We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy mornings, really noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Ranked #29 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Noisy mornings, really noisy!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Beautifully styled boutique hotel with classic French/Lao finished rooms. However, the rooms are poorly sound proofed with doors with gaps in the timber and gaps in door frames and windows.  Hotel building maintenance commencing everyday (inc Sunday) at around 7am with hammering and loud banging.
* * * Management, why can't you schedule maintenance after 10am like the rest of the world's hotels do?
Service staff add to the din chaltering loudly in the central courtyard that guest rooms surround. 
Inclusive breakfast is a delight and reception staff are world class, so helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HedgemeisterHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
75
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Whoever decorated the rooms has excellent taste! The rooms were extremely small, however, and even though we had asked for twin beds there was no way of separating them without moving some of the furniture out. The staff were most hospitable, although efficiency was not their strong suit. Suggestion: A checklist of items to be replaced would go a long way! For example: make sure that a double occupancy twin room has two sets of towels, glasses, etc.

The bathroom should have had a ventilator/fan extractor, as it was very humid, and some of the tiles might get mouldy in such conditions.

The hotel is fairly well located, in that it overlooks the Nam Khan River, but (as one reviewer pointed out) it's a bit far from the restaurant strip and the streets are dark at night. Nevertheless, we really felt quite safe, so this was not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realmsofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannakhet, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have stayed at several places in Luang Prabang, but this is the best so far (but certainly not the most expensive!). We were warmly greeted, checked in quickly and taken to our lovely room. whilst not huge, it had a very comfy king bed, TV and nice bathroom. Everything in the room worked well and was clean. Tasteful decorations and lighting led to a few romantic nights.
The breakfasts are very big, and very tasty (the rice noodle soup was my favourite, although there is a big western selection as well). The front desk was helpful with travel information and friendly throughout our stay. This has to be one of the best value hotels in Luang Prabang and I will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay upstairs as 1 traveller I spoke to said the air con was a bit noisy downstairs. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stotty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This was the hotel we thought we would lash out on and spend more money for something special but it tyrned out to be the least impressive Unfortunately it didn't live up to expectations which made it seem so disappointing. The hotel is nice enough with friendly staff and clean rooms but it doesn't warrant the price. Location wise it is a little but out of the way but still walking distance to the centre of town. Also we were somewhat surprised at the lack of views given the hotel name.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellekb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

After the reviews of the hotel from other travellers we expected much more. The hotel is okay but nothing special. Definitely not a boutique hotel as advertised. For being called boutique hotel it lacks special touches, a garden, pool and tasteful furniture. The rooms (we stayed in two different ones during our stay) are clean and functional but lack coziness and are too small for two people. The eating area is also on the small side and again is okay but nothing special. The staff was friendly but few spoke good English. The manager of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Transportation from and to the airport was very good organized by the hotel staff. The location of the hotel is okay but not outstanding. Overall the hotel has more the feeling of a hostel with a lot of rooms cramped into one building. Unfortunately for the money you have to pay we cannot recommend the Villa Deux Rivieres to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I travelled around Laos for approximately 2 weeks with 8 other friends. We mostly stayed at backpackers but chose to stay somewhere more luxurious whilst in Luang Prabang. The service was excellent, all staff very helpful and warm. The state of the room was divine. And location great - close to the river, and walking distance into the main hub of town.
My biggest compliment goes to the manager of the establishment - Chris. I managed to leave my passport behind in the room and hopped on a bus to our next destination 7 hours away. I got in contact with him to discover he had already been in touch with the Australian Embassy to report it missing. He simply said to me, "What would you like me to do?" I, of course, was a bit of an emotional mess and Chris organised everything. With a little luck, and a lot of help from a friend of his, he had my passport flown to meet me in Vientianne... & then delivered to my hotel. Words do not do justice to how thankful and grateful I am.
This is an amazing hotel anyway, but the commitment to customer service was absolutely astonishing. Thank you Chris, and thank you Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dozza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel has the best location, quiet & tranquil right on the Nam khan river. On their terrace you can read a book ,zip a glass of wine and enjoy the views. Rooms are very cozy and well decorated.
The manager and the staff are so friendly and helpful and they all speak good english. They can arrange excursions for you , anything you need.
This is the 3rd time I stay here and I will come back .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceNL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#20 of 261 in Luang Prabang
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#58 of 261 in Luang Prabang
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#31 of 261 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres

Property: Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Address: 43/02 Kingkitsalath Rd | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new hotel (opened April 2010 to guests) is quietly situated on the banks of the Khan River, arguably the most relaxing place on the peninsula, right in the heart of the UNESCO Heritage part of town. The rooms are stylishly decorated and offer most modern facilities. A stroll to the town main strip takes about 15 minutes. All places of interest are just outside our lobby door. Day trips can be booked at our reception or just ask us for advice. Green season promotions from April through to October, mail us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing