We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souk Lan Xang Guest House
Ranked #63 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed here in early february and received perfect hospitality and a very nice room. All the staff were helpful and smiley, especially with sorting a very cheap airport transfer. The breakfast was good with prompt service.
The room was big and really enjoyed having a proper shower after all the wetroom type bathrooms so far in se asia. We were on the upper level so had a window. The communal outside areas are lovely!
It is a little hard to find first time but it is in a pretty good location opposite the river.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Toria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

stayed there for 3 nights. the room was pretty and they provide bottled water. nice matress, soft pillows and quilts are there if you need them. the staffs were very friendly and ready to help you with good advices.
located between Wat Nong and Mekong river so you will be near to almost everything in the old town.
the only drawback was the sewage issue in my room. its was not obvious at the first time but after a while i can smell it even when the bathroom was closed. i have asked them to put something to absorb the odour but seems that they forgotten. the next day i got cold and runny nose so it might be the reason i could bare with the room. the third day, just before i checked out, the toilet clogged up.

me : seems that the toilet clogged up.
staff (after she checked the toilet) : ok, we will fix the toilet for you
me : fix it for me?
staff : yes, we will fix it for you. you may pay it for 80.000kip
me : what???

of course i did not pay.

the place, the atmosphere, the staffs were good, but, never stay in the first floor except you got runny nose.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppiglet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here one night after spending the previous three in another more expensive hotel nearby.
Pros: friendly staff, enclosed shower, wifi in room, very quiet (we had room 6 in back with no window), simple breakfast w/coffee or tea, eggs, bread included in room rate; good neighborhood location, staff arranged tuk tuk to bus station for 50,000kip
Cons: staff speak minimal English
Bottom line: compared to the previous hotel with similar amenities a few blocks away, this guesthouse is excellent value

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

After trying a couple of other guesthouses in the area, I stumbled across this little hidden gem. It's not that easy to find, down a quiet alley between the Mekong and Wat Nong temple. But it's worth looking for if you're after a lovely, quiet room and good value. The guesthouse is pretty new - as I understood, the current owners inherited the house from their grandfather and have recently converted it into a guesthouse. The best and biggest rooms are upstairs (rooms 1 and 2). I stayed for 5 nights and negotiated a discounted rate of $20 a night. I stayed in room 2, which was very spacious (1 double bed and one single bed) with a fan, air conditioning, cable television, free wifi and modern ensuite bathroom. Shower had hot and cold water and the pressure was very good. The guesthouse offers breakfast for an extra $5 a day, however this is optional. As there are a number of very nice restaurants just minutes away offering cheaper breakfasts, I opted out of theirs. They do make an excellent banana pancake though (the staff got up early and made one for me "for the road" when i left) and there is tea and coffee available all day at reception. The staff in general were helpful and trustworthy, in particular the manager Tibay who also spoke excellent english. Although you won't get a room with a view at this guesthouse, in terms of location, room standard and value for money this place is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Philaylack Villa
Philaylack Villa
#26 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#35 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#14 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#15 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#46 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souk Lan Xang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souk Lan Xang Guest House

Property: Souk Lan Xang Guest House
Address: Unit 02 No 20, Group: Xeing Thong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Souk Lan Xang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing