We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept us very warm in the cold weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Ranked #29 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed 1xnight during december as a stopover before Zen Namkhan. This place is a very good point of first impression in Luang Prabang. The room kept us warm, lovely staff and the hotel is well maintained. I loved the breakfast served hot and timely. Restaurants is walking distance and environment is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi_traveller207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 155 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had 6 nights here. 4 in a mini suite and 2 in a smaller room. The mini suite (i think room no 2) was a big room with an area with a couch and a table to sit around in. All mod cons available: cable TV, wi fi, air con, fridge etc. Stylish fit out. You can't really leave your shutters open unless you don't mind people being able to see in. Not a big problem as there are not a lot of rooms so not too many walking by.
There are a couple of chairs and a small space where you can sit outside but no views. The smaller room was better in some ways as it had a bigger garden space to sit out in with a table and chairs. Chris, the manager, was very helpful and friendly as was the other staff who worked there.
Breakfast was good. You could have fruit, muesli, yoghurt, baguettes, croissant, and several options of egg dishes.

Room Tip: Either the small rooms facing out onto the side street or one of the upstairs ones with a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located facing the naum khan river, where the beautiful palace is just at the back. Walking to all cafes, restaurants, and places of interests. We rent bicycles next door. The staff were very nice, and made our stay enjoyable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lost25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

5 of us stayed for 3 nights in this wonderful friendly hotel - we had one suite - 2 mini suites and one regular room.
All were well appointed - very clean and most comfortable. The only negative comment would be not enough light by the washbasin mirror - very difficult to shave.
All Staff most courteous and efficient

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is on a reasonably quiet street, very close to the centre of town and overlooking the Namkhan River.
The hotel was spotless. Our room was not very large but had everything that we needed including a safe and a kettle as well as a comfortable bed. The bathroom has a shower. The rooms are shuttered with walkways outside. At night, the stairs at the back of the hotel were not very well lit. Breakfast was fine, but it was a bit annoying that they had no toast on two of the three mornings we were there. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We would certainly stay here again if we came back to Laos because of the hotel's proximity to the town where there are a large number of restaurants. There is lots to see and do in and around the town and three nights is not really enough time to do everything.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Das Hotel ist ruhig und malerisch am Nam Khan gelegen.
Das Zimmer war sauber und sehr stilvoll ausgestattet. Die Klimaanlage lief leise und tat ihren Dienst. Das Badezimmer war auch im laotisch-französischen Kolonial Stil eingerichtet und die ebenerdige Dusche ließ zwar trotz geschlossener Duschkabinentür das Wasser herauslaufen, was aber der Erfrischung keinen Abbruch tat.
Das Personal war freundlich und hilfsbereit. Einzig das Frühstück war eine kleine Herausforderung und es kam schon vor, dass der Letzte als erstes das Frühstück bekam. Aber es war lecker und frisch zubereitet.

The Hotels is placed at Nam Khan river.
The room was clean and stylish furnished. Air condition was quiet and worked well. The bathroom was furnished in Lao / French colonial style and the shower cabin was even with ground. While showering and refreshing the water runs out the shower cabin and watered the bathroom a bit.
Staff was friendly and helpful. At breakfast the staff obviously mixed up the orders and someone who has ordered at last get the food at first. Scrambled eggs, fresh fruits and so on were really delicious and fresh prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed there on Nov 26, 2013.

We had reservation at BelleRive Hotel, but was told that another guest was overstaying their stay. BelleRive got us a room at Villa Deux Riveres, which was on the other side of the old section (about three block away). We room was nicely appointed, clean, and quiet. The staff was excellent and very accommodating and friendly. It was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our two week travel through Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. I would highly recommend this hotel. If you stay, ask for room 1. It's their large suite facing the street with a nice balcony. The wifi was fast.

The only downside was the grout in the large shower. It either needs a good scubbing/bleaching.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCoolHiker-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#21 of 268 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#10 of 268 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
#13 of 268 in Luang Prabang
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#59 of 268 in Luang Prabang
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#33 of 268 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres

Address: 43/02 Kingkitsalath Rd | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $44 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new hotel (opened April 2010 to guests) is quietly situated on the banks of the Khan River, arguably the most relaxing place on the peninsula, right in the heart of the UNESCO Heritage part of town. The rooms are stylishly decorated and offer most modern facilities. A stroll to the town main strip takes about 15 minutes. All places of interest are just outside our lobby door. Day trips can be booked at our reception or just ask us for advice. Green season promotions from April through to October, mail us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing