We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fusion food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Apsara

The Apsara
Ranked #16 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious fusion food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in the lovely hotel and ate here 5 of the 11 nights. The food was delicious. Everything was good and fresh, from their version of spaghetti with fresh tomatoes, olives, & capers, to Buffalo cheeks, and the traditional Lao dishes. Good bar. Highly recommended for lunch or dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drreinisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    81
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“At least the Location is good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a disapponiting visit. It is in a beautiful stop overlooking the river and the restaurant has a nice feel and is well appointed. The staff were fine and although the menu is low on choice - it looked good,
I had Moroccan Tagine - which I suppose was goat. - Fine but it was a touch cold as were the french Fries which I had preferred to Cous Cous.
Every Place can cock-up now and again - but when I complained about the Meat being cold - it was no doubt taken away and warmed in a microwave or a pan - and returned some time after - piping hot -but with stone cold french fries and cold vegetables. Loks a great place but for me did not deliver

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank northender71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Creek, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Just when you think you are really getting to know Lao flavors Come here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Apsara remains possibly the best restaurant in the region. We have visited Apsara twice in the last few weeks for dinner and really love it. It is NOT your usual upscale high priced flashy place serving average food as so many are in Luang Prabang. The decor is Classy and smart and the service is very attentive. Here you will find a true Fusion of Lao flavor and a chef with deep knowledge how to combine them into something wonderful and unexpected. The recipes continue to evolve and change. Portions are adequate though not large. Though not inexpensive, the prices are a bargain for the quality of the food you get. This is the 7th year we have visited Luang Prabang and we are always pleasantly surprised at the menu, quality of preparation and ingredients. The Chef takes Regular Lao recipes and flavors recombines them and brings them to another level. With so much great food now available now in Luang Prabang, Apsara still stands above the rest in their subtle and exquisite cooking.

We enjoyed many of the Appetizers: Grilled Aubergines salad, The cooking of the Eggplant gives it a smoky character that shines through the herbs and compliments the other ingredients. Warm salad of Local mushrooms is brilliant and savory the herbs, sesame seeds and dressing bring the mushroom flavors up to another level on your palate. Papaya and shrimp salad with coconut dressing, This was a real surprise. The shredded green papaya that we are so used to in Som Tom is transformed by the spicy and slightly sweet dressing and the small fresh river prawn add a new dimension. Buffalo sausage is clearly not the usual Luang Prabang Sausage it is rich and savory with a spicy sauce. Local Dried Beef Salad was also great with many herbal flavors to compliment the beef.

We enjoyed many of the entrees: Chicken cooked with Chili Jam, cashews and coconut milk has such a savory warm character. Gaeng Nor Mai( Bamboo stew with Pumpkin, Fish leaf, Pak boong garlic in a green broth takes the flavor of the fresh bamboo to another level as well.The Fired whole Panin fish with Lemon grass and Tamarind sauce is big and amazingly flavorful. The fish is crispy and sweet the Lemongrass and tamarind brings out more flavors. The Buffalo cheek Masaman curry was just fantastic. the Tender rich meat found its match in the savory Masaman Curry. Not you usual Buffalo! Their wine list offers many good choices we Enjoyed a nice bottle of red with the meal.

Deserts were Coconut,almond, lime cake with a plum sauce. Totally unassuming in appearance this was bright and flavorful again the Plum sauce takes it to another place. The Poached Nasi Pear with the home made Ice Cream served with a sweet Papadam is just wonderful and the frozen chocolate parfait with warm Mandarin orange sauce has a contrast and character I never anticipated. Everything was exquisite as usual. Just when you think you are really getting to know Lao flavors Come here! We are privileged to have such a wonderful place to eat in such a wonderful city.
Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CampGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, nice ambience, pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Came here BC Tamarind is closed on Sunday. Was struck by the beautiful views. Service was attentive. Food was delicious but portions were small and it was expensive. Lunch menu was limited so I ordered something from the dinner menu and they obliged.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbatchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
228 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Unusual dishes and staples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A good mix of choices - I had warm mushroom salad which was delicious but just too many chilies for me. Excellent spring rolls and massaman curry, interesting fish baked in banana leaf.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DJG_KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apsara also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing