We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Lao food!”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #12 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Lao food!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

I don't think I could have selected better than this place and their 2 sample platters, one which is a mix of dips and the other one is called '5 bites' (together 10$), as our first restaurant stop in LPQ. This gave me a nice and very tasty overview of the cuisine and I now know some of my favs (like this sweet chili sauce with buffalo skin, super spicy, but also very rich in flavor) .. other favs are the sausage, the eggplant dip, the coriander dip .. pretty much all of it, maybe the tomato dip and the sour veggies were less fav.

And if you have not seen it before, you get your intro on how to eat sticky rice here. I also need to mention the fantastic drinks .. I had a tamarind cooler and next time I will try the ginger / lemon grass cooler.

There are so many other food options around, but I can see why many people seem to return here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,570
    723
    255
    92
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The most popular”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Very nice place to have a lunch or dinner, in the river bank street, the food are great, really exotic, the prices are also ok too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank robertobleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“ate here nearly every night”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

yes it was that good. every night the restaurant is packed. The food is good, very well presented and well priced. Service is excellent and it is well lit. Buffalo is wonderful, and most of the other dishes. Do eat here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best in Luang Prabang !”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is the first one recommended in lonely planet and for good reason. The food is reasonably priced (let's be real cheap by American standards) and delicious. More importantly it is Laotian only unlike many of the other restaurants in town. We ordered the tasting menu consisting of soup, apps, and two entrees (this amazing fish steamed in a banana leaf and chicken stuffed into lemon grass), desert, coffee and a drink all for $15. It was so much food and everything was divine. Try to make reservations beforehand because it seemed like everything was reserved when we got there. They squeezed us in at 6:30 if we would be done at 8:30 because the table was reserved, so we got lucky. The staff is very friendly, each dish was explained to us which was very helpful. We can't imagine a better place to dine.

Helpful?
Thank Malgorzata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible value for money”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Great vslue for money. Food was fantastic, cocktail st the end even better. I snuck in before all the Reserved tables customers arrived, so best to book in advance. The value was incredible though, even for SE Asia.

Helpful?
Thank MikeKellyIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing