We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go for Luang Prabang Dining”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #12 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Must go for Luang Prabang Dining”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Fabulous dining - went twice. Fresh gourmet ingredients and presentation like you would get in a fancy restaurant back home. Easy walking distance from all hotels in town. Faster to cut through the main and side streets instead of following the river. Nice location along the river. Cooking class offered on specific days of the week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHamp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,588
    731
    258
    95
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and a good way to taste Lao food.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We ordered the tasting menu of Lao food and it was mostly delicious. Would recommend it.
Dinner here was delicious and we would eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eclectic Food and Great Service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were recommended the Tamarind by our local hosts as the place to try authentic Lao food. We were not disappointed. Bookings are required well in advance as their reputation has made it near impossible as walk in. The menu is very eclectic and only has Lao dishes including frog stew! Different. they have a good range of taster dishes to try most things.
A great place to try new flavours and although on the expensive side for Laos we still paid less than $30 for 2.
We had a riverview table
The downside is that it was full of tourists but my hosts assured us that they eat there in the quieter times.
Also the management apparently do not look after the people who take their guests there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcusBVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your kind review. It's very pleasing to know that you enjoyed your tour of Lao cuisine, frog and all! We're always happy when locals recommend us, but your host's comments refer to the fact that we never pay commission for being recommended. It's a sad fact that many guides, hotels and agencies recommend places on the basis of the commission they receive for doing so. That this is referred to as "looking after" them can be a tad misleading! Our choice has been to stand or fall on our own merits, which may not make agencies so happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A lovely little restaurant looking across the road to the river. Local foods but with a twist. The pumpkin, ginger and lemon grass soup with rice cakes was yummy. As was the local fish salad. And the BBQ pork with lemongrass and dips. It's always packed at night so book. It's also noisy. But fun. I had to ask for a knife and in the end got up and got it myself. I was struggling to eat salad with chop sticks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service, over rated and pretentious”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant quiet early and the place was fully booked. So we booked a table 2 hours later. When we arrived at the restaurant we waited to be seen to and it was 10 minutes standing there before we were even acknowledged!! So we were showed to a table the same time as another couple. The couple had had their drinks order done and were eating their starter before we had even got a drink. It did say on the menu that the food would come out at different times which is fine but when it come out the vegetables were stone cold with the fish. The rice was also cold. We had eaten everything then 15 minutes later we had the sesame vegetables. By this time there was nothing left to eat them with. All the hype and we have had better meals with more acknowledgement staff else where in the town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing