We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a very popular restaurant”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #12 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food at a very popular restaurant”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our room at the Apsara was right next to the Tamarind so we had ample opportunity to see the restaurant in operation. During our six day stay, the restaurant was full every night except on Sunday when it was closed. So reservations are highly recommended.

We actually ate here twice: stuffed lemongrass, fish wrapped with banana leaf, and the excellent fish laab (they call it fish salad). The wait staff is good about explanations.

Be sure to try the Mekong Sunset cocktail, a bargain at 20,000 kip (about $2.50).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,588
    731
    258
    95
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty and different”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I recommend this to first time Laos visitors, as is a very nice introduction to the Laos style of food. Most people that have eaten Thai food that I know and talk to love it. The Laos style is similar but with a slight twist. You think you know what's coming when you order , but the Laos version is different. A pleasant different and you won't be disappointed. As the name suggest there us a plentiful presence of tamarind in the dishes served here and all are very enjoyable. They have several grazing style menus to choose from. This is fun to share and get a varied selection . The waiters are very attentive and explain fully you choice when it arrives . Situated cross from the river on the quieter side of town this is fantastic place to eat, with fans an shade to allow you to enjoy your meal without being uncomfortable. A must if you visit Luang Prabang.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willaim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Lao food”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great Lao food and do yourself a favour and book into their cooking school. A great fun night and a great meal at the end. Very reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Destination”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were recommended this by our hotel the first night we arrived in LP. We asked them to book and we could only get a table at 6pm so we hurried off, cheered by the fact it was so popular. We started to read the multi page menu, not filled just with food options, but also a comprehensive overview of eating in Laos, the way the dishes are cooked, the ingredients used, the utensils used, and how we should eat it according to tradition. We couldn't decide so opted for the set menu of several dishes so we didn't have to. We retained our menus so we could continue to read. The meal arrived and it was truly delicious. The waiters told us with each course delivered what it was and how we should set it. The chicken mince stuffed into a lemongrass stalk was particularly special. I bought the restaurant's cookbook and will try some of the recipes at home. This was a great introduction to Laos food. There is also a cooking school and when we return to LP we will attend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
1,018 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,439 helpful votes
“Good Place to Sample Traditional Lao Cuisine”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We visited Tamarind Restaurant on the recommendation of the manager of the Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel where we stayed. It is an upscale restaurant and a cooking school. It is a popular with tourists and expatriates. The food did not disappoint although pricey.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing