We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Nagas Restaurant

3 Nagas Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 200 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Restaurant is located on both sides of Main street with an Indoor and Air-conditioned section on one side and an outdoors section in the other under mango trees. Renowned for its authenticity, offers the best of traditional Lao Cuisine from simple dishes to feasts fit for Royalty. Staffed with knowledgeable and friendly employees who will guide you through the many local delicacies on offer.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Seriously good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We turned up without a booking and the restaurant was full. A couple of tables were available outside however there was some misty light rain happening which made it uncomfortable. However with a little bit of a nudge the staff were excellent and set us up a table under the eaves of the accommodation wing across the road. We had the deep fried spring rolls, shredded chicken curry and the stir fried beef with onion and garlic together with a bottle of rosé - nothing short of excellent on every level.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sijaamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Sijaamma,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience; we are glad you had a memorable time with us.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors & to the management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Luang Prabang,

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    199
    56
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rip off set menu but a la carte serves some good food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This restaurant does not understand set menu should offer variety at a good price. Here you get half that of those ordering a la carte and what is offered in terms of is very ordinary. This is a shame as others we were with really enjoyed the food which left an even more bitter taste for us. The spring rolls were fantastic, the chicken and fish cooked to a high standard and possibly the best deserts at restaurant in south east asia. The overpriced set however gave us an average salad, nice but very small chicken mouse, very dreary beef broth and a very average tapioca pooding. So annoyed I almost scored it 1 but if only they could sort out the set which our waiter recommended my mark may have been higher. Oh also alcohol very pricey, with beer 3 x what you can buy else where in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinBlakebrough62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Sabaidee MartinBlakebrough62,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important.

We well noted your comments about the set menu and we are now working on a brand new a la carte & set menu selection

We hope to have have the chance to welcome you back at 3Nagas restaurant for new discovery!

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Very Good Lao Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ate at the part of 3 Nagas over the road from the main hotel. The area is pleasant, open to the street, and it’s interesting to see your meals being ushered to you from the main kitchen across the street under cover of an umbrella when it’s raining

As the restaurant is attached to the hotel of the same name, if you dine early you may well share the room as we did with frazzled hotel guests with’ beyond tired’ children, so it’s the luck of the draw whether your meal will be a peaceful one or not

The food however should take your mind off any such distractions. The miang was more of a peanut sauce, with not quite the same number of accompaniments to add to the betel leaves as we’ve had elsewhere, but with very good flavour. A pork stuffed tofu with tomato topping was excellent, as was the fish stuffed with minced pork and wrapped in banana leaves, although both came with the same good but apparently ubiquitous tamarind sauce. Purple sticky rice came elegantly wrapped in a banana leaf, and we shared double scoop of coconut ice-cream for dessert.

We’d also highly recommend the Tom Yum cocktails, with lots of lemongrass and a touch of chilli.

We weren’t that impressed with the wine list, and stuck to the cocktails. It was interesting to see a glass of Robertson Shiraz from South Africa being offered for 35,000 kip when it sells for sells for 95,000 kip for a 2 litre cask in the wine shops!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ctrunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Ctrunfree,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience; we are glad you had a memorable time with us.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important.

We well noted your comments about the wine, we are now working on a new wine list to provide and ensure a wild range of wine to our guests in a correct prices.

We hope to have have the chance to welcome you back at 3Nagas restaurant.

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Loved the meal in this quant little restaurant. The service was excellent. It was truly a great value for a nice full-service dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoMauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear GoMauka,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience; we are glad you had a memorable time with us.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors & to the management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Luang Prabang,

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very interesting place to have breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a surprising little gem of a restaurant. We are travelling as an extended family group. The choices of American, Continental and Asian breakfasts fit our groups requirements. For once everybody was able to pick what they wanted. The presentation of each meal was visually appealing, and a very good value for the cost

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Sabaidee Kenn J,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience; we are glad you had a memorable time with us.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors & to the management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Luang Prabang,

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Nagas Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to 3 Nagas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing