We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Apsara Rive Droite
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The breakfast was delicious with a selection of warm bread and excellent croissants, homemade jam, locally inspired spiced omelette, freshly squeezed mandarin served in beautiful glass amongst others. The service was very friendly and helpful. Room no. 1 where we stayed was spacious and clean and with open balcony overlooking the river. The cleaning service is done twice a day, just after breakfast and at night before we sleep, which was great. The bathroom is modern with a separate shower and bathtub and spacious. We loved the location too, which is only a 2min free boat ride across from the river where the center is. We loved that it is not on the other side of the river where most hotels are, which could be too crowded with many tourists and restaurants. Overall the hotel was an important part of our wonderful experience in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Room no. 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytraveller000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

I totally enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was picked up promptly at the airport for the 10 minute ride to the hotel (during which I was greeted by 2 elephants along the way.)
The wonderful hearty, free breakfast, got me off to a great start each day. The stairs to the river will intimidate some, but from shore to shore, the total commute was 5 minutes. We rode the free bikes 15 minutes into the nearby paper village for a really magical morning. I can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieRTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

ACCOMMODATION
We were given a very spacious room with a balcony over looking the swimming pool and river. The beds were quite firm and there were very comfortable chaise lounges on the balcony.
Note that the hotel is in a residential neighborhood and is not isolated. You will inevitably hear noises from the adjacent homes and from cars on the Main Street. The noise level usually settles by 10:30 pm.
Although there is wifi in the hotel, it is rather weak in most places. Also note that these rooms do not have televisions. Given all the activities we had planned, this was not an issue; however, it may not be for everyone.

LOCATION
Located on the other side of the river. Fortunately, if coming from the airport, the journey is quite short and the hotel provides a complimentary pick up from the airport. Going to the centre of town is slightly more complicated as the only bridge that can accommodate cars or tuk tuks is a little far. The hotel offers another option - a ferry which will take you across the river to the main town, which takes just 15 seconds. Although very fast and the ferry can be called for at any time, walking down the steep steps can be a little tiring, especially after a few evening drinks. The river itself had some putrid smells which made the journey unpleasant.
The hotel does offer free use of their bicycles which we used for a morning journey on the less busy side of the river. If you are looking for a quiet excursion, take the bikes and visit the nearby village (15mins by bicycle from the hotel) which has a small paper and textile factory. There are also a few interesting Wats on the way.

FOOD AND BEVERAGE
Breakfast at the hotel was simple, but of very good quality. Starting with fresh bakery basket and a generous amount of well presented fruit, the main course is a la carte and you are provided by copious amounts of coffee. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but rather at the restaurant of the older hotel across the river. The menu is a fusion of local dishes with western tastes. The cost was moderate for the food we ordered. The price for a meal for 2 with cocktails is about $35-$40 USD.

STAFF
Very accommodating and helpful. The hotel manager is a British woman who has settled is Laos and looks after all her guests. From the first day to the last day, she was there to provide for anything we required. She also shared some insight to the local culture.

TIPS
- Have dinner at the older Apsara. As of the writing of this review, they have just hired a wonderful new chef. It is important to make reservations as they are fully booked most days.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dr_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I chose this hotel on the bank of the Non Pa river opposite the peninsula as I wanted a hotel with a swimming pool, which is not allowed on the main peninsula, but wanted to be close to all the restaurants on the peninsula. ( We never used the pool, as we had an unusual spell of cool weather, and the water was freezing, but I'm sure in the normal warm weather it would be a great place to while away an afternoon.)

The building is a stylish colonial villa modernised in a sympathetic way. Large rooms with big balconies facing the peninsula make it an ideal spot to relax for a few days. No television in the rooms was for me a plus point, but might not suit some.

Access by a ( thirty second ) private boat journey, or by the nearby bamboo bridge which is rebuilt each year after it is washed away in the rainy season somehow just seems right for this place.

Other than breakfast we did not eat here, but breakfast was good ( especially the masala omelette). Staff are the usual friendly, helpful and not very efficient crew that helps to make Laos so charming.

The only real negative was the plumbing, where we had a blocked toilet on a few occasions, and strangely a foul smell from the shower, but only for half an hour each day in the mid afternoon? It is also very quiet and laid back, which suited us, but if you want a lively atmosphere the sister hotel on the main peninsula would be better.

We stayed over Christmas, and it was expensive, but that may be just a time of year issue.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is immaculate and the service some of the best you can get.
The hotel is separated from town centre by the smaller Nam Khan that feeds into the Mekong.
Getting across is easy as the hotel has a boat (just a few seconds between banks) or there is a bamboo bridge that's a 5 min walk away. The steps down on both are not inconsiderable so be aware. The alternatives are bike or tuktuk.
The location affords some nice views across to the lighted boulevard on the left bank at night.
We found it a great spot to relax.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Apsara RD for four nights in November and our stay was heavenly. We were promptly picked up at the airport and warmly greeted by Anita upon arrival. She arranged dinner for us that night at the sister property in town and made herself available if we had any questions. The next morning, while enjoying a truly delicious breakfast, she kindly arranged transportation for us to the waterfalls. They also provided us a lovely bag with towels and water for each of our excursions. Our room was fabulous, with views of the river, a large balcony, air conditioning, iPod speaker, complementary bottles of water, the best towels, extremely comfortable bed and so much more!

The property is gorgeous, complete with beautiful pool, small library, and laid back bar. The boat ride across the river is an adventure (and workout ;-)) so it may not be for everyone, but we found it refreshing.

Luang Prabang is a magical little place and staying at the RD made it even more special. We can't thank the staff at the RD enough for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank going_my_own_way22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

First of all let me express my surprise that this hotel is listed under B&B. It's a small boutique hotel such as many others listed under 'Hotel'. APSARA Rive Droite has nothing to do with a B&B.

You have to know that this hotel isn't located inside the old town but just across the river. This, for us, was a big plus because you have the beautiful and romantic view towards the old town, especially at night. To reach old town isn't a problem at all: They do have a small motor boat which brings you there within 2 minutes. The boat drive each time we wanted to go to old town was very interesting an romantic (you need to do 'some' steps to go down and up again, be aware of that). So location could't be better.

The hotel itself is beautiful, very stylish. Our room was huge and tastefully furnished. The mattress was super comfortable, a dream! There're enough towels which are replaced twice a day. In general the maids are surprisingly fast and everything seams to be well coordinated.

We loved the breakfast. It's freshly prepared according to your wished, the Croissants are as good as in France, the jam home-made, the coffee strong and plenty. In case of extra wishes: name it and they'll perform.

The manager of the hotel is very, very helpful. Any question, any request, she'll help you to find out.

A small minus of the hotel is the weak internet. It's on the slow side and it often completely breaks down. This is really something they should work on. But that's my only complaint.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#21 of 68 in Luang Prabang
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#16 of 68 in Luang Prabang
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 68 in Luang Prabang
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara Rive Droite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara Rive Droite

Address: Ban Phan Louang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $124 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Apsara Rive Droite 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamorous rooms, all with their own veranda or terrace. Connected to the town centre by our own boat, the Apsarian Queen, it’s easy to get right into the heart of town. You can spend the morning going to the temples, shopping or just exploring the side lanes and an afternoon in luxurious idleness by the pool. We also have bicycles and our own tuk-tuk available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Apsara Rive Droite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Rive Droite Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing