We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$130
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$222
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$129
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$245
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
637
111
35
9
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
111
35
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree sunset cruisebalcony suitehotel terracesplit levelthree buildingsmangoterrace overlooking the mekongperfect locationnight marketcolonial stylecomplimentary bicyclesbeautiful hotelmini barhotel managementfirst floorin townstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 792 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great part of the old town with rooms overlooking the Mekong. Breakfast is good as are the traditional Loation dishes from the restaurant.

There are plenty of nice touches and the hotel management is certainly aiming up with every effort made by staff to accommodate guest requests. The service and hospitality is genuine.

I stayed in one of the better rooms (at $150 night) and while I appreciated the thought and effort that had gone into its design found it a little awkward with no separate bathroom or a comfortable sitting area.

The BelleRive is one of the more expensive places in town, and I left uncertain about its value relative to other properties in Luang Prabang, which has an abundance of accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Luang Prabang is the most charming city I’ve been to in Asia. And this lovely hotel has the charm to match. The hotel is housed in three beautiful colonial buildings facing the Mekong riverfront. Immediately across the quiet road (between the hotel and the river) is the hotel’s cute little restaurant - a wonderful place to have breakfast or to relax after a day of exploring.

I stayed in a “superior room without balcony”. It’s a spacious, comfortable room with lots of detail, dark hardwood floors and attractive accent furniture. You’ll definitely enjoy the uncommonly delicious cookies left in the room during turn-down service.

The staff is very kind, helpful and friendly. The daily breakfast is tasty and filling. Just what you need to fuel up before a day of sightseeing. The hotel offered a complimentary cruise on the Mekong River on my first night. It was a wonderful way to see life along the river. It was on a lovely boat with wine and snacks. It was all very civilized.

Be sure to borrow a bike from the hotel. It’s a fantastic way to get around Luang Prabang. The hotel is just one block away from the early morning alms ceremony route. Don’t be a douche - stay as hidden as you can, no talking, no camera flashes. You won’t believe how many rude tourist have absolutely no respect for this very solemn and meaningful ceremony. Don’t be one of them!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank PeanutButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Bellerive and had a wonderful time. We stayed in one of the upstairs Mango Room, it was just gorgeous! Beautiful big room, perfect for a couple, it was such a treat to come back and relax in after a long day. Fruit and biscuits were changed in the room each day, a nice touch. The hosts/owners are lovely. Breakfast could do with some improvement, but the location was just lovely - across the road on the banks of the Mekong. Do make use of the hotel bikes and ride around the town, we enjoyed riding to the markets at night and at dusk. Take a tuk tuk to Kuangsi falls for a refreshing swim (and stunning views) and also tad sae falls where the rescue bear centre is. The local eateries on the banks of the river are best and most authentic. Keep in mind Luang Prabang is not a cheap Asian town as it is UNESCO listed - accommodation is expensive. If you eat where the locals eat though it is very cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent four nights at the Belle Rive. We enjoyed our lovely balcony looking over the Mekong River, the helpful staff, the free use of bicycles, and the good food at the restaurant. Very relaxing, yet near everything in the old city. The bed was great and the little details like fresh cookies and fruit were really appreciated.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank vadaOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Bellerive Boutique Hotel was the one hotel we were looking forward to staying at after travelling through Cambodia. The Bellerive consists of 3 properties side by side, the Frangipani, Mango and Tamarind, we stayed at Tamarind which has a balcony, but has stairs leading up to a loft bed with views of the Mekong as you lay in bed, it doesn't get much better than this. The restaurant is across the road on a terrace overlooking the Mekong. The menu is either Thai or Lao food, in fact the Thai meals were the best we have had even after travelling through Thailand. Sitting looking at the Mekong eating breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff were fantastic, the owners were very attentive and we were made to feel like family, our 5 days at the Bellerive were so relaxing. The wine and spirits were surprisingly cheap, we had drinks outside the hotel each night just watching the world go by. The Bellerive is in the heritage area of Luang Prabang and within walking distance of the markets and centre of town. Russell and Kerryn Barnes Australia

Room Tip: The Tamarind with balcony is great, the other properties have only a couple of stairs from the street but no stairs up to the bedroom.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews