We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find...”
Review of Nisha Restaurant

Nisha Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real find...”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Totally unpretentious decor and table settings, right on a busy street but without a doubt THE best Indian food in LPB, possibly in Laos. Owner Mohammed cares about every dish and never takes shortcuts or uses mixes. An Indian friend of mine who is a dead-set foodie was enthralled. Prices are cheap, but portions are good. I am gluten intolerant so haven't tried the Naan or Roti, but friends say they're great. Even non-vegetarians will love the non-vegetarian dishes, the lamb dishes are probably goat and can be tough, but chicken is a good choice. Dosai are yummy, look for biriyani in the colder months.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank soozeinlaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    59
    20
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Decent Indian for Luang Prabang”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having lived in Delhi for 18 months this is not a patch on the amazing Indian food you can get in India BUT for Luang Prabang this is probably the best you can get and therefore its good option for something different & especially for a greater range of vegetarian dishes

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaz300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food but not that nice looking”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

although the restaurant does not look that nice/clean - and it may not have that atmosphere you're looking for - the food is really good so it's def worth a try

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sowpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having heard that Laos had some amazing Indian food I was pretty excited to try nisha since we passed it on our way in and it was close. Most recent reviews were very good, though I was hesitant based off of the reviews from 2011. Lets just say we loved it. I had the malai kofta and my husband the chicken tikka masala (it was actually a good spice for him and he loves spicy food). The atmosphere was nothing spectacular and the prices should have included rice, but for another 5,000 kip it wasn't too bad. But all in all the food was excellent and we would definitely go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amesleyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Okay so the first time me and my bf ate there we were in HEAVEN. Wow never ever tasted such Indian food. So good. So yummy. So tasty and cheap. Went back the next three days. The last day we went we both reacted to the cutlery and glass..so dirty..but we just ignored it. Went back to our room and got really sick. We r positove we got food poisoning from the restaurant. Went to the local doctor in LP and took a bloodtest which showed food poisoning. So yeah, lovely food...but unhygenic. Dirty and not nice looking. The owner is a bit arrogant too. We kept giving him compliments on his food but he just ignored us. Try it if you dare ;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathyesfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nisha Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Nisha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing