We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, nice staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suan Keo Guesthouse
Ranked #69 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great rooms, nice staff”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Kuan Seo was a really nice guesthouse. I stayed in one of the rooms upstairs (I think there are a few rooms downstairs, but I never saw them) and it was great. The room comes with fan, AC and ensuite bathroom with hot shower. The walls are bit thin, but I think that's pretty common in guesthouses in Luan Prabang.

The staff there are also really great (however, their English is not the best). Our shower broke the first day we were there and they did their best to fix it. When they couldn't they called a repair guy right away. Unfortunately it was Saturday (which is like their Sunday as far as work is concerned) and they couldn't get a hold of him. In the mean time, there was another shower we could use. The next day, at 9:00 am sharp, the guy was there and fixed it in like 5 minutes. Unfortunately, we had already booked a different room somewhere else as we were sort of expecting the "it'll be fixed tomorrow" run-around, but they were totally on top of it. I felt bad for making such a negative assumption but the host was really gracious and always said "hi" to us with a smile when we passed him on the street afterwards.

No WIFI. But Joma Cafe is just down the road and their connection is pretty good by Laos standards.

Tip: It's tough finding a decent and cheap in Luang Prabang during high season. Most places are always full and won't take bookings because boat/bus-loads of people show up daily. My advice: call ahead the night before, or the morning of your arrival. We did that for Suan Keo and they held the room for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We went there after tripadvisor and lonely planets reviews.It is about 10 minutes from the night market and 2 minutes to the Mekong River.Owners are friendly ( rare in LP) and hostel is clean.It is a Laos style old wooden house.But partitions between the rooms are so thin that you can hear almost everything from the next room.(We stayed in Suan Keo 1.)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Lovely guesthouse, comfortable beds, friendly staff, close to the night markets, Wats, near an internet cafe, a lovely restaurant, Great prices, €8 for a double room a night! Brilliant! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Suan Keo guest house have a lot of good points :

- It's not too close and not too far from everything, just far enough to be quiet and close enought to be in less than 5 minutes in the night market or the museum

- the staff are very nice and helpful, it's a family guesthouse and there is always the father or the daughter around to give you advice about place to go, prices, etc

- the rooms are really clean and stuffed with soap, towels, nice bed sheets (very good sleep ;))

I stayed there 10 days and i'll probably come back next year !

The "disavantage" (if any..) can be that they don't clean the room while you're staying (like a lot of guesthouse but for 10 days i would have like that) and they don't have a "common room" or restaurant to hang out.. but there is a lot of places to eat and stay nearby (and with a view on the mekong)

Good place, good value, I recommand !

Room Tip: for more privacy don't go on 1rst floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veldhoven
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We just found this guesthouse wandering around through the tiny streets of the Silversmitthing area. There are so many guesthouses to choose from....Luang Prabang now has over 180 guesthouses.
The Suan Keo is recently build, and it looks nice and clean. We were shown around, and we liked what we saw. Decent, comfortable rooms with fan for only 7$ a night (in the low season) In high season these rooms will go for 12$ a night. They have an attatched bathroom with a toilet, washbassin and a hot shower. The rooms are very comfortable, with good beds and a fan. Breakfast is not included, as this guesthouse does not have a restaurant. But the neighbours have one, with plenty of things to choose from.

We are travelling with 3 children (teenager age) and we were welcomed warmly in this guesthouse. The guesthouse was run by an older man and his daughter Phone. They were both very kind people. The daughter likes to talk english with the guests. She took us to the hospital where she works as a nurse too, and we got an very interesting tour! We could see all the rooms in the hospital including the intensive care....

In Suan Keo you get a good rate for your dollars if you want to change. Laundry is done quickly and for a low price. All together I can recommend this guesthouse to everyone that is looking for a nice and superclean room for a budget price.
A big plus are the welcoming people, that stole our heart. If we ever return to Luang Prabang, which I do hope as it is an very intresting city, I would defenitely return to Suan Keo!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
6.2 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suan Keo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suan Keo Guesthouse

Property: Suan Keo Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vatthat, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing