We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant with both local and International food choices”

Blue Lagoon Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 220 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Blue Lagoon Restaurant serve a little of everything. We serve Luang Prabang Speciality, Asian dishes, Pasta and also European food
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ate at this restaurant for New Years Eve and were not disappointed. We found the service by the staff to be very attentive and the general ambience was nice too. The only thing missing was a bit of nice background music.

We had the beef and fig roll, the steak filet, and the house speciality of homemade lemongrass ravioli. We enjoyed the meat dishes, which were well prepared and presented. Our friend was not 100% happy with the ravioli as she found the consistency of the filling to be a bit rubbery and with too much chilli paste although we all agreed that the lemongrass sauce has a very nice taste. There also was a good wine selection at a reasonable price.

Highly recommend this place if you are searching for good international food in a nice, clean and ambient setting. It is slightly more expensive than other restaurants but we found it to be very reasonable in light of the high quality of food and preparation.

We will come again the next time we visit Luang Prabang.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 484 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

The food was good but we had some difficulty with the waite-staff in training. And the wine we ordered was terrible--not aged well. Another bottle was OK. We mentioned it to the manager and he wasn't very helpful.

Thank Alberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLRL, Manager at Blue Lagoon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Alberta S

A warm greeting from Blue Lagoon Restaurant, Luang Prabnag

It was nice to hear that you like the food. The wine which you said it was terrible we had changed with a new bottle for you. It could be happened that the Wine is spoil sometime, but we have replaced you with a new Bottle, what else could we do to please you,

Your Sincerely

Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

food is definitely a level better than your usual good restaurant in laos, though this also comes with higher prices. I wished they put a little bit less cream in salmon pasta or curry so the taste of cream is not so dominant. apart from that there's really nothing to complain since food is very good (and so is the service).

Thank vir2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

If a restaurant which is rated best at Trip Advisor offers a "Zürcher Geschnetzeltes" it should at least resemble the famous Swiss dish. The taste was o.k. but with the pork meat, the lacking shot of wine in the sauce and the "strange" Rösti it really seemed to be quite some different dish.
And why do they put an egg in the garlic soup? (Something you find quite often in Lao cuisine and which you should know if you have an egg allergy!)

Thank oldgerman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLRL, Manager at Blue Lagoon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dea Sir

Thank you very much of your review

First I have to say, We are swiss. Rösti is a part of our national dish, We really make sure that the Rösti is crispy, even we do not get the potato type for the Rösti here in Laos.

if you could just take your time and read on the Menu what we wrote, it is called Spanish Garlic Soup and one Egg will be added

Your Sincerely

Chef

Your sincerely

Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The food sounds much better that it tastes.

Very bland international style food but the service was good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLRL, Manager at Blue Lagoon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear mbgandco

I am sorry that the food at the Restaurant is not your taste. Tripadvisor is not a machine to complain, I believe tripadvisor is the place where you could share your experience and also helping the Establishment to improve their Business. If you could mention what you had eaten that would be very helpful for us … I myself do not think that what we serve are all Bland as you said

Your Sincerely

Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Blue Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing