We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY SETTING ON RIVER”
Review of The Apsara

The Apsara
Ranked #20 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“LOVELY SETTING ON RIVER”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely service in a lovely setting overlooking the Mekong River.

Food was ok, not brilliant. Lacked taste unfortunately but they saved the day with a brilliant dessert. :)

Not really catering to Vegetarians. Nevertheless a lovely experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celebrate2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    82
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stumbled mon this place by accident and stopped in for dinner when I saw the ever reliable tripadvisor certificate of excellence. What a treat. The service, food and setting were more than I could have asked for. I got the greens for appetizer and the buffalo cheek for entree--they were both so good that I a) might o back and get the same thing one more time before I leave Luang Prabang b) am leaving my first ever tripadvisor review. A must do for any foodie in Luang Prabang.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Civilized Option”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This small hotel on the banks of the river, just a stones throw out of the main tourist drag offers a little bit of Laos as it used to be. The rooms are spacious and well maintained with enormous bathrooms. it is spread over two buildings and the rooms in one of those all have private entrances. The hotel is run by Ivan Scholte, a gentleman in the true style that only a good English public school can produce. Efficient, kind, generous and ever concerned with the comfort of his guests Ivan is one of those few people we meet on our travels who leaves one thinking they would have been much poorer without having met him. The staff are laid back, courteous and ever helpful. the restaurant offers some great eats with a truly local flavour from a creative and dedicated Australian chef, whose delightful wife (soon to be inducted as an honorary Aussie) acts as maitre di with gracious style and humour. This is the place folks for a comfortable untroubled and relaxed base for exploring the town and surrounds. can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VientianeKingkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW! stunning”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Caroline and her chef husband have just started at the Aspara and are doing an amazing job at the menu

we tried the buffalo cheek mussaman curry , betal leaves with smoked fish and the most exquisite Asian style rillettes. Best meal we had in LPB - great service , quiet end of town and wonderful cocktails - the house cocktail was the winner

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzi_l0ves_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a treat !”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This restaurant was within 5 min. walking distance of our hotel (Lotus Villa) and since we did a lot of research concerning restaurants in Luang Prabang we went there in the evening. We sat outside , with a look at the river and enjoying the light traffic passing by (mostly young kids riding their bikes or scooters). Very friendly reception and attentive service. The lady manager is from Canada and her Australian husband is the excellent chef. We (a family of 4) enjoyed spring rolls and a mushroom salad with sesame as starters. Both dishes were very tasty, best mushroom salad we ever tried. As a main course we enjoyed stuffed local river fish (also excellent) and a vegetarian curry (slightly lacking the taste compared to the other dishes). Very reasonable prices for the great tasting local beer, also the (limited) selection of wine by the glass is reasonably priced.Kids enjoyed lemon juice and ice tea. Instead of a desert we topped of this exquisite dinner with a Cointreau on the rocks and a Poire Williams. Menu is small so if you will come for 3 days in a row (which this place certainly warrants) you will run out of options. By far the best dinner we had in this wonderful town !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riedel208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apsara also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing