We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel Ever Stayed At”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Pumalin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Pumalin
Ranked #86 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever Stayed At”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I don't submit reviews that aren't 5 star, as I don't like to hurt a business, however in this case I will break my personal rule. Many hotels I stay at simply don't get a review.

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at!

The room was OK, clean, well appointed, good size with very nice verandah.
The morning after our first night the Villa owners began a party in the courtyard below our room.
This involved disco and karaoke blasting out from huge speakers that was so loud our room was vibrating. When we arrived back from a day tour the party was still going, the courtyard below our room was trashed. At 7-00 pm when we walked out things were no better.
This is the worst and most impolite behaviour I have seen towards customers from any business anywhere in the world.
Our cycle tour guide had our inbound operators shift us to Kiridara Resort Luang Prabang immediately.
I will review the Kiridara on departure, so far seems idyllic.

Room Tip: Don't go there at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campLuang_prabang, Owner at Villa Pumalin, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking you time to write about your stay in Villa Pumalin. I just would like to apologie for the inconveniences caused when you were staying with us. We had a special traditional blessing party for my new born son. I'm sorry that we could not give you enough care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Depending where you stay in Luang Prabang, it can be blissfully quiet or plain noisy. Long before dawn, monks chant and roosters crow. Then motorbikes pass by and construction projects begin. So many new hotels and guest houses are being built that that they are often side-by side, so there can be noise from inconsiderate travelers next door. There is so much choice in where to stay, that it is difficult to compare value for money and, depending on your requirements, there are possibly better bargains elsewhere. But, I had stayed a couple of weeks at the Pumalin just 1 year before, and I chose to return here again.

I like this central area which is full of less expensive guest houses. Most attractions, such as the morning (food) market, the night market and the royal palace are within easy walking distance. To find the Pumalin, Just go to the Joma Bakery and Cafe, near the post office. Everyone knows where it is. Then walk down the small side street a couple of minutes. The Pumalin is very near the Mekong. All along the Mekong, there are modest outdoor restaurants with wonderful views across the River. Joma Cafe is a pleasant place for western snacks, salads and desserts.

Rooms may vary because there is an old wing and a new wing. The rooms are decorated in highly polished wood (careful not to slip) and the rooms are dark. There is no point in opening the shutters because most rooms just look out on other windows or walls. The upstairs rooms are perhaps quieter. My room had only 2 free electric outlets, located in the wardrobe closet and behind the refrigerator – not really very convenient to plug in a razor or hair dryer. The WC is separate from the bathroom. The air con is very gentle and quiet -- just perfect. The safe did not work. It did not work 1 year ago either.
Reception is located in an open air courtyard with tables and benches and this is where breakfast is served. Free coffee and tea are available at reception all day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rooms are large and dark because they are all dark wood. Location is really good, one building back from the river and close to food and night markets. Breakfast was basic, but ok. We found it to be very quiet apart for the usual morning roosters! Fairly basic but comfortable.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinecoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked to stay 4 nights at this guest house but there was some muddle up and when we arrived we were put into a room at the next door guest house with many apologies and a promise of the front room upstairs when we moved in the next day. And so it was. They upgraded us to a lovely large room with a veranda. Room was very well appointed with everything you could possibly want. Service was great despite the initial mishap. Breakfast was delicious and generous. Located near the Mekong river and centrally located for all the attractions in Luang Prabang. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this guesthouse,but it did'nt take them that long to open the safe in my room and steal all my cash and credit card,and then be so unhelpful about it,i have an idea who it was,but no proof,all i can say is he worked there,so people,beware, locked safe or not you will be relieved of your cash/credit cards it,ruined my holiday in s.e.asia. Please stay somewhere else,and don't give these thieves the chance to steal any more money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay here, the staff are friendly, and helpful . The bedroom is spacious and comfortable too, I would recommend this hotel to others . The hotel is situated at a very convenient place , walking distance to the Mekong River, where the restaurants are located. Also the market place is close by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_b767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed one night and were so impressed with this lovely place that we decided to return after a trip up river. We needed four more nights and were offered an upgrade for the same price.
The staff especially the guy who took our breakfast order were so helpful and pleasant.
It is a good spot for the river and town and not in a noisy area.
When we come back to Laos in the future we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If u can ask for a front balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khongsavath Guesthouse
Khongsavath Guesthouse
#54 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pumalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pumalin

Property: Villa Pumalin
Address: Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Pumalin 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Pumalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumalin Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing