We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to sample modern Laos cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #12 of 202 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place to sample modern Laos cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This restaurant was great value. We ordered the sampling platter which was fantastic. Also had the steamed fish which was the stand-out dish - you must order this. Service is attentive and friendly. Loved our experience here. Recommend that you reserve in high season as it gets very busy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,528
    709
    246
    90
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“typical Laotion food, in a tourist friendly environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Tamarind has expanded, and the new location lacks some of the coziness of the first. And, as they have grown, some of the personal attention has also waned, but the food is still good, and you can enjoy a good variety of local eats safely.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ottawamomabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great representation of traditional Laos food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We'd been a little disappointed in Lao food and decided to give Tamarind a try based on the reviews here. It did not disappoint! Everything was very fresh and flavorful, and we left with a better understanding of the flavors of Laos. The menu did a great job explaining Lao ingredients and food culture. It was a little on the pricier side, but definitely our most memorable and enjoyable meal during our week in Luang Prabang.

For more information on our experience at Tamarind and other attractions in Luang Prabang, visit our travel blog at www.Travel-Cowboys.com

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“It's not their fault but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

If this is a good example of Lao food, it's pretty ho-hum. We had one of their tasting menus. Nothing was particularly exciting or tasty. In fact it was quite bland. It was all nicely presented, the service was pleasant, and the prices were reasonable, but I wouldn't cross the road for this food let alone fly half way around the world. It's not Thai, and it's not even as interesting as Vietnamese which is also a fairly bland cuisine.

You'll have a tastier meal at a soup noodle restaurant or a pizza place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We guess it shows how tastes vary! There we have a few reviews down, some visitors telling us how wonderful and tasty their intro to Lao cuisine at Tamarind was, others how much they enjoyed the adventure of our tasting plates. Occasionally folk find our dishes too strong for their palate, a few complain of missing out on strong flavours! Each to their own. We are amused to learn you found Vietnamese cuisine bland; it so depends on what you choose to eat. Both Lao and Vietnamese cuisine use flavourful herbs in their dishes to provide balance and freshness. In Laos, chillies are offered on the side so diners can choose any heat that's required. If your preference is for heavily spiced and hot foods, the nuances and fresh flavours of Lao cuisine might not suit your palate. We're here to introduce curious visitors to Lao cuisine with explanations and demonstrations to assist in the learning experience. Trying a range of dishes usually offers the best way to do this, so we have set menus, Adventurous Gourmet options and communal fish barbecues. Perhaps one of those would have given you more pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
768 reviews
475 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our tour guide recommended the Tamarind as a lunch stop between visiting the caves and the waterfall. My wife had a Lao omelette (mixed herbs added) served with a peanut sauce which she seemed to like. I had a selection of typical Lao starters which ranged from good (LP sausage) to less good (dried buffalo). Nothing pretentious about the place but clean and has a pleasant outlook over the Mekong river. Not sure why it gets such good reviews as it felt more like a cafe than restaurant but perhaps it's different in the evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing