vibe and good service. A little more on the expensive side for a budget traveler, but if you plan to use internet and relax for a while, then def. visit Joma. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CityGrl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very Western style, easy & good”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very Western style, easy & good, just to sit & have a coffee & cake and whatever. Counter service, friendly staff, good wifi

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Good location and coffee”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I needed to escape the water splashing on the second day of Pi Mai ( Laos' New Year) and I literally ran into the cafe. It is situated at a great location along the main strip where the Pi Mai procession goes through. That was the main reason for my visit. I have to say JOMA is a bit pricey compared to other local restaurants in the area. I ordered a sandwich and soup combo, a hot tea, a bagel egger ( a toasted bagel with egg, cheese and ham), a coffee and a coconut bar for the two of us. The bagel egger and coconut bar were both delicious. Coffee was not bad but the sandwich/soup combo was so-so. It had sufficient air-conditioning despite the relatively crowded environment. Bathroom was clean and easily accessible. I could watch the procession go by outside through the big glass windows on the first floor. Free wifi is supposed to be available but I did not use it. I gave it one star for the location, one star for the bagel egger and coffee and one star for a clean environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank singinggigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joma Bakery Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Joma Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing