We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, superb location, beautiful modern room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

BelleRive is the best hotel we stayed at during our two week long Thailand - Laos trip in July 2011. We stayed at Chatrium Riverside in Bangkok, and Le Meridien Phuket and Amari Coral Beach in Phuket in the trip.

The best part of the hotel is the staff. Although the staff are young, and some of them are just graduated from a college, they are all well trained. They are friendly, helpful, and energetic. They always ask what else they can do for us. All of services are done in friendly and non-pushy way.

Location is excellent. It is in a quiet part of Mekong River side, but not too quiet. The area has a relaxing and nice atmosphere. We used their bicycle for two days to explore whole town, and found that the area BelleRive is located was the best for us. It is only a minute walk to watch monks' morning alms on the street behind BelleRive, and a 3 to 5 minute walk to watch monks' morning alms on the main street. It is just a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel to the main strip where many restaurants are located.

Our room is a deluxe suite which is located in the main building. All guest rooms in the main building are on the second floor, and the first floor in the building is the lobby.
Our room is a loft room. On the lower level, there are a balcony with two chairs and a table, a bathroom, a daybed, a sofa and a table, a minibar, a standard safety box (I can put my laptop, camcorder, and other valuables), and a closet. On the upper level, there are a large computer desk and a chair, a comfortable king size bed, and clothing racks. The room is beautifully decorated and modern. The view of Mekong and a quiet street from the room is very nice and relaxing.

We stayed at BelleRive for 4 nights. Our rates are low season rates, and are "stay 4 nights pay 3 nights promotion" with Agoda.

Breakfast is also the best we had during our two week long trip. It is not a buffet, but we can order an item from each set, and all are tasty. We can eat either on the riverside terrace or at the table in front of the hotel. Eating breakfast watching activities on a quite street and river is really relaxing.

We would like to thank all BelleRive staff for providing us such a enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: send an e-mail to ask the room which you would like to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calsodahall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 730 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

We took our group here in February of 2011. We have been to Luang Prabang many times but this was our first stay in this hotel. Our group arrived by boat and we were met by hotel staff who helped us with our luggage and took us a short distance up the street to the hotel. It is situated with all of it's rooms looking out over the river on a central but quiet street, a short walk to "downtown". The hotel's restaurant is outdoors, on the river across from the hotel. It is so nice to sit and eat breakfast, watching the activity on the river!

The rooms really are some of the best in Luang Prabang. My wife and I were in one of the loft rooms with a sitting room and bathroom on the lower level and a MASSIVE bed and sleeping area in the loft. Clean and very comfortable.

I can't say enough good about the staff. One of our group had to be flown to Bangkok with a medical emergency and the manager Ell arranged everything, after we woke her up multiple times late at night. She was fantastic. Make sure to participate in the sunset cruise. There was a nice surprise at the end!

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic and unique. There are no best rooms, they are all the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badgerpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

excellent hotel, very attentive service, very good restaurant, - most impressed with the love to details in design and furniture, had a suite in Frangipani and liked it very much.The manager was very helpful in organizing an excursion on the boat and a visit to the newly opend golf course which is really a good one, right at the Mekong River just 15 minutes from the hotel.
I miss the good breakfast on the hotel terrace..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was our second visit to Luang Prabang and it was just amazing! This time we stayed at the Belle Rive, a gorgeous hotel on the Mekong River. The view from our room on the river was just amazing!! The location of the hotel is perfect; in walking distance to Luang Prabang's key attractions. The Hotel Staff were very friendly and helpful. What we enjoyed most was to have our afternoon drinks in front of the hotel to watch the sunset!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarazyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Visiting Luang Prabang a dozen times for relaxing holidays I'm very familiar with most of the better hotels in the place. Either they are too far away from the main heritage site or scenic river views, or they are overprized, or not cosy and not offering a genuine welcome to foreigners. I call the Belle Rive a very charming place as the hosts Paul and El take pride in caring personally about their guests thus creating a homely athmospere. The local staff join in and give their best with a genuine smile, the rooms are all different and beautyfully furnished. The location right on the Mekong and on the peninsula with all the heritage sites is superb and quiet at night. For me five good reasons for excellence.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller251250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We were a group of 9, two families travelling together and we all loved our stay at this lovely hotel. The position next to the river is perfect ,the rooms were very clean, cool and well appointed. The breakfasts on the terrace were freshly prepared with great coffee. All the staff were charming and Ell and Paul were great hosts. We had dinner one evening on the terrace surrounded by twinkling fairy lights. The meal was prepared just for our party, it was delicious, an absolute banquet, my favourite meal of our whole trip.Wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

A perfect choice within easy walking distance to everything. Charming rooms all viewing the Mekong. Lovely and helpful staff with the best breakfasts ever. We stayed 5 nights and everything was perfect and completely relaxing. For more pictures go to my blog
http://www.concretejungleblogspot.com/2011/04/back-to-laos-and-belle-rive.html

Room Tip: Do use the bicycles provided by the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather293920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel

Address: 99 Baan Phonhueang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $141 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel awarded Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for five consecutive years and recently inducted into HALL OF FAME on the World’s Largest Travel Site. This designer boutique hotel - situated at the shore of the Mekong River and in the historical centre of the peninsula - offers luxury accommodation and tranquility for independent travelers with high standards. The hotel features 13 rooms, 4 of them in the protected former residence of the mayor, and a charming Terrace restaurant on the Maekong Riverbank. Free Bicycles, Minibar, WiFi and a delicious breakfast variety make your stay a delightful experience. Book your room now - The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel is looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you in this unique world heritage town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing