We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starbucks in indochina”
Review of Joma Bakery Cafe

Joma Bakery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Pontevedra, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Starbucks in indochina”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great selection for breakfast and sandwiches. Prices are high though. A smoothie and a sandwich will do for $7. Still i would go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    570
    181
    59
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy food!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Awesome oat-crusted French toast with mango! I got it twice in 6 days. Also have good turkey melts (even whole grain bread!), bfast burritos and great mulberry pie (get it with vanilla ice cream)! Cool atmosphere too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissaroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“My favourite place for western food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I ended up staying in Luang Prabang for two weeks because we liked it so much, even though we'd only planned to be there for one week. Our guesthouse was down a lane just around the corner from the Joma Bakery Cafe, so it was a convenient place to go for a meal or a snack. We had already discovered Joma Bakery Cafe in Vientiane, so we were delighted to find one in Luang Prabang. The staff are friendly, the food is good, and they have free Wi-Fi. There are two rooms upstairs that tend to be quieter than the downstairs seating area. They also have outdoor seating on the street. Prices for food and drinks are higher here than at the street vendors, but well worth the extra.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We did not stop there because we read about it, or because people told us about it. We stopped because the smell of coffee was very inviting. And then the nice surprise was that the coffee was indeed excellent. Bakery is nice, but the place tends to be over crowed during lunch time. Mornings are very good to chill, and wifi is fast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ploticu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Place and Delicious Pasteries”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After living in Asia for a couple of years now, I am pretty skeptical when it comes to sweets but Joma's surprised me. The Mango Crub was delicious and so was the spinach criossant (not a sweet but delicious nonetheless). The Reuben sandwich wasn't bad either. The atmosphere was great and there was free wifi. The wifi password is located at the base of your order number holder which the staff will lift up and show you when you ask

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joma Bakery Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Joma Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing