We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Apsara

The Apsara
Ranked #16 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A taste of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The restaurant surpassed all our expectations. We had about 7 dishes between us and they all were stellar. The tapioca desserts and chocolate brownies were divine. The grilled fish with tamarind sauce was spectacular! This restaurant was Michelen star quality and should be at the top of your list of places to visit while in Luang Prabang. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    81
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was a lovely meal. There were only a few vegetarian choices, but the chef was helpful and friendly and the food was absolutely delicious. This meal would have cost a fortune in another country....more gourmet and better presentation than anywhere else in the city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimerly10i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
376 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Lovely atmosphere with lanterns in this old converted rice house. We chose to share L.P. Taste plate which was of a generous size. The pork rillette was really tasty as was the dried buffalo and house cured sausage. I chose the yellow curry of pumpkin & assorted vegetables including bamboo. I am not vegetarian but could be after this. Delicious. My husband who does not like pumpkin now does. It was so aromatic. His fillet of buffalo was perfectly cooked. Reasonably priced wines make this one hard to beat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
211 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This really lives up to the hype. Went for lunch and, while menu was limited, atmosphere (outside along the river) and flavor made up for it. Had noodles in a pork and tomato braise with greens. Bean sprouts, lime and basil (sort of like what you get with pho) on the side. Really good and reasonably priced. Try it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Finally, local food with flavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

After having just about written off Laos as a food destination, with high end restaurants serving well prepared but bland food, we found Apsara. The Australian chef uses the finest local ingredients but adds flavour! If combining Lao food with international cooking methods makes this "fusion" food, then so be it. Some of the dishes we had appeared typically Lao, but were so much more flavourful.

The tables on the waterside are stunning. The service is attentive, and the chef's charming Canadian wife/hostess, Catherine, is warm and welcoming and available at all times.

If you're tired of noodle soup and bland curries, try Apsara. You won't be disappointed. And the prices are typical Lao reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apsara also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing