We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninviting space with poor selection of pastries”
Review of Joma Bakery Cafe

Joma Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were looking forward to visiting Joma, given good reviews, but as soon as we entered the bakery were underwhelmed by a fairly spartan space and ordinary-looking pastries. It was also hot and slightly smelly (no beautiful baking aroma here). Grabbed a pretty flaccid croissant to eat take-away, which was adequate but nothing to write home about (the croissant at Kuang Si falls, by contrast, was sensational). All in all a disappointing experience, particularly when we were so looking forward to it. Would recommend many other places to eat in Luang Prabang.

1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi Andrew R,

Thanks for your review of Joma. We appreciate your constructive feedback on our croissants. We're always looking for ways to improve our product. We're sorry it was slightly smelly in the cafe and it's possible a now fixed sewage problem was to blame. We hope you give us a chance again in the future in LP or at one of our other locations.

Have a great rest of your travels,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

946 - 950 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little coffee shop serving teas, coffees, juices and superb cakes. A great little pit stop with wifi whilst you work out your next route with a wonderful individual charm.
Really friendly staff, great customer service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emma i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi emma i,

Thanks a ton for your review of Joma! We're glad you enjoyed a bit of home and caught up with people back home. Your comments on customer service were passed on to our lovely staff.

Have a great rest of your trip,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

So many back-packers and tour participants are set down at the door here for their grub top-ups this place is a joke! Our tuk-tuk driver spelled out his own disdain for the place and this was confirmed in spades.

Faux French bakery is it's selling point (Joma has a branch in Vientienne which meets this criteria) but this one ain't. It is a highly expensive coffee shop/cafe full of North American culinary cowards who think they are "doing" the far east. Since when is French onion soup or BLT an asian lunch?

Sandwiches will hit you for $4-6 or about eight times that charged a mere three doors on further down the street. If you are the traveller that likes eating at McDonald's in foreign cities then this is just made for you. Genuine trip particiapnts can do better elsewhere.

Seating downstairs and a few upstairs, the latter is a good viewing point to see the monks go by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ossimandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi ossimandus,

Thanks for your review of Joma. Unfortunately, you didn't quite get it and shared quite a few inaccuracies with our customers.

We make no attempt to be a French bakery. Other than croissants, we have mainly North Western dishes. We're not sure what you considered French about our restaurant. Perhaps the French Onion Soup, which isn't on our menu? Also, we make no attempt at being an Asian restaurant. We hope you don't have as much contempt for Asian restaurants in your country as you do for Western restaurants in Laos.

To prospective customers, all of our food is $5 or less and with mostly imported ingredients. We attempt to provide you with a taste of home while you're on your journeys. We provide aircon, the only bakery in town to do so, free fast internet, the cleanest bathrooms in Asia and modern music. Our cafe has about 65 seats to which about 30 are upstairs and 20 outside. We hope you disregard this unfair review and encourage you to read the reviews of the long list of satisfied guests.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's not particularly sophisticated, it's not what you'd call local food (although yes, there's a fair amount of French influence in Lao cuisine), but if you've had a heavy night at Utopia and you're staying nearby, it can provide a wonderful service...

Thank mmaltby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The reviews were right - once I stepped in, I was at a lost at what to order. Yummy food were displayed everywhere and all on the menus looked/sounded delicious. They were truly yummy and i wish i was in LP longer to try out more food!

Thank runningnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joma Bakery Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Joma Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing