We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #13 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was defentnally the best Lao food restaurant I have been to. We tried it because it was top choice in lonely planet and was not disapointed. I would defentnally recomend the tastning platters, they were very good for trying the different tastes of the Lao cusine. We were 4 people eating, and were about to ordre way to much, but the waiter stopped os, and by that made sure we would not "overspend" - Tamarind is not an expensive restaurant, and we were on backpacker buget.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,591
    735
    258
    95
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friday night fish bake- not to be missed!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I discovered this gem while walking around town one evening. They displayed their menu and their other offerings on a board outside. They offer cooking classes, and can make adventurous meals especially for you.

Anyway, we decided to do their Friday night fish bake. We went inside and were directed to Rudy, a man who really knows food and service. Basically, you sit with a group of people (other tourists) and they serve the meal and you eat family style. It was fun getting to meet fellow travelers.

They come out and explain the dishes, the ingredients, the food customs. The food was awesome. I could barely stand up afterwards, I ate so much! They kept it coming and were attentive to our needs.

It seems like most places dumb down the flavor to meet westerners preferences, but I am delighted to say they don't do this. Very authentic. Food was beautifully displayed. Some of the fruits served were unique and I didn't seem them much on the rest of my travels through SE Asia.

Prices were reasonable (set price for fish bake)- although we ended up getting too many of their wonderful drinks which brings the price up. But all in all, one of the best meals you will have in LP. Don't miss out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome food!. Did not expect Laos food to be as awesome as it was”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were walking around Laos and managed to stumble onto Tamarind.. the restaurant of one of the culinary school in Laos. Since our tour guide had given us to eat in a different restaurant some of the typical food of Laos.... and having eaten in other culinary school restaurants in our travels, we decided to try it.
The food and the service were great. I love Thai food but I think Laos is better.
We had 3 different samplers of typical Laos food. One that had the Mekong Seaweed, one that had buffalo meats and of course the dessert one with the purple sticky rice. Excellent!.
We also tried their ginger and lemongrass drink!. and the pineapple one. Delicious.
Would highly recommend checking them out.
On a side note.... loved their bamboo straws. What a great green idea?!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant meal - ever”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Recently my wife and I had dinner at Tamarind restaurant. Tripadvisor spoke favourably about it so we stopped in to make a dinner reservation a couple days in advance. One of the patrons got up from the table, approached us and said that the food at Tamarind was not to be missed, before sitting down to finish his meal. Restaurant manager Rudy took our reservation and chatted with us for a few minutes. We returned to have dinner a couple of days later and the result was the best meal that I ever had in a restaurant, anywhere. The flavours from each dish ordered captivated the taste buds. The chicken wrapped in fresh lemon grass - to die for. The taster dip platter, to be sampled using dried seaweed chips from the Mekong or sticky rice, was outstanding, as was the fish wrapped in banana leaves. A meal like this in any major western city would cost at least five times more. The Service provided by the Tamarind staff was excellent. Rudy stopped by our table a couple of times to make sure all was well, and it was. Enjoy !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lao food you won't find in stalls at a good price”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Book ahead! Tamarind is usually full.
The menu has the usual thai and lao stall food, but the best are the sets where you try a little bit of some dishes that you won't find in the food stalls. As main dishes, I recommend the marinated pork and buffalo.
The prices are a little above of what you pay in a usual restaurant (mains around 40 or 50 thousand kip) but are well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank juancentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing